Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Charming and comfortable.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: It has the service and cleanliness standards of a five star hotel.
Cons: Beds are a touch hard. Bathrooms are beautiful.
Location: It is close to all the major attractions of Oxford without being in the centre of the hustle.
This hotel is on the periphery of the Oxford University community and a 15 minute walk to the downtown core. It was refurbished in the spring of 2014 and is now a luxurious boutique hotel. It has kept the original architectural details giving it charm and a cozy atmosphere yet it has all the modern conveniences you might expect. The restaurant is also small but the service and food are outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel close to centre of town

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: we loved the food, and really enjoyed using the bicycles to get around
the staff were lovely - I only told them the day before that I was planning to take my dog - and they upgraded us to a bigger room
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Shelburne, ON Canada

Tiny expensive hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Location: Excellent central location.
Everything about this hotel was perfect except for the tiny size of the room. There was nowhere comfortable to sit and the space to put your clothing was inadequate and awkward to get at (deep low shelves as opposed to drawers). The reason I would not recommend it is because for the price it was just not worth it. I think they try to make up for the lack of space by doing everything else (service, food, cleanliness, fantastic bathroom) really well. Unfortunately we were still cramped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was wonderful. The food was good and the location was great. Our only complaint is that our room was extremely small and tight, with no place at all for suitcases and we were staying for 3 nights. We travel a great deal and this is by far the smallest room we have ever had. The confirmation was for a queen sized bed but the bed was more like a full. When we asked the manager about this he said that room is reserved for last minute bookings and is too small to accommodate a queen. Our booking was not last minute. This response left us to conclude that this room is saved for those who book using a site other than the hotel's website. It was still an expensive room at over $1200 for the 3 nights. There are many other places to stay in Oxford, and due to this experience, we will most likely be staying in a different hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Steve Kelleyfrom United States

Cozy and close

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very homey place. Excellent service, free parking, good food and a short walk to downtown Oxford.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Small but smart

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Its a lovely hotel, a short walk from town center,,, thevrooms are very small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by johan nicolaifrom oslo

alway great to stay at the Old Parsonage

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
being able to make use of the stylish "garden" at breakfast added to the pleasure of Old Parsonage
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

とても満足!!!

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Londonを拠点にしながら、Oxfordへの一泊旅行に、主人と成人している娘の家族3人で利用しました。 日本を出る前に、問い合わせたいことがありメールを送ったのですが、とても速い返信と丁寧な対応に驚いていました。そのメールの対応と同じように、実際の宿泊時にも、フロントでも、ディナー時、朝食時と、本当にフレンドリーで、心のこもった気持ちの良い接客対応でした。 Oxfordの中心から少し離れているのかなぁ、と気にしていましたが、Christ Churchからでもブラブラのんびり歩いて帰られる距離でした。 時間の関係で、評判が良いとのアフタヌーンティーを体験することが出来なかったのが心残りです。またぜひぜひ利用したいと思っています!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Chic, expensive, very grey

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: staff, cleanliness, attention to details
Cons: See experience above
Location: Oxford is a lovely town to spend time in as a tourist. So much history, so accessible.
This is a delightful old hotel, but the interior with all the new grey decor is a little charmless for my taste. However, in the new style of stark minimalism, there is no faulting the taste of the decor. No iron or board in the room had staff scrabbling to locate one for me ( they did!), and I would have appreciated coffee/tea making facilities in the room. The duvet was crinkly, it sounded like rustling paper every time you moved in bed.Also, our bed, a queen had a camber at the sides, so one felt as if one were falling out all night! The outdoor patio restaurant was completely charming, but the indoor restaurant is a little dark, and it is is odd that guests have to go through the dining room with their suitcases past diners.