Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toddington Cheltenham

Adequate for Rating - just!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Adequate but void of atmosphere - really waiting for a big hit of investment Lots of The Hotel Chain information signs scattered about all in better condition than the Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Lovely central hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
After a long day at Silverstone , we arrived at the hotel , staff lovely and room in a nice quiet location over looking the gardens. We decided to have a drink in the bar on arrival , the disappointing thing was the bar staff could not find any crisps , nuts etc which we thought was very poor. Other than that an enjoyable stay and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Good Hotel.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very satisfied with hotel, facilities and value for money. excellent large room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Old building on busy road.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The building was old and full of character. It had a nice garden. There had been a lot of effort put into the the hanging baskets and plant troughs
Cons: The bar and the way the whole operation is run. It was understaffed and unfriendly.
Location: We would come back in order to explore more of Banbury. It seemed a lovely town. We also liked the hotel, and would come back
We had a room overlooking the road and the windows had to be open as it was very hot so a lot of noise. The room was nice. We went to the bar on arrival which was not staffed. We rang for a barman and in the end I had to go into the kitchens to find someone. The bar staff were quite surly. On the second night there was a wedding. They did not have a dedicated bar and as a consequence the bar was overloaded with wedding guests and hotel guests had no opportunity to buy a drink. This was very disappointing, especially as there was a nice lobby where hotel guests could have been accommodated. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. Parking was good and secure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Kent

Poor room soundproofing

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
What can I say?? - A beautiful hotel full of charm and character in a beautiful town which is let down by the very poor soundproofing between rooms. The noise from surrounding rooms tv / music / people in corridor was far more than any ohter I have stayed in recently & all I really wanted was a sleep - I ended up awake until around 01:30 due to noise when I had to be up at 05:00 so not a good night at all - truly a shame as the hotel is lovely and has great history. Oh ... the beer at the bar was really flat too. left most of it as I couldnt be bothered to ask for a replacement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gavin & Kerrie from Brisbane Australia

Great old Hotel lots Character

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Having Breakfast looking at the beautiful cottage garden through the old windows
Cons: Night time meals in the bar area, not really organised to cater for this when large function on dinning room
Location: Easy to find on main road in. Lots of places to eat across road
We had a huge room with separate lounge and entrance way
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Leisure Traveller from South coast

Good location

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely old hotel in great location for Banbury and close to many restaurants.. Staff really helpful and proficient Room was a good size as was the bed.Floorboards very creaky but our room was on top floor so it didn't effect us.However a church bell rang all through the night and this greatly disturbed our nights sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Dave from London

Nothing to write home about

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast, pillows
Bed comfortable, but terrible pillows. Breakfast disappointing , cardboard sausages, fried eggs rock hard, need to refresh the whole buffet thing. Nice old building, but at that price wouldn't go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 1 night and would return. Perfect location and comfortable rooms.