Ratings based on 2,175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice basic hotel at good price

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and clean. Fast elevators. Decent breakfast. Lots of free parking.
Cons: Bathroom updates, stronger coffee for breakfast. Hallways worn.
All you need for a short stay. Comfy beds, decent decor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrie, Ontario

In need of upgrade

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Hotel located in run down area of city. In desperate need of upgrading.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simcoe, ON

Ottawa Vanier

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Great location for our needs. Easy access on and off highway. Efficient check in and out. Bed clean and comfortable. Carpeting in hallways stained with paint spills. Carpet in room badly stained. Tub was chipped and poor repair attempted so it was rusty. Tub drained very slow, had to make it a quick in and out. Never tried the free breakfast but it smelled yummy in the lobby. For the price point I would stay there again but not what I would class as a "destination" place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Relatively inexpensive. If you avoid traffic, you can be at Parliament in 10 minutes or less. Room was clean. Breakfast was a little bland and the air conditioning was tricky to figure out. Very nice bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scio, New York

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms. More than adequate breakfast. Location is excellent.
Location: Several restaurants within walking distance, and mall is just a few steps away.
Hotel is very convenient to restaurants and shopping mall, and we took advantage of a bus picking us up at the door and taking us to catch city tours. No parking expense or worries. I used the business center, which helped me stay in touch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extra charge for regular tv

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Not that great extra charge for TV not advrticed I wood never go back and would not recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lethbridge

It was really good

Posted Jun 11, 2015
It was great experience for me! My first time in Ottawa... What I like is that, the hotel it's easy to find for the people who is first time visiting there, also downtown is 10 min away... Thank you Chimo Hotel for the service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from COATZACOALCOS

HOTEL AGRADABLE

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: El personal muy amable
Cons: Mas limpieza y tener servicio de transporte al Centro de la ciudad
Location: A 10 o 15 minutos en Taxi el Parlamento, y otros lugares cercanos muy hermosos, visitar el hotel Fairmont Chateu Laurier,
En mi opinion el hotel cuenta con todo lo suficiente para estar en Ottawa sin mayor problema, el unico incoveniente seria que se encuentra lejos de la zona turistica de la ciudad, tal vez a unos 10 o 15 minutos del Parlamento en taxi, pero cerca de la estacion del Tren lo que es un ventaja, la atencion de recepcion y en general del personal es buena, el personal del restaurante no tanto pero como es practicamente desayuno de auto servicio no es tan importante, el hotel cuenta con Bar, Alberca, las habitaciones con un estandar normal para un hotel de su clase, considero que seria un plus muy util para los huespedes tener un servicio de shutle del hotel al centro y viceversa tal vez cada hora o irlo manejando segun las necesidades de los huespedes, como casi en todas partes el servicio de Taxi es caro y ademas casi siempre los choferes son de origen africano, asiaticos y su conocimiento del idioma ingles o sobre todo el español es deficiente, amen de casi siempre se les ocurre llevarte con las avenidas mas largas para cobrar mas, recomiendo el hotel si no te importa estar relativamente lejos del area centrica, si no mejor hospedarse en un hotel donde no sea tan necesario tomar transporte publico, siendo Ottawa una ciudad relativamente pequeña con una zona turtistica muy centrica , es mejor buscar algo mas cercano,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would never recommend.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
If you like a dirty, dated, poorly maintained hotel with staff that clearly despise their jobs, then this is the place for you. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel but still overpriced for what you get

Posted Jun 9, 2015
The hotel is very old and has not been maintained well. The rooms smell musty and the carpet is stained. A friend of mine stayed next door at the WelcomInns, which is comparable in price, though it is much nicer - cleaner, newer-looking, nicer staff. My advice: choose the WelcomInns over the Chimo.