Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Ottawa.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Loved that they kept the Xmas lights up for winterlude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad attitude

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Nothing - the 2 members of staff I dealt with had no concept of guest service.
Cons: The hotel needs to inform their potential guests of the restrictions on their shuttle service. The hotel needs to train their staff better
Location: Not applicable
Southway offers shuttle service to and from the airport. What they don't tell you is that there is no shuttle service after 10 PM. I had informed the hotel (through Expdia's online form) of my late arrival and need for the shuttle service. There was no shuttle,so I used the curtesy phone at the airport to phone the hotel at which time (after midnight) I was told by hotel staff that I would need to take a taxi, whic I did. The reception staff at the hotel blamed "third party" booking as the source of the problem and accepted no responsibility for my being inconvenienced, nor was there any offer to reimbourse for the taxi fare. Early the next morning I was in the lobby waiting for the now operating shuttle. The staff phoned the shuttle driver who arrived a couple of minutes later. He proceeded to"scold" me for being 2 minutes late. He was rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pembroke Ontario

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Cons: reno on the hallway carpets/elevator and door way thresholds was not complete
Location: next to Southkeys shopping area and close to airport
The room was excellent. Top quality linens and comfortable bed. Looked to be recently remodeled. The hallway and elevator still needed to be upgraded. Im guessing they have not completed the re-model. fresh creamer and milk in the fridge is a nice touch for the in room coffee maker. Never did like the powdered stuff. The quick breakfast in the lobby was also a nice touch. I did not know that was included until check in. We took advantage of the airport shuttle as well. I would stay at this hotel again. We ended up here through expedia mystery hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hubbards, Nova Scotia

Mini Vacation

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: How friendly the staff was, the cleanliness and that you offered shuttle service to and from the airport
Cons: Was disappointed that the hot tub jets didn't work all the time :-(
Location: Perfectly situated for sight seeing. Minutes away from the air port and down town Ottawa. Also lots of shopping and restaurants near by.
First time to Ottawa and was very pleased with the accommodations. Booked everything online through Expedia.ca Everyone was very friendly and the Hotel was well kept. Had a newly renovated room and was very happy with it. We thought the lobby was decorated well with the upcoming Winterlude theme and the outside lighting was fantastic. Looking forward to returning in the late Spring when the weather warms up again :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice. Close to amenities.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Great food at Shallows, and great shuttle service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Very out of date decor and facilities but surprisingly well kept and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel not too far from downtown Ottawa

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: I liked that our room was large and very clean.
Cons: The quality of the breakfast muffins and the coffee was poor.
Location: Easy access to 417 and to the downtown area.
Stayed at the hotel with my daughter to attend my grandaughter's hockey tournament. Enjoyed the pool and the sauna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Cons: Rooms need a full length mirror and a makeup mirror. Beds are too firm.
Hotel is a good choice if you need a hotel in this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Perfect for my needs.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: clean, comfortable bed, pleasant appearing room.
Cons: Front desk did not inform me of any other services available in the hotel (although it was midnight).
Location: Not available for any of this at the time.
Just overnight and off in the am. Arrived at midnight to a clean, comfortable room. Front desk did not inform me of any other services available at this hotel but perhaps he felt I would not be interested due to my late arrival.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TO

Lack of shuttle service

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: It was clean and has a complimentary continental breakfast.
Cons: Make shuttle service more accessible.
The hotel was fine enough, but their shuttle service was limited in terms of both hours (it stops at 10PM) and space (there is only one vehicle and it fills up quickly). I had to take a cab there and back. Annoying.