Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cheshire

Easter Saturday short break

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location and helpful staff
Cons: Cooking! Not sure you should be able to reserve a table in the bar area in the evening. Seating was limited in the bar without adding to the problem.
Location: Good base for Oxfordshire and the Cotswolds.
Hotel was well placed for the town and had ample parking at the rear. A little tired in places and our bathroom had some condensation mould in the window reveals. (Room 24) Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately my seafood main course was not properly cooked. Chose not to have a replacement and both our mains were not charged for. Breakfast was much better. Overall a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
A lovely hotel in a good location the staff were pleasant and the room was clean the only thing that let it down was the toilet seat needed changing
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Friendly and central

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, quite a large pub style quirky layout
Cons: All showers Rooms update beds and room temperature for comfort Gym
Location: Excellent area to stay, lovely nearby villages. Didn't have time to fit it Blenheim. We went to the theatre and thoroughly enjoyed it
Really friendly staff, eager to please. Nice bar area, friendly and inviting and busy at times. Lovely restaurant area, we only used a breakfast and was very pleased. Bedrooms in need of update. Wish I was informed the room had bath with showerhead fitting and I would have requested a change. Our room was very cold in the night despite having extra blankets on and road noise never stopped all night! Bed was very hard and uncomfortable - not a great nights sleep. Swimming pool was a little chilly but this was probably due to it being emptied and clean the day before, showers need updating as only a dribble of water comes out, just when in need of warm up shower! Gym was a no go area for us as it was very cold, small, unorganised with strong smell of mould. Squash court was put to good use by us, thoroughly enjoyed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money, excellent breakfast, good stay.

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Cons: Maybe a little bit of updating, decorating etc.
Positioned centrally in the town, convenient for shops and facilities, friendly and polite staff, nice breakfast, excellent value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ANDREW

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Lovely Hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Felt very cosy, even though it was a large hotel
Cons: The breakfast was buffet style and the 'hot' breakfast was cold, the plates cold too.
Location: The hotel was right on the high street, so loads of shops within walking distance
Nice central location with good parking, our room was very big with a lovely bathroom. Everywhere very clean and festive with the Christmas decorations etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tamsin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Helenfrom kettering.

very good hotel.

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
thoroughly enjoyed my stay.old hotel with old style furniture but clean and friendly.food was very good. would stay there again. on my own but felt quite comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good enough as a crash pad

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Heating, shower power, remember to put towels and toilet rolls in room!
We needed somewhere to stay in the area due to a party we were attending so was only ever somewhere to lay our heads; staff were friendly enough and the hotel is what it is - a very old and quirky building so don't expect luxury! Our room was very cold and the plug in heater provided didn't appear to work? We also had no towels or toilet roll on arrival but they were swiftly provided. Opening and shutting the door to the room was the only other battle we had but comfy beds and for the £ we paid, we hadn't expected much else,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Visit to Chipping Norton

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the stay. The room was nice for the price paid. The service at breakfast was very poor and the staff were not very quick at responding to requests. I asked two different members of staff twice for the milk to be refilled, and had to wait ages. Other guests had also asked for milk and the staff still did not respond. They were more interested in laying the tables, but no new guests had arrived in the restaurants. The bar menu was very limited, we ate out.