Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Happy to be in the Dog House!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Huge room, great atmosphere, great meals, nice beer garden, plenty of parking
Cons: It's an old place so understandable but lots of creaky floorboards!
Location: Oxford. I wouldn't bother if I were you!!!!!! Certainly don't drive in. Traffic horrendous, parking £6 per hour!
Only stayed for one night but really liked the place. Nice beer garden as well as meal was great. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the country

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location and value
Cons: Advise in advance if wedding going on when you stay because noise could be an issue. Fortunately band stopped just after 11 when we stayed.
Location: Fairly close to Oxford Park and ride
Good value and ideal for using Oxford Park and ride. Well decorated and furnished. Breakfast good, dinner menu average fare but inexpensive. Only real downside is car park located across busy road and noise from weddings (if applicable).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Nice accomadation, good food and healpfull staff

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: very clean and the staff very accomerdating
Cons: nothing
Location: not aplicable
Needed somware to stay near Oxfords Hospitals, this place ticked all the right boxs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australian

Great value

Posted May 28, 2015
Newly renovated rooms. Excellent food. Friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ANNE from Baltimore

Great

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
Great quiet in the country wonderful place very gluten free accommodating. Would return
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nicholas from Dawlish

2 night stay

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Accommodation was disappointingly shabby, bar & food good, although staff clearly wanted to close early, ovrerall not impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from prestatyn, north wales

the dog house

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
enjoyable, service was excellent with helpful and pleasant staff, food was good, the rooms were a little dated, but comfortable, the staff advised they are in the process of updating the whole hotel. All in all a good stay and we would go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tara from Harlow

Lovely stay.

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyable stay in lovely pub. Amazing breakfast, big double bed and nice food. Staff were really helpful. Cooridoors seemed a little dated but don't let that put you off. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anne from Fredericia

Landlig kro

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Skøn kro på landet. Ca. 20 minutter i taxa fra Oxford (£22). Meget hyggeigt og værelset har de bekvemmeligheder, der er brug for på en rejse. Intim atmosfære i restauranten, med ild i pejsen. Mad og morgenmad OK. Meget snakkesalige gæster, der får en til at føle sig velkommen.Vil komme igen, når jeg er på disse kanter.