Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at countryside

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Amazing hotel to stay at countryside not far from london with excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darren from London

All-round perfection

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
A perfect 1 night stay in one of the suites for a birthday treat/surprise. Fabulous accommodation, staff service professionalism and friendliness and the food in the English Restaurant was to a very high standard and at relatively good value. Only observation regarding accommodation would be that the suite was slightly dark given limited lighting from the very sleek Moroccan lanterns, so difficult to see for girl friends make-up etc - but you don't book one of these suites for practicality! Perfect stay, thank you Crazy-Bear.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by david from Chelmsford

Noisy restless night

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
The room was noisy a buzzing noise the whole time rang and complained they said they knew what it was and would stop it but the noise continued
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WTC

Niche - not for business/singles. Far from 5*

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Niche - I think
Cons: Smell wasn't great in my room-I'm hoping it was an intentional. There was a letter on the bed for another occupant who'd obviously cancelled her stay.
Location: Didnt have a chance to see it.
I arrived at the hotel and was immediately shown upstairs to my room directly above the bar. The room was tiny. It had a double bed at the end of the room where three of it's four sides were against the wall. The room was decorated with an awful lot of care & effort; however it was far from my taste (26yr old male)... Leopard print carpet, elevated black wallpaper & a gold ceiling. Mirrors EVERYWHERE. The en suite had everything you needed, however the decor followed that of the room. Black Toilet & tiles, Golden everything else. The room came with a tv without digital. Just 4 channels. Music channel, 2 b list movie channels & the standard 'hot line' channel you'll find on late night TV. My door handle fell off & I had to lock myself in. The ceilings weren't fit for purpose as I could hear everyone around me walking through the property. It was a stop off for a work trip & I was catching up on work until 1:30AM where I could still hear music coming from downstairs (I did check the music I could hear vs that on the one channel the tv allowed). I felt like I'd ventured off to a remote hamlet where I must have been the only occupant who'd not brought his, wife / girlfriend / mistress along for a spicy weekend. I'd never recommend it but I think that's a lot down to taste. I'm sure there's more to the place if you have time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by siobhan from hertfordshire

I definitely recommend a stay at the Crazy Bear!!

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
I booked a stay at Crazy Bear as a Christmas present for myself and my partner. We stayed in one of the standard rooms. We arrived at around 2pm, an hour before check in. We assumed that the room would be ready earlier as we paid quite a lot of just one night. We ended up having to wait around until 3pm anyway. We took a walk to the crazy bear farm shop, which was lovely, but rather over priced. We then waited at the bar and had a cocktail, the cocktails are delicious, but for £12/£13, you can see how easily you can rack up a hefty bar bill. A lady came to find us when the room was finally ready. We were given a complimentary glass of champagne which was a lovely touch. The room itself was quite small, but the décor inside was pretty cool. The shower room had heated floors which was lovely. We also had dinner in the English restaurant before leaving to go and see a show in Oxford town centre. The food was beautiful, you definitely get what you pay for! The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful (we woke up too late for breakfast the next morning so they sent us up a fry up as room service straight away - again this was delicious!) I would definitely recommend a stay at Crazy Bear. Before booking, have a look on groupon because I know they do deals where you can get a one night stay and a 7 course meal included for a much cheaper price, (I heard about this after booking my stay, how annoying!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Indulgent and delicious

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing. The hotel was incredible, quirky, extravagant, indulgent.. The food was fresh and delicious.. Great wines and champagne, the staff really looked after us. Well worth a visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good couples retreat

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. we were greeted in the double decker bus reception with a glass of bubbly to enjoy while we waited for our rooms to be ready at 3pm. the bar and restaurant is very good, enjoyed the Thai food and cocktails! a quite small boutique hotel with cleaver use of space!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One of the best experiences

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing boutique rooms. OUTRAGUs hotel a must once in your life! Room 14 had a funny smell in bathroom due to chimney leak or something but they have insense sticks which got rid of it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Deborah from london

Quirky, perhaps more value for money required

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
I was surprised by the Crazy Bear, renound for its luxury rooms and general all round amazingness, I was a tiny bit disappointed. while the room was opulent to say the least I wasn't expecting the bar and restaurant areas to be so tiny. the thai restaurant had great food and great service but sitting in the bar was quite a busy and not so relaxing experience as I might have hoped. we stayed in the Copper suite, which looks beautiful, nice big bed, an infinity bath! which was lots of fun, but I felt it was let down but the extreme lack of good lighting. trying to get ready for dinner and even the next day was a nightmare as the room is so dark with mirrors positioned away from any lights. that being said, we had a lovely time and our room had a private balcony which was fun, despite the cold weather. little bit noisy during the night, but the building is old so what can you expect. I would hope for a little bit more value for money but it was nice nonetheless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels