Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely grounds, teeny room :(

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel is a lovely grand building, we used the facilities and were impressed with them, the leisure centre was lovely and clean and a credit to them. Our stay was slightly disappointing as we were put in the tiniest of rooms with a wall for a view. It was so hot and stuffy, we couldn't get any air in the room, or move around it comfortably! The actual room was clean and tidy, we didn't dine in the restaurant so can't comment on food, we did purchase drinks from the golf club, two single spirits and mixers (£12.25) we were served by very professional staff in the golf terrace and also enjoyed a breakfast baguette there too. Overall it was a lovely weekend we had, I feel a bit let down with the tiny room which was over the staff smoking/bin/compactor/delivery area, we had two bad nights of sleep because of the noise and heat. I would come back but request a front facing room! The grounds were beautiful and well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will go again and recommend it to friends

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Felt like a royal palace in the public areas and the rooms are modern.
Best of old world charm and luxury combined with modern rooms and very friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Great hotel. Not great service in restaurants.

Posted May 31, 2015
Great hotel. Not great service in restaurants. Specially room service and brasserie.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
No mobile phone signal and poor internet quality in some rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The walls are paper thin

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: The manor house and grounds
Cons: Soundproofing the rooms. A more friendly and helpful staff. Parking that is closer to the rooms
Location: The location is isolated and not close to anything.
The manor house which serves as the main hotel is beautiful and the grounds around it are also beautiful. The rooms are located in a wing off the hotel which as been renovated and modernized. Unfortunately, it appears that they forgot to insulate the walls between the rooms. The noise level from the rooms on either side of us and in the hallway made it very difficult to sleep. Breakfast is not included with the room and parking is quite a distant walk away. The location of the hotel is not convenient to anything. Overall it was a very disappointing experience and we would not stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Fantastic surroundings

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Location, surroundings, grounds, staff
Cons: Comfort of room and size of room
Room was a bit small, and cold. Otherwise everything was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roy from Bedfordshire

Heythrop Park

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
It is confusing when arriving at Heythrop Park as there are 2 hotels on the complex , a Crowne Plaza and De Vere. The signposting to De Vere is not clear . When booking on line you are not made aware of the 2 complexes and which hotel you have booked. The entrance is up steps with no slope facility for disabled people. Luggage has to be carried up the steps to reception. The bathroom whist recently renovated had no heating and was very cold. The main restaurant was not open when we stayed there,we used the Bistro. It was strange that with a Pork main course there was no apple sauce available, not what is expected from a 3.5 star hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely weekend mini break

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Restaurant food was fab
Very nice, rural location, the rooms were small but very nice. Restaurant was really good and overall was a great mini break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

A great place for the price !

Posted Mar 9, 2015
The photo says it all what a wonderful building at surrounding parkland. Our stay was really nice, if I had a negative view was we felt some of the staff, even though very friendly, had no idea what was happening around the hotel. There was one older staff who knew his business and was excellent and really switched on, most of the staff you just knew they were only doing for a job and didn't seem to care wholeheartedly about customer satisfaction. When I have visited Marriots, Ritz-Carltons etc. nearly all the staff seem like they love making your stay a special one. I would recommend the hotel just wish management could do a review of how they run it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect getaway

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Amazing weekend! Beautiful hotel and spa facilities. Room very modern and everything you could need.