Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North West

Cosy and Comfortable Place to Stay

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: It was welcoming, clean, comfortable, warm and the staff were very helpful.
Location: The hotel was very conveniently located to all local attractions - just a short 5 minute walk away. The Bodelian Library was spectacular.
I recently had an overnight stay with my daughter, and found our room extremely comfortable. The hotel itself was warm and welcoming after a very long journey, with a log fire roaring, and beautiful festive greenery abounding everywhere. Breakfast was delicious, and was much enjoyed. The staff were friendly and courteous and kindly offered their advice regarding interesting places to visit. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Lovely hotel and the staff were exceptional helpful when we had a micro crisis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arianefrom Paris

Un merveilleux séjour

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Délicieux en tous points. Gentillesse et compétence. Parfait sans être guindé. Extrêmement confortable. Joli. Cosy. Réparateur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janefrom london

A taste of the Past

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely beautiful "oldly worldly". Perfect for Winter and Xmas!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Charming and comfortable.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: It has the service and cleanliness standards of a five star hotel.
Cons: Beds are a touch hard. Bathrooms are beautiful.
Location: It is close to all the major attractions of Oxford without being in the centre of the hustle.
This hotel is on the periphery of the Oxford University community and a 15 minute walk to the downtown core. It was refurbished in the spring of 2014 and is now a luxurious boutique hotel. It has kept the original architectural details giving it charm and a cozy atmosphere yet it has all the modern conveniences you might expect. The restaurant is also small but the service and food are outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel close to centre of town

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: we loved the food, and really enjoyed using the bicycles to get around
the staff were lovely - I only told them the day before that I was planning to take my dog - and they upgraded us to a bigger room
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Shelburne, ON Canada

Tiny expensive hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Location: Excellent central location.
Everything about this hotel was perfect except for the tiny size of the room. There was nowhere comfortable to sit and the space to put your clothing was inadequate and awkward to get at (deep low shelves as opposed to drawers). The reason I would not recommend it is because for the price it was just not worth it. I think they try to make up for the lack of space by doing everything else (service, food, cleanliness, fantastic bathroom) really well. Unfortunately we were still cramped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was wonderful. The food was good and the location was great. Our only complaint is that our room was extremely small and tight, with no place at all for suitcases and we were staying for 3 nights. We travel a great deal and this is by far the smallest room we have ever had. The confirmation was for a queen sized bed but the bed was more like a full. When we asked the manager about this he said that room is reserved for last minute bookings and is too small to accommodate a queen. Our booking was not last minute. This response left us to conclude that this room is saved for those who book using a site other than the hotel's website. It was still an expensive room at over $1200 for the 3 nights. There are many other places to stay in Oxford, and due to this experience, we will most likely be staying in a different hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

atmospheric, stylish

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
First rate, only quibble was the tight parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com