Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach vacation

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The room was excellent. The views, especially at dawn, were amazing. The staff was courteous. Overall we had a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chapel Hill, NC

Great hotel for the price, right on the beach

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Big rooms, clean and close to the beach.
We loved our experience at this hotel. The rates were reasonable, the rooms had been newly renovated and with a family of 6 - we had plenty of space to crash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Durham, NC

Wonderful Stay!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Ocean front, workout room, free wifi, free continental breakfast, polite staff, close proximity to area attractions, spacious rooms/suites
Location: Wright's Brothers Monument, Ocean Front, 45 minutes to Corolla, multiple restaurants/shops within walking/driving distance
I was skeptical about staying at this hotel because of its 2 star rating, but I am SO glad I did. The staff was polite and efficient at check-in and check-out, the continental breakfast was good, the rooms were clean, and the workout room had lots of equipment. I booked a pool view room, but upon arrival was given an oceanfront room on the 5th floor at no additional cost!! The suites appeared to be recently remodeled (also there was remodeling going on when I arrived to other rooms, but there was no loud noises). I LOVED the amenities and the close proximity to everything. I'd recommend the Best Western Ocean Reef to friends and I'd certainly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Love it the only place I been staying at on the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but terrible service

Posted Nov 18, 2014
We went in the off season and booked through Expedia unpublished rates. It was only $80 and the room could have slept 7. There were 2 double beds, a pull down double bed and a couch. It's right on the beach and it did have a little kitchen, which was nice. However, the room was severely outdated and not very clean. The morning we were checking out, we had the do not disturb sign on the door. But it didn't stop housekeeping from knocking on our door and asking us if we were checking out. I let her know we were and she reminded me that it was at 11:00. I kindly reminded her that it was not 11:00. I brought this to the attention of the lady at the front desk, but she just thanked me for telling her. There was no apology or anything. If you need somewhere cheap to stay and don't cars about the service or decor, then this is the place for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Great Hotel on the Beach

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING! Great staff, awesome location, spacious and clean room.
Location: On the beach. Wright Brotheres Memorial is only about 1/2 mile away. Jockey's Ridge is about 2 1/2 miles away.
We were in town for the OBX Marathon and this was our first time there. I could not have aked for a better place to stay! Highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and cheap

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Room heat was either too much or too little. Beds hard but no worse than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Western NC

Large Suite Room with Efficiency

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The suite room was nice, pull down murphy bed was loved by my son. Nice pool, hot tub and beach.
Cons: Hot tub had a lot of sand in it. Breakfast could have a few more items.
Location: Great location. Go tandem hang gliding with Kitty Hawk Sports for a thrill!
We enjoyed our stay at a reasonable price. Beach was rough in front of hotel with drop off, not too good for swimming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice size room and amenities

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pool could be warmer, no restroom at pool level, and a bit drab appearance but hot tub was great - right on the beach with great views but due to placement of room doors, need to close bedroom door when sleeping or neighbor slamming doors sounds like it's right in the room with you. Very clean - they even clean the remotes!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnite stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Very convenient as well as very adequate
Cons: Not getting pricing satisfactory with Expedia and checkout receipt
Came in too late to enjoy the room. A little disappointed because we were first floor and could not see the ocean. Would stay again if we had room higher up!