Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Marothoner

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Very convienent location. Awesome beach-front. Nice emeninties. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good value. Will come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, Nc

Loved the view!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
It was directly on the beach. I have nothing bad to say about this place but two things. 1. The beds were horrible. They were clean just very hard. Couldn't really sleep. 2. The heated pool wasn't warm at all. Other than that I had wonderful 13th anniversary there and I would go back again, just with an air mattress!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Southeast, VA

Love this view!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The close proximity to the beach. Cool sunrise. Clean. Friendly staff. Location.
Cons: Can't say except maybe the bed was a little hard.
Location: Shopping, Restaurants (all excellent food). Beach.
Very close to the beach front. Hard to get any close. Very comfortable and clean room. Older hotel but who care? Good food at the Hotel restaurant...quaint little place. Very convenient location. Restaurants and shopping close by. I'd recommend it, especially since good value for the money. Awesome sunrise, too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Abingdon, VA

Good Value!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness! Our room was spotless! Housekeeping is doing an outstanding job!
Cons: Need friendlier front desk staff, minor exterior maintenance and an improved air conditioning system.
Location: Great location - close to several excellent restaurants and the Wright Brothers Memorial.
The hotel room was very clean! The Sea Ranch Resort is conveniently located in Kill Devil Hills - close to several wonderful restaurants and the Wright Brothers Memorial. Our hotel room was located within few feet of the Atlantic Ocean. At high tide, the ocean was nearly touching the building structure. The hotel restaurant was nothing special, but several good restaurants were located close-by. The indoor pool was very nice and clean. Front desk personnel were not particularly friendly, unlike maintenance and housekeeping staff. The outside of the hotel needed some minor maintenance - i.e. painting. And air conditioning system in the room was loud and poorly cooled the room. Overall, I would recommend the hotel and would return. I normally stay at four and five star hotels. This hotel is a good value through Expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom fla

nasty hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: I came to see the WRIGHT BROTHER MEMORIAL, AND FIRST FLIGHT spot. How ever It reminded me of HWY 192 in Kissimmee Fl.
Nasty arrival desk clerk, room smelled of mildew, No elevator to second floor. If this is a 3 diamond property AAA rating I am glad that I stopped paying dues to them years ago.You better wear slippers, or your feet will turn black. Toilet and seat were loose. You had to stand up to get the toilet paper to do you know what. The shower was full of hair and filthy. I was lead to believe that this hotel was recently renovated. Very interesting. I will say the only thing good was the internet. And the beds were good once we sprayed the A/C with Lysol to get rid of the mildew smell. But I think that we should have these rooms ready for our arrival.These task should be taking care of before we arrive and not complain to the front desk about the problems. I think that would have been a waste of time. See first comment. A different front desk clerk check me out, and was much more pleasant, She did ask how was my stay, But I didn't want to waste my time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Easton,PA

Nice place

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Stayed here for 2 nights before my one week reservation at a house in obx. Hotel was better than I expected and have a great small restaurant with friendly staff. Definitely served it's purpose as a place to sleep in obx before my week long stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Afton, VA

The Most Well Laid out Motel at OBX

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff from the counter to the maintenance and housekeeping folks. Best maintained rooms in the outer banks.
Cons: The only beef I had was the over-the-sink lighting in the bathroom was rather dim for shaving. But I could live with that.
I've stayed at pretty much every motel at the outer banks during the past 20 years and don't know how I missed this one. The motel, and especially the rooms, are very well maintained, and had features that other motels on the beach could learn from. The motel is on the beachfront but has no sand dunes to block the view of the ocean. The sand is flat from the motel to the water's edge, and the ocean is only 100' or so from the building. The rooms are bright and cheery. The big feature I liked was that the heat / AC unit wasn't one of those 'thru-the-wall' type that blow out on the balcony and make it hot and uncomfortable to sit there. It was a rooftop unit with a wall thermostat in the room. By not having the 'thru-the-wall' heat pump, it allowed for a balcony wall of floor to ceiling glass; with even the door being glass. This provide a great view of the ocean. The motel is centrally located in Kill Devil Hills between Nags Head and Kitty Hawk. This will be my go-to motel on future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wendell, nc

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: It was right on the beach. It had its own little restaurant on the beach and food was very good. Balcony overlooking ocean.
Location: Very conveniently located to stores, restaurants, and area attractions. Plenty of water activities minutes away, as well as golf, mini-golf, bowling.
Very enjoyable experience. Pleasant staff and very accommodating. The room was more than sufficient and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom HAMPTON, VA

Super close to the beach!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Awesome beach view! Staff was friendly and very helpful. Housekeeping was also very nice! This is in no way a resort, but if you're looking for a nice,, comfortable, and convenient hotel, this is it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Bed wasn't all that comfortable and the room was clean and the access to the beach was unbeatable!