Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Cool sauna

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Our room was damp and cool. It felt like you were in a cool sauna. A dehumidifier may have helped. Carpets were damp and dirty. Kids got black feet walking in the room! Just not pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: It was close to the beach, and right off the main highway. It was also close to a lot of restaurants that we ate at.
Cons: Housekeeping. While they provided us the necessary towel replenishment each day, they did not bother to vacuum and make up our bed each day.
While my fiance and I would have loved to stay at the many gorgeous houses in OBX, Shutters on the Banks proved to be the best alternative for us. Not only was the hotel directly right off the beach, but it was centrally located to many awesome restaurants that we ate at during our stay. While we had an outstanding time, our only suggestion would be the housekeeping. There were days where we placed the "housekeeping needed" sign out the front of the door, and our room was never cleaned. There was also a day when we were provided new towels and toliet paper that were just left in front of our door. Again, this is something minor, but I thought it would be worth pointing out. If you are a couple looking for a getaway to OBX, I would certainly recommend staying at Shutters on the Banks. The exterior of the hotel may need a minor facelift, but we had an overall pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront, clean & very well kept

Posted Aug 22, 2014
We had a lovely stay here, friendly staff, comfortable, clean room on the oceanfront located close to all attractions.....would Definetly stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va beach

Decent hotel near beach

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The hotel had a great location on beach with plenty of room to set up chairs and such. The facilities were clean and had both indoor and outdoor pool. Close to shops and restaurants. Only complaint was room was musty smelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Was a nice hotel, clean and comfortable on the beach. It had nice beach and pool. Only complaint was room had a musty smell. The staff was friendly and I would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Just one night

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: During my short stay I could offer no complaints
Location: Beach and Wright Brothers Memorial
Flew into Kitty Hawk First Flight Airport and needed a room for the night. The hotel was within walking distance and close to restaurants. Nice room facing the beach but the view of the beach was obscured by the dunes. However we did have the closest room to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield VA

The hotel was well maintained .

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The rooms were very clean... didn't like the sink area being in the front of the door as you come into the room. Good view of the ocean from the 3rd floor. I would stay here again. Great location !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Eve, Thank you for your review and for your comments regarding the bathroom sink. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and ocean views. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Front Royal, Va.

Great place to stay, love this hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The location and the hotel were clean and had a comfortable bed.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: The location is great with many good restaurants and shopping nearby.
My kids and I had a great time, we enjoyed being right on the beach, and had a wonderful time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Jan, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed their time with us and at the beach. I hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Outdoor pool could be bigger and deeper.
My family, two adults, two school- age kids stayed here for two nights. The location was very good, closeness to the beach and to local businesses made it to a very convenient stay. Outdoor pool, indoor pool, spa and gy, were ok, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Eva, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed their time us and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from RI

Close to beach. Lots to do nearby.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location to beach
Cons: Price
Location: Jockey's ridge sunset; beach sunrise; Carolla wild horse jeep tours; kitty hawk museum
A bit pricey for this type of hotel, but we expected that in season. Rooms were clean. Location was nice, very short walk to the beach and many attractions nearby. Remarkably quiet for such a busy place. Staff was very friendly. Continental breakfast was extremely busy but worth waiting for, as it saved some $$$. We didn't use refrigerator and microwave in room but that would also save families $$$. Nice family vacation spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Beth, Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear your enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of the amenities that the hotel has to offer. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Sincerely, John Zellers General Manager