Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

Good historic hotel, close to everything

Posted Apr 11, 2015
My stay was comfortable, the room quality was good for such an old building. The "free" breakfast was free for a reason and was the only thing that was below standard in the hotel. The breakfast compared to a lower end hotel, the hot food was substandard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Spotless and well managed

Posted Apr 8, 2015
A very well run hotel & helpful friendly staff. Expensive but worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking is a nightmare

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: the staff
Location: excellent location
Parking is £30 overnight if your car fits otherwise its park'n'ride 3 miles away and this was an hour round trip. Room was not ready at 4.30pm. the view was scaffolding at the window. not 5 star
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Zimmer sehr gut außer im viertem Stock

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Location: Lage ist optimal, man ist sofort (um die Ecke ca. 30 m) an einem Ende von Downtown und nur 4 min Gloucester Green (da hält der Bus von London Heathrow
Das Hotel kann man wirklich empfehlen, allerdings sind die Fenster der Zimmer im vierten Stock (wir hatten zwei davon) undicht und zum Teil zugeschaubt, d.h. man bekommt sie nicht auf aber auch nicht dicht. Dafür gibt es (wir waren Ende März) eine extra Heizung (elektrisch) die das Zimmer auch warm bekommt. Wer es zum Schlafen kalt braucht muss dann eben kurz lüften. Zimmer sehr sauber und gut ausgestattet, Personal sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Oxford Treat?

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: On arrival a great 5* welcome from the doormen. Lovely clean sheets on the bed and comfortable mattress.
Cons: Staffing at reception desk. Fundamental look at the room quality, and pricing.
Location: Where do you start with Oxford if you want to enjoy the history of the famous colleges. Come here for Summer VIII's rowing regatta in May; a must.
For a 5* rated hotel charging 5* prices I was left feeling that I must have missed something. It certainly did not hit the value for money mark. The room was very small (I kept tripping up over the furniture so tightly was it all crammed in), temperature of the room and water hard to control, and reception on checkout so under staffed the wait was painfully embarrassing for me and the poor receptionist. At peak checkout time she was left on her own to deal with a tetchy queue building as she struggled to checkout tourists of many different nationalities. Have stayed in Macdonald Hotels before and always been pleased, so hopefully this was just one of those stays, as the AA who gave them 5* this year seemed to like it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs refurbishment

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The location and friendly staff
Cons: It needs refurbishment. The staff need to be stopped from using the lifts. They block them all the time.
Location: Very good city centre location
I was disappointed at the state of the hotel, it needs a big refurbishment. Also the lifts are very slow and always seemed blocked by staff moving linen and cleaning materials. The location was good and staff were friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A real treat

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The quality of accommodation with attention to detail made our stay relaxing and very special.
Location: Central Oxford with the Ashmolean over the road, Pitt Rivers Museum and the Botanical Gardens an easy walk away and you can't forget all the colleges!
Exceptionally helpful staff ensured our stay was the treat we had hoped for. Luxury without making us feel uncomfortable, an impressive combination.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Great restaurant but uncomfortable bed

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Good food and service and stunning restaurant space
Cons: Room decoration and bedding
Location: Oxford is great for a weekend break with plenty to do very close to the hotel
The room was a bit shabby for a hotel of this class and we had a double bed where you end up rolling into the middle as the mattress was shot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk

Good Position in Centre of Oxford

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Position and "old world atmosphere"
Cons: Reduce parking charges - £28.50 per night is excessive
Location: Shops & museums close by
Very efficient staff and comfortable hotel, but the parking charges are OTT when added to the the room charges
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jorn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels.com