Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Ok Hotel, no baths and a TV you can not watch!

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: location is great
Cons: Have some hotel rooms with Baths, as some customer my have travelled from overseas and would like to relax
Location: Hotel is a great location to see a great city and its history
Hotel have invested in the Hotel but have removed some of the charm, No baths and the TV in my room you could not see it, unless you stood at the end of the bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. I am afraid we have reduced the number of bedrooms with baths as the demand from our guests is that they would prefer a walk-in shower. We do have bedrooms with baths and we do allocate them for our guests on request. We are in 2016 replacing our televisions throughout the hotel and have taken note that in a couple of our new rooms we need to place an adjustable arm to allow the television to be rotated, I am sorry that this was not the case on this occasion Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Zentrale Lage
Location: In der Nähe von allen Sehenswürdigkeiten. Airportbus von Heathrow hält praktisch vor der Türe.
Für einen Kurzaufenthalt absolut empfehlenswert! Das Hotel liegt sehr zentral.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. With best wishes Peter Watt General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sewage Problem

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Cons: The staff to have the initiative and be given the authority and responsibility to solve issues
We had a terrible sewage smell coming out of our bathroom that was absolutely sicking. When we complained the staff were apologetic, came up and opened our windows and said that they had no rooms available to move us to and that that the manager was away so they couldn't compensate us; we will never return to this hotel, or use another Accor hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review, I am so sorry that you encountered a drainage issue in your bathroom. It would appear that during the refurbishment programme when parts of the hotel were closed for renovation, the drainage system broke down. This has now been rectified and everything is repaired, I do appreciate that this is of little consolation to you. Yours sincerely, Peter Watt, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Should clearly explain the the lift only goes 1 floor. Not so user friendly for senior traveller. The location was good. Lied the walk in shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am please that you enjoyed your stay and that the location is ideal for discovering Oxford. I am afraid that the lift only goes to the first and second floors of the main hotel building; we are over 100 years old and was originally 4 townhouses joined together it has not been possible to extend the lift to the top floor of the hotel. We are now in the last stages of our refurbishment programme, please do come back and see our brand new hotel. Regards, Peter Watt, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

overpriced, tired executive room

Posted May 3, 2015
Cons: I gave my comments directly to the hotel via a form on the Mercure website but have not even had an acknowledgement - so bed, decor, communication.
I paid the premium for an executive room with a double bed. On the plus side, the room was a good size, with a pleasant aspect over a quiet side street and the hotel location is good. However, the "double bed" was two singles (made up as singles) pushed together under a double headboard and the room was pretty tired (nothing like the images on the Mercure website). Annoyingly, I wasn't given the code for the free wi-fi when I checked in and when I phoned reception from my room, there was no reply - it just rang and rang. The staff didn't appear to be that interested in me - although one member of staff went out of his way to welcome two other guests (the important people, I guess).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry that we did not on this occasion meet your expectation. We do have a number of zip & link beds and I am embarrassed if they had not been joined, as this is our standard. The hotel has now started the final phase of our bedroom refurbishment and we are looking forward to the end of the month, when it will be completed. There is no code required for the Wifi and I am so sorry if this was not explained at the time of check-in, I have taken the lack of communication you experience in a meeting with the front of house manager, who is dealing with his team. Regards, Peter Watt, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SCOTLAND

Hotel with a building site inside.

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: lots, e.g My room 306 could be named dysfunctional. It is not fit for purpose.
Location: This is located in the centre of Oxford it should be a thriving and busy Hotel but it not .not why
A very frustrating experience with a building site inside. You have a notice warning Guests accordingly but after they have arrived . Guests must be warned before they arrive. It is deceitful not to do so.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and my apologies that you had not been informed of the renovation programme at the hotel, our website is updated from our central office in Paris which can cause a delay. Kind regards, Peter Watt, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Cons: Breakfast was not included in the price and the fixed price was rather high if one did not want to have more than a continental-style breakfast.
The room was extremely comfortable (newly refurbished) and quiet, despite the central location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review, greatly appreciated by the team. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, please do look on our website for our summer promotions. Best Wishes, Peter Watt, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bahrain

Old hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Avoid room 13 its the smallets room in the hotel And outdated and surely need new mattress
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, The hotel is on its final phase of the bedroom renovation, which does include the room you were staying in. Part of the refurbishment is that all rooms have new beds and are designed to enhance the space in each bedroom. Kind regards, Peter Watt, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jane from Manchester

Oxford 1/3/15

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Room shabby, very noisy. Got breakfast orders wrong for 2 of the 3 people dining. Not good value for money. Good for parking but rigmarole with keys
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2015 by Iain, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are half way through the renovation of all our bedrooms, taking into account all our guest feedback. We have recently recruited a number of new members to our restaurant team, and although they all have a great understanding of the service required in our restaurant, some of their understanding of a traditional cooked English breakfast has being challenging .Kind regards, Peter Watt, Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay - deluxe room

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
The lobby/bar area was very well tended to, with excellent service from front desk. The room however was in need of complete redecoration - scuffs and chips everywhere, badly patched hole in bathroom ceiling...not indicative of a deluxe room. The bathroom door frame in particular looked like giant rodents had been eating it. The toilet cistern/plumbing was in dire need of attention - each flush triggered several minutes of loud groaning!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by Iain, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we are now in the final phase of refurbishing all our bedrooms and bathrooms, and I do apologise for the lapse in standards that you may have encountered on this visit. Please be assured that all guest feedback has been taken into account when renovating the rooms, and please do call in should you be re-visiting Oxford in the future and see our completed project. Kind regards, Peter Watt, General Manager