Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Inexpensive, basic hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Convenient location. Inexpensive.Comfortable bed. Excellent Internet connection. Free Toronto Star.
Cons: Rooms really need painting
Location: 20 minutes' walk from downtown. Neighbourhood a bit scuzzy .. but it improves in about a block. Inexpensive restaurants -
Within walking distance of downtown. Place somewhat shabby. Good staff. Unable to control the heat. Very comfortable bed. Excellent Internet connection. Moderately clean. Neighbourhood still in pre-gentrification state.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, which I have forwarded to our staff. The heat in the rooms are controlled using the thermostats - if ever you encounter such issues, the front desk is staffed 24hrs. I am glad that you enjoyed the bed and that we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to Ottawa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Peterborough

Fast check in - free parking - great location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location - free parking - free wifi - great price - big flat screen tv.
Cons: Still need to work on the interior of the rooms. Need to be modernized even more.
Location: Just 10 minutes from Parliament Hill. There is a 24 hour convenience store and a 24 hour grocery store just down the street. Shwarma place close too.
The hotel has come a long way over the past 3 months. They have painted the exterior and started to clean up the interior of the rooms. Great location and you can't beat the price and the free parking. Also free internet and the rooms are very large with a comfortable bed. Free breakfast in the morning. Room is a little musty smelling when you first open it up but if you leave the window open and the fan on it clears out nicely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good for a short trip

Posted Sep 23, 2014
cheap, clean room close to downtown. Perfect for one or two nights stay. Breakfast is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

OK value for the location.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: Renovations to exterior of hotel sorely needed.
Location: OK location. Not too far from downtown.
Stayed one night. The staff was friendly. The interior is easier on the eyes than the exterior.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In disrepair

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The day time lady at the desk, very friendly. The breakfast. Free parking.
Cons: All of the desrepair to be dealt with.
Location: Central location good!
It was a disturbing first evening in Ottawa. First thing after parking and coming out of the car, was approached by homeless person asking for money. Although that is not the hotel's fault. Then, when approaching the service desk, roofing in the "carport like" area is destroyed. Going to our room, we noticed the hotel rents for long stays, door were open on the ground level, really giving us the impression of a guetto like place. In the hallways it is cement only, dead bugs on the floor. The door to our room had about an inch opening in the bottom which would leave space for anything crawling. There was a large cobweb on the ceiling and although the room seemed newly renovated, the tiling was not quite completed in bathroom. The breakfast was good, but then again the location of it was in a rundown area. The place needs a complete overall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We knew what we were signing up for

Posted Aug 26, 2014
As the title says, we had very low expectations and the hotel lived up to them. The room had an odor and is very dated. I wouldn't say that there was anything good about the room but it provided us a place to sleep in a good location. Free parking was a plus. The hotel was packed so they must be doing something right. Overall, it served its purpose and the price was right.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Stayed 1 night.. rooms good but facility not good.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: it was just ok.
Cons: Refresh the hallways, paint or get run of the smells and mold.
Hallways and general facility was not good. Moldy smell. Rooms were better and included amenities not in all. Over priced - should have Motel type rates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for Tourists

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Reasonably priced, the Hotel Service and Cont. Breakfast is acceptable. Airconditioning is weak, otherwise the room was clean. Staff helpful. Moreover it's walking distance to Byward Market and Parliament Buildings.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

I have never stayed in an Econo Lodge as bad

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed at. I have stayed at other Econo Lodges before and could not remember an experience worse. The room smelled of smoke. My throat was sore the next day. The carpet was stained, the bed covering had holes. Overall would never stay there again, and absolutely would not stay in any Econo Lodge again after this experience.