Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good location next to Blenheim Palace

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Charming
Cons: Bathroom could be bigger
Location: Close to Oxford and good starting point to visit the Cotswolds.
An old-fashioned hotel with lots of character. Creaky floorboards as you'd expect. Breakfast very good. All the staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MG from Lincolnshire

Excellent hotel walking distance from Blenheim

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Staff were very efficient, friendly and welcoming. Our suite was very spacious and tastefully decorated; it was well equipped.
Cons: Not a lot.
Location: Located in Woodstock with Blenheim Palace within walking distance. Lovely village setting. Very historic area with lots of places to visit.
We stayed one night whilst visiting Blenheim, which was within easy walking distance of the hotel. We were able to check in early. All the staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly recommend this hotel and will be returning later in the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sue from Brandon

Very friendly attention to detail was spot on.

Posted Feb 5, 2014
We were looked after well.As we were room only we actually did not eat at the hotel but restaurant looked pleasant and well run. We had drinks and nibbles in the bar by a roaring fire. Would do it all again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Warm welcome

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
You can't get a better location in Woodstock than The Bear, a coaching inn which takes up a good part of the main "square" of the small town and is within walking distance of Blenheim Palace and its park. There's parking at the back of the hotel, a cosy lounge with an open fireplace and a restaurant. There are some "character-full" (I.e. uneven and twisty) staircases and no elevators. The only problem during our stay was one that should be expected in a 400-year-old building: the heating is not easily regulated and the radiators were locked on meaning that the room was overheated, but better that than experience the damp cold of the English winter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Location: The inn is 15 minutes from Oxford and 1/2 hour to Warwick Castle!
Charming inn in a very quaint town!! Each room is unique. We had three rooms and every one was completely different!! Breakfast was very good!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PhilipT from Horsham

Freezing cold bathroom

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked a Superior room (number 4) , which was in an outbuilding, up a very steep outdoor stairs which were badly lit and covered in leaves. The room itself was quite well furnished and spacious, but it was also quite cold - even using the additional radiator provided, however the bathroom was freezing cold. There was only a heated towel rail, which kept the towels warm - but nothing else. Disappointed that this basic feature was overlooked when converting the space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with character

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Location, rooms, character, staff
Location: Blenheim palace is almost next door, and it is in the centre of the village of Woodstock also not far from Oxford
Great hotel and rooms, full of character, with good food in restaurant all set in the lovely village of Woodstock
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by M Jones from Llandeilo

Disapointing Restaurant Menu

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Limited choice on Menu for evening meal and then there was some of the items sold out due early diners, even though the restaurant was not busy that evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect pre-run stay!

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was great - a lovely hotel and the perfect location for the Blenheim Palace half marathon. My only criticism is the fact there was a scratchy blanket on the bed rather than a nice fluffy duvet - very strange. But other than that, great :)