Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by D.S.from Alkmaar

Tophotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Alles klopt: prachtig gebouw en tuin gelegen op enkele honderden meters van het strand midden in de jungle; uitstekende service. Echt een tophotel in het topsegment. De weg er naar toe is helaas nog niet gemakkelijk voor de auto en de inzittenden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Martinefrom Switzerland

Harmony and peace in paradisiac surroundings

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful facilities in a wonderful setting, with a view in the distance of the pacific ocean. Howling monkeys in the trees, frogs in the gardens, and many birds. The roads to access San Juanillo and then the hotel are not paved, and can be bumpy, but this is true of the entire coast in this part of Costa Rica. This is why the nature is also so well preserved and there are no crowds. I was extremely well received by the 2 owners, both from Switzerland. They provided great advice about visits, and organized for a rental car to be brought to me at the hotel. The premises are superbly designed and very well kept, and the swimming pool is delightful. Besides being a great hotel, they have a fantastic restaurant and one eats delicious food every evening. This is very appreciable since the hotel is not really within a very short drive to anywhere except San Juanillo. Distance-wise things are close but because of the roads, driving there takes time. The breakfast is also a delight. I really cannot think of one negative thing to say. It is obvious though, that this is a good place to stay providing one has a car. But even if you arrive without one, as I said, the owners organize a rental for you. I can highly recommend this place. I felt so much at peace that I nearly decided to stay there for my entire time in Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonasfrom Göteborg

Fantastisk service

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Jag och min fru bodde här 6 nätter i mars. Det verkar som att det brukar vara mycket gäster på hotellet men den veckan vi bodde där var det en mellanvecka och mindre än halvfullt. Vi fick en bungalow som heter Tropical room med underbar utsikt över djungeln. Vissa bungalower sitter ihop två och två och då kanske det finns risk att man störs av grannar. Annars är det väldigt tyst och det enda som hördes var vrålaporna tidigt på morgonen. Maten och servicen är i toppklass och det finns inget att anmärka på. Hotellet ligger avsides en bit ifrån havet och det finns inget på gångavstånd. Området är rätt så tråkigt och har inget att rekommendera. Man kan göra utflykter norrut och söderut. Personalen på hotellet är mycket behjälpliga med att boka utflykter. Vi tyckte att det var lite för länge att bo här men 1-3 nätter hade passat bättre. Vi kan rekommendera hotellet främst till par.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A wonderful experience

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Never being In this part of Costa Rica , the roads are a challenging experience , but the hotel more than made up for the that !. The service and the food were amazing ! . Everyone was very attentive to our needs . Will recommended to a couple that needed a place to go relax and get away from all tourist hassle .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angelikafrom Hellenthal

Schweizer Komfort Hotel und sehr gutes Essen

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: S.o.
Cons: Besseres Licht im Bad, Wifi auf dem Zimmer
Location: Das Hotel liegt ziemlich einsam. Es bietet Erhohlung mit Flair pur. Das Einzige in der Nähe ist der Strand, mit Touren zur Eiablage v. Schildkröten
Nach einem sehr anstrengenden Schotterweg erreichten wir die bd. Schweizer. Aber der Weg hat sich gelohnt ! Wir bezogen einen kleinen Bungalow mit entferntem Meerblick und völlig uneinsichtigem Balkon. Wir hatten eine Dusche draußen, ebenso nicht einsehbar. Das Zimmer war ausreichend groß und verfügte über Ventilator und Klima. Nachts war es aber am angenehmsten die Fenster nur mit Moskitonetzen zu verschließen und den Ventilator laufen zu lassen. Ein Safe und ein Kühlschrank waren vorhanden, Wifi gab es an der Lobby kostenlos. Die bd. Hausherren gaben gute Tips für Unternehmungen und beste Fahrtstrecken. Das beste aber war das Essen. Sowohl beim Frühstück wie beim Abendessen, wurde alles frisch zubereitet. Abends gab es eine kleine Karte, die aber wirklich für jeden etwas bot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rudifrom Wien

Das beste Hotel in dem ich je war!

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Das Hotel Luna Azul ist einfach Spitzenklasse: Das Service ist ausgezeichnet (v.a. der Besitzer war sehr zuvorkommend und hilfsbereit), die Bungalows, der Ausblick und das Pool suchen seinesgleichen und das Essen (vom Besitzer persönlich zubereitet) ist eine Gaumenfreude ... das Hotel Luna Azul verdient ohne Frage die volle Punkteanzahl! Als kleine Anmerkung sei noch zu erwähnen, dass das Hotel in einer wenig touristisch erschlossenen Gegend liegt: die Strassen sind unbefestitigt und teilweise in sehr schlechtem Zustand. In der Trockenzeit ist das weniger ein Problem, in der Regenzeit ist jedoch ein 4x4 Pflicht. Wen aber ein bisschen Dschungel-Feeling nicht stört der ist hier bestens aufgehoben ;-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by EHfrom Western MA

Hilltop Heaven

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Luna Azul was the highlight of our two week tour of Costa Rica. Absolutely beautiful, with attention paid to even the smallest of details. Abundant wildlife, empty beaches within minutes, amazing food. Rolf is a fantastic chef and he and Andreas are the most personable and low key hosts. I'm envious of what they've created, a slice of heaven a bit off the beaten path. If you are thinking of Nosara, make the extra effort to go to Luna Azul. It's worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Over the top

Posted Feb 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Med fare for, at det vil betyde udsolgte værelser næste gang, jeg har brug for et, så vil jeg give dette sted min varmeste anbefaling: Som et paradis på jord, langt ud ad en støvet og humplet grusvej. Fantastisk betjening, mad kan ikke findes bedre noget sted, beliggenheden er smuk, og der er tænkt på hver en detalje i såvel værelser som fællesarealer. Ikke en finger at sætte på noget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Young Couplefrom New York, NY, USA

Unique, private, awesome and friendly

Posted Feb 1, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of owners & quality of accommodations
Awesome private bungalow's with ocean views (perfect for sunsets). Outdoor bathroom & shower, the latter of which has an ocean view as well. Big rooms, very clean, giant wrap-around balcony's outside with more than comfortable sitting area. Overall one of the coolest places we have ever stayed. The filet we had at the hotel was the best meal we ate while in the country, and the owners are unbelievably nice. This is the first and most likely the only review I will ever write, which shows you how much we enjoyed this place, that I felt it was necessary to document.