Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Sutton Coldfield

Yes, I'd stay again

Posted Dec 12, 2012
enjoyable stay. Nice hotel, shame there is no restaurant in the hotel for dinner, however it's quite centrally located so no issue with local restaurants...just means you've got to get wrapped up to go out in the cold to get something to eat. Heating in the room was also difficult to control.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by AS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
ok, but unforunately freezing cold, the room and breakfastlobby too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Francine from Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, UK

A great hotel but not at a great price!

Posted Aug 31, 2012
Pros: It's central position within minutes of everything.
Location: Right in the heart of Oslo yet quiet and discreet.
The hotel was superbly situated, within a few minutes walk of the harbour and many attractions, yet it was really quiet. Our room was bright and clean and welcoming, free wifi too. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the service discreet but helpful when needed. All in all, a happy stay and we shall go back again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thon attempted to change my rate AFTER I checked i

Posted Aug 23, 2012
I'm a very savvy traveler of over (30) years and have NEVER experiences what I did while I stayed at the Thon Hotel Cecil in Oslo, Norway. The front desk staff literally "bait & switched" my rate after I arrive and checked in. Obviously I disputed there charges with my bank/credit card and they found the hotel at fault for attempting this. In addition the front desk staff, and manager, are very rude. There are any other choices in Oslo, DO NOT use the Thon hotel chain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sue

fantastic location

Posted Aug 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our room was clean, staff was helpful, breakfast was generous, and the location was convenient and centrally located. It is true that the rooms are small and don't have windows to the outside (rather, the windows face an atrium in the middle of the hotel). But in the alarmingly expensive country of Norway, this hotel was a great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mark

close to main square and harbour

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
oslo is a great place for a few days visit, but be prepared for a shock when you try to eat...prices are a very high. fortunately there a few other options like delis etc.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Laguna Beach, CA

Little for a lot of money.

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: They did provide an umbrella to use, which was a nice touch.
Cons: stuffy room, AC that didn't work, windows that do not open.
Bare bones hotel. No shampoo or soap bars provided, only a liquid soap dispenser at the sink and in the shower. Air conditioning did not work and the windows do not open. TV did not work.