Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom oxford

Night away in Woodstock

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Lots of character and central.
Cons: Cheaper breakfasts, the five guests went on and had our (probably much smaller) breakfast in a local café for the price of one at the hotel.
Location: Woodstock tow centre and Blenheim Palace.
Hotel was pleasant, centrally located. Old place, creaky floors by clean and well maintained. Bar prices were high as was the breakfast - I suppose with Blenheim Palace only a mile away and Woodstock being a tourist haven, perhaps I shouldn't be surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kellyfrom Essex

Planning my next visit already

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
From the moment you walk through the door & the warmth of the open fire surrounds you. All the staff have a friendly smile on there face, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is beautiful & clean I loved it & will definitely return in the very near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old hotel steeped in history

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The traditional old style
Cons: Not enough parking
Location: Great to walk to Blenheim palace
The room was lovely and tucked away in a quiet spot down a small staircase. The only criticism was that the room was quite cold(it had a very high ceiling) and although there was an additional oil filled radiator it did not heat the room to a cosy temperature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey, UK

Good quality period hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Character and quality
Cons: Noise insulation of rooms could be improved, at least in some rooms over courtyard, although admittedly difficult in a building of this nature
Location: 5 minute walk from Blenheim Palace, good choice of eateries and pubs in town, plus Oxfordshire Museum.
13th Century coaching inn, well-located in the centre of Woodstock, very convenient for visiting Blenheim Palace, and easy access to other attractions in the area. Woodstock has a good choice of pubs for eating and drinking plus a number of bespoke restaurants. This was our third visit in 10 years, this time for a short post-Xmas break. Hotel is well-run, with high-calibre staff and very pleasant ambience. Room was compact but comfortable, and spotlessly clean with all usual trimmings. Eating in the hotel restaurant and drinks in the bar are, however, a bit pricey. Breakfasts excellent. Will happily go back again, based on experiences to date.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

decent room, nice village

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel is quite tired The room itself was really nice, the staff were really nice in providing a really nice room. Breakfast was a bit of a let down - when it got busy service went down and the quality wasnt great. would stay here again though. woodstock is lovely and this is one of the better hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at The Bear on several occasions, it is a really lovely hotel, in the beautiful village of Woodstock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great for a short escape

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excellent Xmas break in a lovely town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Antony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stuartfrom Wilmslow

Woodstock trip

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was what you would expect its an very old building with lots old charm,location is great for getting to Oxford,we used the bus service number 3s