Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

You get what you pay for, but it's on the beach...

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Near the Wright Brothers Museum and the Black Pelican
Cons: Back off the dog allotment - put in AC with dehumidifiers ( rooms are sticky and moist)
On the beach - Overly dog friendly - Small old rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Really nice Hotel close to the ocean

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: It's on the ocean, and the hotel staff was the friendlest I have seen in a long time.
Cons: As far as the room I was in nothing, I would have loved being in a room where I could see the ocean, but you can't get it all everytime.
Location: Great Location, walking distance to restaurants and a deck on the dunes with benches
The John Yancey, was a very nice hotel, the staff was most gracious when we checked in. Our room was very nice, we were really suprised it had a frig, a micro wave and a coffee maker. At first I wasn't sure about the matress on the bed it felt crunchie when you sat of it, but I have to say I sleep better than I have in a long time. Will definitely stay there again, the rates are reasonable and the location is awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick Md

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Very family friendly and clean. I liked the refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot in the room. We had a small deck to sit on outside the room.
Location: We visited the local aquarium and did a shark dive in it. It was a great experience.
The staff was friendly. Enjoyed the easy access to the beach. Room was very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

good location

Posted Sep 22, 2014
older hotel that needs renovation. great location. near to restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wake Forest

Very good hotel in the middle of things!!!!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
It was a very good experience. This was my first time at the OBX. We were very impressed by the staff and the location of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
the staff were incredibly friendly & welcoming. The room was a typical double bed that you would see anywhere - there was a smell when you first walked in, but it went away quickly (most likely ocean smells). It was nice to be right on the beach - this hotel had its on walk way out onto the beach. The breakfast bar was nice with a good variety of quick foods. There is a nice clean pool &playground. Lots in walking distance. I would stay here again & highly recommend it. My only complaint is that our balconey door was hard to open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Comfortable clean hotel.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Free Breakfast entree needs to include "sugar free" cereals and syrups for diabetic guests.
Location: Centrally located Oceanfront off Virginia Dare Beach Road, parallel to Mile Post 10 (of 17) of U.S. Rt 158 at the center of the Outer Banks island.
Large well maintained, pleasant rooms. Easy access (fifty yards) to beach, helpful staff, quiet surroundings. Ideal for family vacationing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hmm... Never Again

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The hotel is right off the beach...and the cleaning staff is very prompt.
Cons: I would recommend updating the hotel and possibly getting a better cooling system for the rooms.
First off, this hotel looks NOTHING like the picture displayed. The rooms are very old fashioned and the room we stayed in was overall very damp. Clothes that I didn't even wear on the trip needed to be washed due to the moisture in the room. One night a room next to us fire alarm went off, loudly, three times. The fire truck had to come and it took them about 45 minutes to locate the actual room! Needless to say we weren't able to wake up early for the sunrise that morning...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

on the beach, walls are too thin

Posted Sep 9, 2014
We loved being right on the beach. Hotel staff were very helpful and kind. Rooms were clean. The sliding door to our balcony was really hard to get open. For the price, it would be nice if the rooms were better sound proofed. The people next to us weren't even loud, but I could hear them walking across the floor and onto the balcony many times. I'm sure they heard us as well, even though we weren't loud. It was our anniversary, so it would have been nice to have a room that was more private. I think the price is too expensive for the quality of the walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Great!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, great location, friendly staff
Clean, comfortable, and in a great location. Literally steps to the beach and very nice pool as well. Would recommend and stay here again!