Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was great
Rooms were a little musty and our floor was a little damp after a hard rain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas

Hotel close to beach access

Posted Jul 7, 2014
This hotel was adequate. The breakfast was good, but doors of rooms open to outside. We left our empty cooler open in our room and the next morning there was a huge bug in it. The rate was the most expensive out of all rooms on this 10 different hotel trip yet the least nice. I guess they can get away with that in such a tourist area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear 1st time to Par, Thank you posting a review of your stay with us. I am sorry hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. We strive to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and a clean, comfortable room and I am sorry that we fell short of that goal during your stay. I hope that you will give us another try in the future. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hickory,NC

This hotel is very nice, the staff was courteous.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Our trip was cut short because of Arthur but the staff was very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and hope to visit again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Nea, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that Arthur interfered with your stay. While Arthur was a big storm we were very lucky and did not sustain any damage. I hope your next trip to the Outer Banks will be less adventurous. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good overall. great location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
nice pool, a little small. nice property. well maintained and right on the beach. nice location in kill devil hills compared to other hotels as well. staff was extremely nice and helpful. room was clean and all about being out and about like the old days. it's an older building so the rooms are a little tight but efficient. not for someone looking for huge amenities. it's all about the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review and yes it is all about the beach here in the Outer Banks. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JJ from Bethlehem PA

Nice ALL the way around !

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Cons: Change direction of head of beds , so you don't hear late comers & children in & getting in bed ! the head bourds bang as people adjust ! Loud
Location: It's pretty much centrally located to everything
Quick & since room was ready , we were able to check in early -5 hrs early actualy , which gave us more time to settle & hit the beach ! Friendly , helpful staff . Clean ! Would go there again !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear JJ, Thank you for your review and I'm happy to hear we were able to accommodate your early check in request. I look forward to seeing you next time. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice place to either start or cap off an OBX week

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Location. Breakfast was fantastic. Need a little bigger eating area-no room to sit and had to take back to room.
Cons: Dining area is too small.
Clean, newly remodeled and as described. You can tell it's under private ownership because it does not have a 'chain' feel to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the hotel. Our owners take great pride in their hotel and try to make it feel a home away from home. Hope to see you again soon! John Zellers General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abbey from Cleveland, OH

Friendly local staff, right on beach

Posted Jun 6, 2014
The super friendly staff was a highlight of our trip. They were always willing to give a reccomendation on restaurants or activities, and always had smiles on their faces. Continental breakfast was good, seating was limited to 4 small tables though and could be crowded. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Indoor and outdoor pools were great, plus a hot tub indoors. Small but functional, especially with the beach so close. A short walk up a deck path led right to the water. Overall a wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Abbey, Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the comments regarding the staff. I look forward to seeing you next time. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
2 out of 5
by hils from UK

Treated badly

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The room, beach location and breakfast was fine.
Cons: Customer care.
Location: The Wright Bros memorial etc is good.
We had booked an Ocean View room in March. When we arrived on 31st May we were given what I guess was the worst room in the hotel. It was room 129 on the ground floor. A fence, grass and sand dunes blocked any view there might have been of the ocean. Not only that but it was next to the store for the housekeeping carts and 3 feet across from our door appeared to be the trash enclosure. When we complained that we had no view of the ocean we were given various excuses, relating to overbooking and there appeared to be some lack of communication between Expedia and the hotel. I'm not sure whether the best rooms were being given to bookings made directly with the hotel and Expedia bookings had what was left. As we were told the hotel was full we had to accept the room and were given a partial refund but we were very upset by how we had been treated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Aside from friendly staff and good accommodations, the best part about this hotel is the location. You are on the ocean side of the street and right across from a popular night life spot for other vacationers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and the beach. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The breakfast that was provided every morning was a great way to start our day.
Cons: The clock on the microwave made a loud ticking sound.
Location: Many atractions were within easy driving distance, plus many wonderful resturants.
Shutters is perfectly situated for day trips up and down the Outer Banks. We had a great stay and a great time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Outer Banks. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager