Ratings based on 951 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent place

Posted Apr 17, 2015
We stayed a night very comfortable bed not dirty like other reviews say. Had a kitchenette so that was good. Amazing location was a 10 min walk to all u need to see. Balcony needs a sweeping and a paint job plus the balcony door was really hard to open. Carpet needs to go, way to much static I was getting shocks everywhere. Dont pay more than 110$/night is my opinion. Guys at the front desk were very nice and professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Good value

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Close to everything downtown.
Cons: Really needs some upgrading, looks like the 1980's.......
Good value for a downtown Ottawa Hotel. A little dated but spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NL

Decent hotel, reasonable price

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very close to a lot of tourist attractions downtown. It felt very safe. The staff were super helpful and friendly.
Cons: Perhaps removing the carpets (had some burns and stains on them).
Location: Less than a ten minute walk from the bus stop that can take you pretty much anywhere around the city. Walking distance of Parliament (~ 10 mins).
We stayed four nights at the Embassy. The lobby and restaurant were very nice. The rooms were a little dated. We had an efficiency unit, and a spacious living area. The room did smell a little dusky (I suspect it may have been a smoking room at one point). The front desk, cleaning, and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business in Ottawa

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Good location, practical for the work that I had. Room is very dated and needs work. Barhroom was small and looked like some serious water damage on the cellist.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stuff

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: accommodation for 5 and proximity to great places.
Cons: Catering services.
Location: Wonderful
I will be happy to call again with the family. Staying in the hotel made our visit to Ottawa less cumbersome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Dollar Value and Location Trump Appearance

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Location and size of suite
Cons: Décor and upkeep of room needs attention - carpet dirty and stained, peeling paint in bathroom
Location: Easy walking access to downtown, key tourist sites and uOttawa. Lots of great pubs and restaurants on Elgin
In terms of cost, a good deal in spite of the condition of the rooms. Some front end staff were friendly, as was the lovely housekeeper on my floor. It is definitely not the Ritz, but I suspect for cheap long-term stays in Ottawa it is a deal given the kitchenettes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Close to downtown. Good for family.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
The facility is a bit old but clean. Cooking ware is available, good for family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Suites are pretty good in size.
The receptionist upgraded our room because none of the rooms we had booked were ready, when we reached. That was a pleasant surprise for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay in Embassy hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: The staff at the lobby and the cleaners of our room.
Cons: The type of beds which were not comfortable.
Location: Very good and accessible to all the amenities that we required.
We had generally pleasant stay in the hotel. The staff were pleasant and the cleaners were prompt. However the beds were small and not comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London, ON

Excellent value and location

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Large room with kitchen for reasonable price. Room clean and in house restaurant is a friendly pub with good pub fair.
Cons: Pictures in rooms are old if you're an art lover.
Location: Very close to city hall and restaurants on Elgin Street and only a short walk to Parliament Hill and shopping in Rideau Centre.
It was a good room to visit Ottawa for business with lots of room, a work desk and table and kitchenette.