Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Tired, dated and in serious need of a refresh

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Room was extremely dated, mattress very uncomfortable and I could here every noise outside my room and staff coming and going from 5am. Not a good base for a business trip. The breakfast was pleasant tho and the staff helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mansfield, UK

Lovely Hotel, Great Service

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Lovely gardens and setting
Cons: The bar leaves a lot to be desired, no atmosphere, very much at odds with the hotels very charming lounge area
A really charming hotel, loads of character and an Olde style. Excellent location, very central. Very comfortable room, clean and fresh and very spacious, perfect for a weekend break. Breakfast was wonderful, all freshly prepared to taste. I can recommend Eggs Benedict. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. On the downside the bar needs a shot of atmosphere, give that a miss, there's plenty of choice elsewhere in Banbury.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toddington Cheltenham

Adequate for Rating - just!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Adequate but void of atmosphere - really waiting for a big hit of investment Lots of The Hotel Chain information signs scattered about all in better condition than the Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

Lovely central hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
After a long day at Silverstone , we arrived at the hotel , staff lovely and room in a nice quiet location over looking the gardens. We decided to have a drink in the bar on arrival , the disappointing thing was the bar staff could not find any crisps , nuts etc which we thought was very poor. Other than that an enjoyable stay and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mejfrom Lincolnshire

Wonderful staff but the rooms need updating.

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a few issues during our stay but they were all sorted by the lovely staff. The hotel itself was great but the first room we were given was tiny; we had paid to upgrade so were expecting something a bit nicer. Our room consisted of a tiny sitting area with a sofa, an arm chair, a wardrobe and huge cupboard which contained a kettle (no fridge which had been promised when booking) and then a small bedroom with a desk, tv cupboard and a small bed, the wall paper was badly scuffed and tatty. The bathroom was horrible!! The window was mouldy with chipped paint, a tatty bathroom suite and tiles that looked like they were fitted in the 80's, I can honestly say that my heart hit the floor when we saw this. However, the receptionist was great, they couldn't move us that night as the hotel was full but we were moved for our second night to a beautiful room in the new part of the hotel. I find it very hard to believe that the hotel can sell both these rooms/suites at the same rate! Breakfast was ok, the first morning there seemed to be a staff shortage which resulted in us and several other residents being left with tea/coffee until we could chase a member of staff, a lot of the food from the continental breakfast had run out and wasn't replaced, however what was there was nice. Our second morning was a different story, the staff were very attentive and there was plenty of lovely food. If we were to return here I would request to be in the new part of the hotel, unless the old parts gets refurbished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Switzerland

Good Hotel.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very satisfied with hotel, facilities and value for money. excellent large room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable one night stay.

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good sized rooms and attentive staff. In a good location in Banbury with restaurants and shops close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent staff,food ,ambiance,situation and building,which sadly, is in need of a little care in some of the old parts of the Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Frabelfrom Windsor

No AC

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel but rooms very hot no AC just a fan
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Old building on busy road.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The building was old and full of character. It had a nice garden. There had been a lot of effort put into the the hanging baskets and plant troughs
Cons: The bar and the way the whole operation is run. It was understaffed and unfriendly.
Location: We would come back in order to explore more of Banbury. It seemed a lovely town. We also liked the hotel, and would come back
We had a room overlooking the road and the windows had to be open as it was very hot so a lot of noise. The room was nice. We went to the bar on arrival which was not staffed. We rang for a barman and in the end I had to go into the kitchens to find someone. The bar staff were quite surly. On the second night there was a wedding. They did not have a dedicated bar and as a consequence the bar was overloaded with wedding guests and hotel guests had no opportunity to buy a drink. This was very disappointing, especially as there was a nice lobby where hotel guests could have been accommodated. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. Parking was good and secure.