Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good tourist hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Facilities and location
Cons: Pillows , beds
Location: See oxford things to do
Whilst the hotel has good facilities- pool, gym, and is close to the centre of oxford- the beds and pillows particularly were second rate. With a little attention to detail this could be a great hotel given the location and facilities, the staff were also very good. Our room has a cracked toilet and chipped bath which are simple things to remedy, the fact that these were not seen to shows a sad lack of attention by management so in conclusion the staff are let down by a tardy management team / manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Pleasant hotel close to Oxford

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The room was a good size with a lovely view across the meadows. We saw deer from our bedroom window which was not expected.
Cons: The mattress was very hard and lumpy and the staff in the restaurant were rather too attentive.
Location: A lovely walk along the river into Oxford. Many places of interest, particularly if you like history and art. I would recommend the Pitt Rivers Museum
A pleasant hotel with good access to Oxford if you don't mind a 15 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Relaxing Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Comfy and relaxing rural setting
Cons: Rm 1, next to lobby door isn't ideal for sleep. Perhaps some signage asking people to keep quiet in the hall & be respectful of sleeping guests.
Location: Loved the town of Oxford - so beautiful and interesting
My son and I stayed at the Oxford Spires towards the end of our busy European/UK trip and found it the hotel to be a welcome, peaceful and relaxing place to stay! The hotel is set in a rural neighborhood and we could watch horses grazing in the pasture from our window. Hotel staff were very nice, enjoyed the pool and facilities. Would definitely stay here again but we would ask for a different room as ours (#1) was situated next to the lobby doors and was quite noisy all morning with guests laughing, and yelling for their families down the hallway. We were up anyway so it wasn't an issue for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Good Location for a Weekend break

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Very clean, nice staff, friendly feel and its proximity to the city centre.
Cons: Only complaint - although the bed was made, room not cleaned til late on the Saturday. Maid knocked at 08.30 to check we were checking out that day.
Location: Ten mins walk to city centre shops, bars and restaurants, passing river with boats to hire/trips on the way. Several cinemas in city. Meadow walks.
Weekend break with my nineteen yr old daughter. We wanted to shop one day and relax on the second. Perfect location and facilities for this. Although hotel was busy, did not experience any noise to speak of. Nice grounds, surrounded by greenery. Huge car park. Rooms nicely decorated, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron etc. Nice modern bathroom all well equipped and very clean. Bed and pillows not particularly comfortable but it was only two nights. The Deacon's restaurant seemed to have a reasonably priced menu but the Bar Menu was even better with more choce and quite reasonable and with waiter service too if required. Food was very nice, we had dinner and lunch the following day and ate in a city restaurant the second night. We used the gym which was adequately equipped, the pool is small but had a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. We didn't use the Beauty Rooms but the prices were as you would expect. Perfect location, just a ten minute walk from the south side into the centre of the city for the river, the shops and just a little further for the Ashmolean museum and college buildings etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swansea wales

Perfect for being close to Oxford City

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Easy to find helpful and polite staff - good facilities. Will definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Oxford centre in rural ambience.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Excellent though ventilation poor - in corridors it was non existent. In hot weather wide open windows meant exterior noise from fellow guests in grounds
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Busy and noisy

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Very good staff and facilities excellent. Trouble with noise above sorted straight away. Breakfast only fair as hot food was cold!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Maine USA

Lilies to Oxford shops and nice areas to eat here

Posted Jun 30, 2014
We were happy to be here. Beds are uncomfortable but everything se was very good. Staff is A plus. The food was nice and the people were helpful to us. Only one crabby desk manager who has been there awhile, but everyone else was great! All of the work staff works hard! Wait staff were wonderful !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

attending a gig in the city

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: location, quality, ample parking, nice surroundings.
Location: approx. 10 min stroll to the Thames and the edge of the city centre. Good position for gig goers
clean, comfortable hotel, with nice size rooms. attentive staff, shortish and pleasant walk to citu bars, pubs etc,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel fairly close to central Oxford

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Helpful staff, pleasant surroundings, good draught beer, easy to find location