Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hesterfrom N. Wales

A fun, funky, special experience

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our one night stopover at The Bear. The room was funky and the bed blissful. The room was up in the eaves and "bijou" in size. Unfortunately it was housing a rather large dehumidifier which further reduced the space. Our polished steel wetroom was fun and quirky although it is a little disconcerting seeing yourself reflected five times while sitting on the loo!! Don't choose this room if you are self conscious about your figure! The bar was great. Would love it as our local. We ate in there in the evening as that gave us the option of choosing from Thai or British menus. The meal, cocktails and breakfast were excellent but it all comes at a price. Great for a special occasion. Oh, and their farm shop is superb!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Small country pub

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very quiet no atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
by reyalkingfrom bucks

cazybear oxford

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service Delivered in a professional manner. Would recommend A very pleasant experience overall
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pimp My Country Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just not my cup of tea, Yes our room was huge and pimped but the quality was cheap. Far cry from a top quality hotel. Musty towels, lack of hotel like touches. Breakfast was pretty lame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hfrom London

Excellant hotel

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect weekend get away - activity day, followed by gorgeous food in the restuarant and amazing room. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ilolfrom Essex

Fun hotel

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service, fascinating design and decor make for a fun stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mattfrom UK

G

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Greeted by friendly staff on arrival and shown to room which was very clean and super comfortable. I ate from the English menu and had an amazing meal. Was only there the one night, will stay again given the choice as the location is also great being only 10 mins from the edge of Oxford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SLfrom London

Pricey but must be experienced

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here following an outdoors pursuits day at the Crazy Bear Shooting Lodge (which was excellent). We opted for the standard room which was £180 when we booked it - quite hefty for the location. The hotel is very quirky and smacks of muted decadence - you feel very special and pampered; it's a really great experience. The room was the same - quite small but beautifully and luxuriously decorated. We were not told where the restaurants were when we arrived but there was only one place where they could be (the main building). We were also not told about times for breakfast but read in the guest directory that it was served until 11am. When we went down at 10.30am, we were told by the manager that they stopped serving breakfast at 10am... He was however very sympathetic and accommodating - arranging continental breakfast for us and made it clear that we should take our time. All in all, we would not rush to go back but if you're looking for grandeur with service as it should be, then this place is a must, especially as a special occasion. Do also go to the farm shop for fresh Oxford sausages and scotch eggs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andyfrom Somerset

Absurd. Ridiculous. All the better for it.

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Truly outstanding. Over the top. Great food and service. However, I did stay here as I was doing business nearby. As a business stop-over it did not work too well. No desk in room to work. WiFi on the blink. But if you were to take a loved one for a silly, romantic getaway, you could not fault it.