Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Ketnes

Disappointing

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was good and after a false start on check in the staff were very helpful.
Cons: Clearer advice about the room location and parking.
Location: Oxford is full of sights to see and stuff to do. Traffic and parking in Oxford is a nightmare, use taxis or public transport.
Having checked in and given room no.411, we asked which way to the room and were directed to go back outside, up the hill and turn right. We ended up at the back of the hotel looking at a pile of rubbish. Went back to reception and they said go all all the way to the top to Elm House!!!!!!!. This is an annexe that has been tarted up, but still rather dismal and tired. for £129 for one night I think there is better quality out there. Certainly the main part of the Hotel looked reasonable and the breakfast was good, but on balance would not risk staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

NICE HOTEL TIME FOR UPDATING

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Friendliness and convienience.
Cons: Deco needs to be freshened up.
Location: Situated in lovely Iffley village, a short walk from the church and riverside walk. You can walk to Oxford city is an easy 40mins walk.
We have stayed here many times over the years, the hotel is convenient to the city, the river walk, friendly, quiet, well in fact all you would want for your stay. but I have to say that over the past two / three visits we have noticed a slight decline in the standard. There are slight stains on some walls both in rooms and corridors, chipped paint, small stains on carpets, frayed edges on carpets and this time we had stains on the bed throw. general wear and tear that needs to be addressed now before it gets worse. Bathrooms are lovely though. the garden is great for kids to run around safely. Breakfast could be better, served on white plates with no thought to presentation just always looks bland, however the quality is fine. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly, always have been. Breakfast, if you bring a guest is quite expensive for what you get at £14.95. Don't read this as a negative review because it is not intended that way, the hotel just needs a freshen up. Will we stay here again? Yes we will.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Vegetarian breakfast disappointing. Hotel great though!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Lovely hotel, shame about the noisy wedding party.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Couldn't fault the hotel or the staff or the location. Great in all respects and centre of Oxford easily accessible. Unfortunately, the hotel is a wedding venue and was hosting a wedding on the Saturday of our stay. A selection of the wedding guests decided it was their right to stomp along the corridors all night long drinking and shouting. Coupled with the groups doing the same in the garden and the parking lot meant we didn't get any sleep and at 5am after I kindly reminded the rabble outside my room to move on, no more sleep was inevitable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The hotel is in a beautiful location in Iffley, slightly out of the Oxford town centre and easy to get to if you know your way around Oxford. The staff were kind and helpful. The breakfast was very good. But my room - a single - was very, very small (almost Smurfish), with an uncomfortable bed, no room for luggage, and a shower drain that was clearly blocked, almost causing overflow after running the water for 2-3 minutes. This is unacceptable at 125 GBP per night. However, I expect that some of the larger rooms are actually quite nice. If your are a business / academic traveller looking for a single room, best to look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Beautiful setting and close to Oxford centre.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Everything was right about this hotel. The staff were very friendly and were always happy to help. The facilities were clean and fresh and the restaurant was bright, clean and great food. Also the restaurant staff couldn't have been more friendly and attentive during our meal. Loved it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not for family

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The room were clean.
Cons: The pressure and temperature of the shower has to be SAFE. Parking is inadequate.
Location: Near to the
They call it "family suite", but the two single beds were really uncomfortable ( cheap pull up so) The shower almost boiled my kids (it was impossible to control the temperature as the pressure was randomly change. THIS WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND UNSAFE, ESPECIALLY AS MY KIDS ARE LITTLE Even if it can sound silly, some extra charges are ridiculous: I never had to pay extra to have an espresso instead of filtered coffee when the breakfast was included (and BTW, the espresso was so terrible to almost ruin an otherwise really nice breakfast). It is also quite insulting having the waiter NOT giving you the coffee till you sign for the espresso. he was the only quite annoying guys as all the other staff was polite and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place just outside of Oxford

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The front and bar staff. VERY helpful and VERY nice.
Cons: Expand bar menu perhaps to include a pasta dish? The hot water was a bit hard to regulate, seemed to get hotter and colder without touching the knob.
Location: About 20 minutes by taxi to Blenheim Palace (which is a half day experience at least) which cost by $40quid with one, and $30 with another.
If you're looking for quiet, plenty of greenery, birds, country feel. This is a good spot. It's about 1.7 miles from downtown so it's always a $10-$12 Taxi to get to and from but the room was spacious, internet good, the water was a bit hot/cold in the shower-hard to regulate...but good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted May 23, 2015
Bar, restaurant & reception staff really helpful. We had a lovely time and lovely meal. Thank you:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walsall

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: quiet, comfortable
Cons: car parking
all ok, quiet and comfortable.busy when we arrived, problem parking car. other than that nice friendly hotel