Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abingdon, VA

Good Value!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness! Our room was spotless! Housekeeping is doing an outstanding job!
Cons: Need friendlier front desk staff, minor exterior maintenance and an improved air conditioning system.
Location: Great location - close to several excellent restaurants and the Wright Brothers Memorial.
The hotel room was very clean! The Sea Ranch Resort is conveniently located in Kill Devil Hills - close to several wonderful restaurants and the Wright Brothers Memorial. Our hotel room was located within few feet of the Atlantic Ocean. At high tide, the ocean was nearly touching the building structure. The hotel restaurant was nothing special, but several good restaurants were located close-by. The indoor pool was very nice and clean. Front desk personnel were not particularly friendly, unlike maintenance and housekeeping staff. The outside of the hotel needed some minor maintenance - i.e. painting. And air conditioning system in the room was loud and poorly cooled the room. Overall, I would recommend the hotel and would return. I normally stay at four and five star hotels. This hotel is a good value through Expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fla

nasty hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: I came to see the WRIGHT BROTHER MEMORIAL, AND FIRST FLIGHT spot. How ever It reminded me of HWY 192 in Kissimmee Fl.
Nasty arrival desk clerk, room smelled of mildew, No elevator to second floor. If this is a 3 diamond property AAA rating I am glad that I stopped paying dues to them years ago.You better wear slippers, or your feet will turn black. Toilet and seat were loose. You had to stand up to get the toilet paper to do you know what. The shower was full of hair and filthy. I was lead to believe that this hotel was recently renovated. Very interesting. I will say the only thing good was the internet. And the beds were good once we sprayed the A/C with Lysol to get rid of the mildew smell. But I think that we should have these rooms ready for our arrival.These task should be taking care of before we arrive and not complain to the front desk about the problems. I think that would have been a waste of time. See first comment. A different front desk clerk check me out, and was much more pleasant, She did ask how was my stay, But I didn't want to waste my time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Easton,PA

Nice place

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Stayed here for 2 nights before my one week reservation at a house in obx. Hotel was better than I expected and have a great small restaurant with friendly staff. Definitely served it's purpose as a place to sleep in obx before my week long stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Afton, VA

The Most Well Laid out Motel at OBX

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff from the counter to the maintenance and housekeeping folks. Best maintained rooms in the outer banks.
Cons: The only beef I had was the over-the-sink lighting in the bathroom was rather dim for shaving. But I could live with that.
I've stayed at pretty much every motel at the outer banks during the past 20 years and don't know how I missed this one. The motel, and especially the rooms, are very well maintained, and had features that other motels on the beach could learn from. The motel is on the beachfront but has no sand dunes to block the view of the ocean. The sand is flat from the motel to the water's edge, and the ocean is only 100' or so from the building. The rooms are bright and cheery. The big feature I liked was that the heat / AC unit wasn't one of those 'thru-the-wall' type that blow out on the balcony and make it hot and uncomfortable to sit there. It was a rooftop unit with a wall thermostat in the room. By not having the 'thru-the-wall' heat pump, it allowed for a balcony wall of floor to ceiling glass; with even the door being glass. This provide a great view of the ocean. The motel is centrally located in Kill Devil Hills between Nags Head and Kitty Hawk. This will be my go-to motel on future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wendell, nc

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: It was right on the beach. It had its own little restaurant on the beach and food was very good. Balcony overlooking ocean.
Location: Very conveniently located to stores, restaurants, and area attractions. Plenty of water activities minutes away, as well as golf, mini-golf, bowling.
Very enjoyable experience. Pleasant staff and very accommodating. The room was more than sufficient and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HAMPTON, VA

Super close to the beach!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Awesome beach view! Staff was friendly and very helpful. Housekeeping was also very nice! This is in no way a resort, but if you're looking for a nice,, comfortable, and convenient hotel, this is it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Bed wasn't all that comfortable and the room was clean and the access to the beach was unbeatable!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Its OK

Posted Aug 29, 2014
I would recommend but with restrictions. It was OK, not great. Food & drinks in restaurant was not great. Frozen products, not fresh....drinks bland, did not order a second. If you need a room, go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg,Va

NICE HOTEL RIGHT ON BEACH

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Most of front desk staff were nice,except for one who acted like we inconvenienced her for coffee creamer.Cleaning staff was great and very personable. Coffee pot in room was sad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellaire, Ohio

Great place to stay and really close to the beach.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: I like that it was clean, friendly staff, lots of parking close to lots of food places, also a wonderful cafe/restaurant inside the resort.
Cons: The only thing that it didn't have was a laundry facility. The room we had that had squeaky doors, and bad outlets.
Location: The location is close to the beach, lots of food places, lots of put putt golf, Wright Brothers monument, light houses, movie theater, stores.
the resort was close to lots of places of interest, lots of food places. The resort has a great bar and restaurant, nice inclosed pool, and a work out room. I like that you can go out the door and to the beach. The beds were really comfortable, The room has a refrigerator and microwave, a hair dryer, ironing board, and iron. It is close to all food places, lots of activities, shopping, lighthouses, sand dunes.