Ratings based on 2,023 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto ontario canada

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Close to byward market and rideau centre. Also can cut through the mall and westin hotel to get to the rideau canal. Staff was helpful and room was clean, overall experience was great but could have been enhanced by better parking rates
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two night business stay

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: fitness room, quality/selection of fresh fruits in buffet.
Location: near parliament and canal.
Have stayed at Novotel before so know it needs a bit of an upgrade in the main areas. My room was on the 7th floor where construction was happening. The construction noise began at 6am and the workers quit work at 7pm. The Hotel should not book out rooms that they know will be noisy. I am glad for the pool and fitness room however for a fitness room shared between two hotels it is too small and does not have adequate ventilation. I did the buffet breakfast on the second morning. The choice of breads, muffins, eggs, bacon etc was good however the fruit selection was very limited bit moreso the quality was extmely poor. Very disappointing. Overall I would not stay there again as there are better option in the same vicinity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Near the market, mall, parliment and canal.
Good overall experience. The restaurant service was slow but everything else was exceptional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, tired facilities

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Hotel was in a fantastic location, but rooms are small and need updating. Hallway carpets are worn out and common areas were dirty and not mopped (winter so salt everywhere). Also, the day we arrived the parking elevator was broken down. The pool area was old and worn out. Try to find a better hotel in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Webster, New York

Great location in Heart of City

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Location! Location! Location! Walked everywhere and didn't have to touch our car all four days we were there.
Cons: My only negative concerns with our stay was the rooms were a bit small, closets very tiny, the double beds were a bit small and the bedding materials
Location: We only had short walks to the Rideau Canal, Byward Market, Rideau Centre Mall and Parliament Hill.
Friendly staff and great location. If you stay here, be sure to try the Caesar from the hotel bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Hotel is close to everything you'd want to see in Ottawa. No complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oakville

Average hotel in a good location

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping, skating on the canal, Byward market and restaurants.
Weather was extremely cold so the convenient downtown location near Byward Market and attractions was great. Also convenient for skating on the canal. Otherwise, the room was average and a bit drafty near the window. Not much room to move around, even for two people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock, ON

Good hotel for the price.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Cons: We were there during an extreme cold weather warning and could feel cool air coming in around the window. The WiFi is a bit spotty.
Location: Good location. Walking distance to Byward Market restaurants and short hike to skating on the Rideau Canal.
Staff did a fairly good job of keeping the building clean despite people tromping in and out with salty goop on their boots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family getaway!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Perfect location ... Very short walk to the canal.
We stayed here for Family Day weekend. We wanted a place near the canal and this was perfect! Very clean room and delicious food at the on-site restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom from Toronto

Family Day long weekend

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Great hotel, exceptional staff, only complaint is that the pool and hot tub did not feel very sanitary