Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by World Traveler from Chicago

Holiday Week

Posted Apr 17, 2014
I stayed in one of the rooms where hallways connected and the maid's closet was just across the hall. It was very noisey at this room location. Also, the desk staff were not very polite. They would see you but would not speak or say hello. I could've spoke first but I'm the customer and just wanted to see how they would treat me. I would still stay because they the perfect location and the price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DaveM from Sutton Coldfield

Great Breakfast!

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel with part of it a really nice old building. The staff all seemed attentive. The room was fine with a reasonably confortable bed. The breakfast was very good with again great service. The only thing that let the stay down was having a cold shower on the Sunday morning, but the hotel pro-actively offered a discount for that before I even mentioned it so well done to them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Cambridgeshire

Old World Charm

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: It sense of the past
Cons: A lift possibly but this may be impracticable
Whately Hall is located right near Banbury Cross. It is a typical small town hotel from the past but our room had been updated with a decent new bathroom. It was clean and well presented
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Allen from workington

Banbury Mercure

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
No problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful building

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Clean
Cons: As mentioned - the slamming doors
beautiful building, Room 72 was a fair size. The only bad thing was that all doors on that corridor seem to slam shut. So that meant the morning was quite disturbed - especially for those wanting a quiet lie-in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karen from London

Clean and comfortable. Cold shower.

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hall & stairs leading to the room was revolting - the carpet was quite frankly way past its best and stank - that horrible damp/wet dog smell. Thankfully, the room was much as I would expect as a standard from any Mercure room - clean and comfortable. However, despite running the shower for 10 minutes in the morning I could get no hot water. Bit of a bad start to the day. Went down to breakfast, to which I would never think of bringing my purse (doesn't that negate the whole pre-paid thing?), but was faced with a basket for tips. I can understand this for lunch and dinner - but a self service breakfast buffet?? The most service you receive is bringing you tea or coffee. Does this deserve a tip these days?? Sorry - sounds negative, but I was disappointed. Staff were very friendly at reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Simon from London

Nice historic hotel in nice area

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed staying at the Mercure in Banbury. Its an interesting hotel with lots of history, and is attractive (well, at least the front is) with nice gardens. Its well located in the heart of the pleasant town of Banbury with lots of nice restaurants nearby. I would stay again, although the visit was marred somewhat by a member of staff delivering some requested bottled water to our rooms in our absence, but left both doors wide ajar. Staff at reception were very apologetic and did promise to have a word with the staff to prevent such incidents happening again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK

A good value hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2013
We had a very good overnight stay at this hotel. The room was very nice, with everything clean. I would agree with previous reviews that some of the decor is rather tired and the paint on the bathroom door needed a revamp! Breakfast was good and the panelling in the dining room was lovely
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful old hotel that could be run better. Showers in other rooms woke us in the morning. The beer in the bar was dreadful.