Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Two night stay, attending a wedding nearby.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Cons: I would prefer a small fridge in the room to keep water and milk cool. Tea and coffee facilities in the room very basic.
Location: Walking distance to the centre of Oxford. The nearby walk through Christ Church Meadows to the Botanic Gardens can be recommended.
Nice clean room, pleasant staff, good car parking. Excellent fish & chips bar meal whilst watching the Masters golf on TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Horsham

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The room was large and clean.
Cons: The two chairs in the bedroom were more like dining room chairs than chairs to relax in and watch tv.
Location: The location was great. It was close to the city centre but had the feeling it was in the countryside. We enjoyed the riverside path walk into town.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Oxford Spires Hotel. We were only there for one night so cannot review the restaurant or the leisure facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Would have been great if bed comfortable

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: great location, haddock for breakfast
Cons: new quality mattress required urgently - just not to the same standard as rest of hotel which was good
Location: Enjoyable riverside walk on easy path into Oxford simple to access from hotel.
Pool rather small but warm, sauna very small, steam room smallish but very good. Bed was worst we have slept (or actually attempted sleep) in for years - springs painfully evident. Did report to hotel - first time we have complained about a bed in many many years. Such a great shame that an otherwise fine hotel was let down by not getting an essential right. In most respects this is a good hotel, some aspects are indeed approaching first class. We do hope that they invest in normal or better hotel beds so that we can stay here again in the future. All other hotels and B and B's we have used in the last 10 years have had at least acceptable mattresses. Other than the bed the room was good. Bathroom better than average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Around a 20 mins walk along the River Thames to the City centre. Save the trouble of finding car parks down town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spires in Feb

Posted Mar 2, 2015
This has the feel of a well run hotel. Staff were standout helpful and polite. Lots of staff so someone always available to help. Impressed by cleanliness - very high. The hotel location is good and there is a lovely short walk into town by the river. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: see the overall rating!
Used as convenient hotel to visit daughter. - have stayed before and will do so again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Excellent location a short walk into Oxford City centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom worcestershire

Lovey for a stop over

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Location only 20 mins walk into town.
Nice room. Breakfast really nice, lots of staff which is great. Shame we were only staying for a night for a friends bday so we didn't get a chance to use any of the leisure facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was well located and we were well looked after. The decor, rooms, restaurant etc do look a bit dated and it could all do with a bit of modernising. Walking distance to everything in Oxford, and in a nice location near the river it is ideal for a short stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom Glasgow

Good Hotel, close to centre

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Well located hotel approximately 20 minute walk from the centre of Oxford.We had an upgraded balcony room which was spacious with a 4-poster bed, balcony (with table & chairs) and a flat screen TV; good size bathroom; in-room safe (although not large enough for a laptop). There was a complimentary mini-bar (very lightly stocked). Generous buffet breakfast with good selection of hot & cold dishes.