Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gosport, Hants

Visiting our Old Haunts!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Located in the Town Centre with all facilities you could need. Polite Staff.
Location: Right at the Top of the High Street, lots of Pubs/ Bars and Eating places close by for every budget near by.
Having left Banbury in 1980, My Wife and Decided to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversay in Banbury, and we picked the Hotel we had looked at from afar when we were kids! Check in was easy, Rooms were modern and clean, and despite a Wedding being held on Saturday night, we weren't disturbed by noise etc. Parking was good and safe, overall a great Stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bromsgrove. UK

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Controls on the radiators in the rooms
Location: NA
Only stayed for one night in a double room after a wedding at the venue. Extremely old building but pleasant with open fires and plenty of comfy chairs. The stairs creaked, so much so that I thought we might have been disturbed by the noise but not so. The room was comfortable but hot with no way of turning down the radiator pumping out heat all night. Breakfast was a delight, buffet style and lots to eat. Excellent range to suit all tastes. The staff couldn't do enough for you which was good. It was all nice and relaxed to, a pleasure to sit and eat and chat about the previous day. Friendly courteous staff and plenty of parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colchester

Nice short break

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The character of the building and the location.
Cons: It would have been nice to have some leaflets or information available in the reception area about the local area and attractions.
Location: Banbury is a lovely town with many shops. A visit to Stratford upon Avon is a must.
We have a very pleasant 2 night stay in this lovely old hotel. The bathroom was slightly dated but otherwise very clean and you don't spend that much time in there anyway! The breakfast was excellent and the staff who looked after us, especially John, were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. John was also very knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service was good but we did feel quite lonely as we were the only diners that evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Disappointed this time

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
I stay here often a my office is close by. Usually it is good. However this time was not. I was appalled at the condition of the duvet. It was stained badly. Eventually it was changed but only after a long wait apparently there weren't spare clean ones! Check in was so slow although no one was waiting. The man on reception was just so annoying. I was given a free dinner and breakfast for the state of the bed but really as I was only there for one might a good clean quiet room was all that was needed. Hopefully a one off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Neilfrom dubai

i recommend this above all else in Banbury

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
superb room - space is fantastic - great service - parking is free and simple - great wifi you can not ask for more
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All history, no comfort!!!!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Hotel room was dirty and very tired. I had two single beds pushed together so continually fell through the gap in the night. I've been a lot of historical hotels are much better than this all over the world. Very poor!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best of Banbury

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Fantastic, stately hotel from the 17th century, with modern upgrades (wireless everywhere), its own pub, and lovely breakfast spread. Rooms are small compared to American hotels, but big for England, with upgrades in the bathroom. Very friendly staff all hours of the day, and a perfect location across from the high street. Three cheers!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

We only slept there as were visiting family

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Our room was lovely except for the very hard mattress. We were very close to the shopping area. I liked the secure free parking. Very nice helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabethfrom Barby

Overnight stop

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overnite stay for christmas party room was ok bit dissapointed that there was no room service only within resturant hours other than that all was ok