Ratings based on 640 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great Spot

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Nice room, restaurant, close to town
Very nice hotel in a peaceful setting. Walk to the river, town, or stroll the extensive grounds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Nice looking hotel but disappointing.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Looks nice with a lovely walk along the Thames. Good size rooms and hotel areas. Plenty of green space. But check in annoyingly slow as was anything at the front desk. Poor quality food. Waited too long. Rooms should have been cleaner. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Limited amenities

Posted Jul 19, 2015
No Air conditioning, no refrigerator, no ice. A little uncomfortable. For the money, we expected more...a lot more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oxford base to explore

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Well situated comfortably close to city Quiet relaxing good food Nice open air area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Countryside near the city

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: I liked the quiet serene atmosphere. The room was understated but comfortable. Nice front view from my room.
Cons: I was surprised that the rooms were not air conditioned. I did not originally see this in the reviews, but when I checked, one person did note it.
Location: Walking distance to the city on the Thames River walkway, or a five minute bus ride from right in front of the hotel.
I was in Oxford for a special occasion and wanted a peaceful place to rest before and after a long day's activities. I was more than pleased with the hotel's offerings. The price was well worth it when I consider that I paid for more than a room - which I would have received at any hotel. Here, I paid for the room, the countryside, the Thames River behind the hotel. It truly was a package deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashtead

Good location value for money.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The location with the possibility of a riverside walk to town. Spacious room, well appointed. Friendly staff. Free parking.
Cons: The breakfast buffet. The lighting in our room
Location: The location is about 10 min walk from the center of Oxford on Abingdon Road. Well placed for a riverside walk.
We stayed in room 229 for one night. The room was quiet (at the back with views of trees and fields) spacious and well appointed except it needed more lighting as there was only one small window. A light over the desk/dressing table would have been particularly welcome. It was plainly decorated, but pleasant and everything worked except the wifi. As we were only staying one night at a weekend we did not bother asking for help with this, so maybe we could have got the wifi to work. The hotel was well located for us at a ten minute walk to the centre of Oxford, which is possible to do pleasantly along a riverside path rather than along the main road. We have tried two hotels in the centre of town but have found them a bit pretentious and overpriced. This one works for us and we will probably return. It is a big hotel (long walk to our room!) that caters for big parties (a coach tour when we were there) so you could hardly call it intimate or stylish, but the staff are friendly and professional. We tried the breakfast buffet, which I would call adequate. The scrambled eggs looked grey and grainy so I didn't bother and there was no freshly squeezed juice, only some from cartons. There was some nice sliced tropical fruit and apples but no oranges which would have been my choice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical bare-bones business hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Cons: reduce impression of being in a large cavern.
Location: Oxford City center.
Abysmal, 19th century modem signal strength/speed. Need to go to lobby to get a on line. Restaurant food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

oxford trip

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: nicely appointed and grounds well kept too.
Location: Oxford city bus tour was very good. Essential to go beyond the fronts of the colleges - they all have lovely grounds.
very comfortable hotel - nice walk along river into city centre. Room very comfortable and clean. Also spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

2 night break Thurs /Friday

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Outside very pleasing on the eye
Cons: leisure centre
Great location, near to centre/river & plenty of restaurants. Hotel building & grounds lovely, staff helpful & friendly. But Leisure centre really disappointing, gym & pool small & all looks tired / needs updating. Same applied to steam room & sauna. Fire Alarm went off on Friday night due to someone smoking in their room, all guests asked to stand outside but very little information given as to whether serious or not. Maybe review of fire drill needed. Deacon restaurant very expensive & so were drinks in the lounge bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temple, London

Refurbished, comfortable, well appointed room

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bedroom and well appointed shower room, apparently newly refurbished. A quiet location a little way out of Town but easily accessible.
Cons: Waiting staff need to look after those arriving later for a weekend breakfast; laying up tables should not distract from attentive service.
Location: It is a fair walk down the drive to Abingdon Road and into Town but do make the effort on route to explore the City of dreaming spires and its history
This was a last minute choice, recommended by the staff at my original choice, which was full. Although more distant from the City centre it was just about walkable. Shame the main lift in the reception area was out of order - this left us with a rather lengthy walk to another lift, with no offer of help with luggage from staff. The corridors are very long and signage back to reception and the restaurant and bar is not the clearest. Having been informed that the room and bathroom had been refurbished we were not disappointed. The room, arranged as a twin bedder for our stay, was well thought out and very comfortable. The shower room was large with towels aplenty. Nice to have opening windows in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The restaurant was not full by the time we arrived for breakfast with forty minutes before service stopped. The staff seemed very preoccupied in clearing and relaying the tables for the next meal. When we did attract their attention they were helpful. Cooked to order poached eggs for one of us and poached eggs and brown toast for the other arrived promptly on piping hot plates. The usual cooked breakfast items on the help yourself buffet were uninspiring but of reasonable quality. Patisserie items were good as was the small selection of continental cheese and sliced meats. Because the wrapped butter pats were not displayed on ice the few left were almost at melting point. We had to ask twice for more to be brought. Overall a good four out of five.