Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Overpriced. Food was not good. Some very rude staff members. Restaurants on site but be prepared to wait 30min to an hour to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Meh.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Beach was nice
Cons: Room cleaning & separate what is rented out. Feels super cheap when you pay for "x" and get "y"
Location: Eat, drinking, bbq is of course amazing. Beaches.
Had a good time, but was tremendously overpriced. Would not stay here again, room always seemed to have sand in it (even before we arrived). They also rent out other parts of the hotel (like a freaking bachelor party area) so enjoy the massive amount of noise you'll get from that until 2am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Posted May 20, 2015
The staff takes fabulous care of the guests. Restaurants are excellent. Quiet and clean with great dolphin watching.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by Sanderling Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Outer Banks at its best

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great stay at the Sanderling.Our stay was during the offseason at a time where the fitness center was being remodeled,and the main restaurant was closed.Many nice features by the staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Vacation in November 2014

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Beach, Balcony, and Ambiance.
Cons: Bathroom changes
Location: Currituck Beach Light Station, Kitty Hawk (Wright Bros, Nat'l. Mem.
Karen in the restaurant was incredibly attentive. A real pleasure to have wait on us for breakfast. Nancy in the office was super friendly and helpful as well. I didn't want to leave. We woke to find a Buck walking outside our door and then went to beach to see a couple of Dolphins frolicking near the shore. Awesome experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Wonderful winter getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect getaway. Immaculate. Compare price. May be cheaper to go direct not through agent. Be prepared for cold winds. Audobon trail just across street wonderful hidden treasure. One restaurant open for winter. Had great food!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco area

Nice hotel on the Outer Banks

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Levels of service, quality of food and staff (nice but not trained).
Location: Duck, NC is great; lots of beach activities.
Arrived at 6:00 PM on a Saturday in the rain - no valet or bell man and had to lug 2 very heavy bags up about 15 - 18 stairs to get into the office (not happy at $ 200 per night). Room was large but only adequately furnished; nice balcony. Bathroom was Ok. Ate at the restaurant - not good and very expensive. Bar was below par for this price of a hotel. All in all, a very disappointing stay. Will not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sanderling

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
It was a lovely quiet weekend get-away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sam from Raleigh,NC

Perfection

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Everything better than last stay. Just wonderful. 4 star rating is well deserved and actually should be higher!! This is second stay at this wonderful hotel. Some of better local restaurants close end of October including one of the Sanderling restaurants but this will still be wonderful getaway this Fall and Winter. Staff very attentive.