Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Wonderful location and hospitality

Posted May 30, 2015
A 15-20 minute walk along the river to Oxford. Beautiful accommodations and attentive staff. I'd go back in a minute.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex

Like an old people's home

Posted May 28, 2015
Just dated and not very classy at all. Really overpriced for what it is even for Oxford
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted May 26, 2015
Upon arrival room not ready despite checking after checkin time with 3 hours notice of arrival time, hotel not a 4* due to lact of facilities to cater for all guests, shower not fully working, no advertised aircon, all in all a bad experience with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
Hotel was ok but definitely not worth the money. Deluxe double room and you could feel the springs in the mattress!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent, pleasant hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The location, the breakfast, the scenery - my room looked out on a meadow filled with horses.
Location: The location was fabulous and made it easy to get to food, shops, walking/running, the river.
I stayed here for five nights for a business trip. I found it to be a convenient, comfortable location and with decent amenities. There is a quick path to the Thames River Walk, which provided a few miles of walking, running, and people watching. This also provided an easy way to get to the town center. You could the mile or so to the center by way of the sidewalk or you can go to the river path and avoid a bit of the traffic. I found the breakfast to be good and was very pleased they served small pots of coffee (I am American). I would have wished it opened a bit earlier but I am an early riser. I wished I could have had a mini-refrigerator in my room so I could have stocked up on a few things for my lunches. I also wished the gym/fitness room was open longer hours. But I would definitely go back here in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

City Hotel in a Pastoral Setting

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and clean room. Wonderful spa at no additional cost.
Comfortable, clean, and convenient hotel within walking distance to city center, yet with a view of trees and a pasture outside the window. The spa was very nice. Breakfast on the costly side and should have been, at a minimum, at a reduced cost to guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with nice facilities, food not good.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location and green surroundings
Cons: Food. Get a new chef!
Hotel staff are professional and helpful, the place is well-maintained, clean, and the room was very comfortable. The pool is small, but also well-maintained and the grounds are beautiful. The wifi worked well, even on streaming video in the room. For the price, I expected a breakfast that had some flavour. It is hard to do bland eggs, sausage and mushrooms, but they were literally tasteless and the yogurt was clearly a low-budget bulk purchase. Likewise the fruit to go on it. On the 2nd day, I declined the breakfast thinking it wasn't worth the calories... I had room service for dinner one night--a bland curry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cardiff

Great hotel near the centre

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We upgraded to the deluxe rooms in eastwyke house and were really glad we did. They had more of an a unique feel with exposed beams and dark wood. The bathroom was beautiful with the roll top bath and clarins toiletries. We did feel there were a lot of warning stickers in the bathroom which ruined the look but understand why they needed to be there except the shower one stating to put the shower curtain in the bath first (bit weird as it was a cubicle shower with a glass door. We did feel like as it was a deluxe room maybe the tea and coffee could have been a bit better than tetley and nescafe but loved the chocolate and biscuits. Very comfy nights sleep. Nice quiet pool with good sauna and steam room. Changing facilites didn't feel like high quality for the hotel but were adequate. Overall only small things and wouldn't put us off staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Two night stay, attending a wedding nearby.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Cons: I would prefer a small fridge in the room to keep water and milk cool. Tea and coffee facilities in the room very basic.
Location: Walking distance to the centre of Oxford. The nearby walk through Christ Church Meadows to the Botanic Gardens can be recommended.
Nice clean room, pleasant staff, good car parking. Excellent fish & chips bar meal whilst watching the Masters golf on TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Horsham

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The room was large and clean.
Cons: The two chairs in the bedroom were more like dining room chairs than chairs to relax in and watch tv.
Location: The location was great. It was close to the city centre but had the feeling it was in the countryside. We enjoyed the riverside path walk into town.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Oxford Spires Hotel. We were only there for one night so cannot review the restaurant or the leisure facilities.