Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the countryside close to Oxford

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Gardens, very quiet setting
Excellent place to stay if you're visiting Oxford - beautiful gardens on the Thames. Had dinner in the restaurant and found it excellent - good food, good service, good wine list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Lovely hotel but very noisy

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The beautiful grounds and views from the rooms
Cons: More consideration could be given to guests not involved in functions who have as much right to use the facilities as those attending functions
Location: Beautiful situation in a quiet village very handy for Oxford we used the Park and Ride to get into Oxford
We stayed 2 nights at this hotel it is a beautiful hotel lovely clean comfortable large rooms, great food friendly staff however due to other functions, weddings and corporate days the hotel is not for those who want a quiet peaceful stay. Some parts of the hotel were given over to private functions ( the outside courtyard) which was disappointing as due to the warm weather we would have liked to have sat outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

convenient to work

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful appointment, well maintained
Cons: See above experience
Location: Only there one night was convenient to work. Did not have time to explore.
Badly needed rest at the end of a stressful week. Checked in, asked about dinner reservation (gave time) asked about wake up call (gave time). No reservation at restaurant upon arrival, no wake up call - just as well I was not on an early flight. Woken early as doors of rooms do not close without a slam. went for breakfast and asked the waitress about the bill - she clearly did not know English and did not have the intuition to let someone else know I was asking a question. In Canada, in Ottawa, you CANNOT get a service job if you can't speak to or understand the customers. I have no objection to hiring people from foreign countries, but I do expect to be able to talk to them and have them understand me. Too bad, otherwise would have been a good stay. Gym facilities were excellent, food quality was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

It was a nice hotel in a nice location.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location, atmosphere and general ambience were very good.
Cons: The bed.
Location: Basically it is close to Oxford.
The room was very pleasant but the bed was a disaster. It was meant to be a double but it was more like a single and a bit too soft. Otherwise everything else was really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ideal for Oxford

Posted Jun 23, 2014
A lovely hotel with plenty of character, spacious, comfortable rooms and beautiful gardens. Friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mick from Leigh On Sea. ESSEX

Excellent hotel adjacent to the river Thames

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location, food, staff
Cons: Private changing for the swimming pool. Cleaners reporting issues like noisy bathroom fan.
Location: Very handy for all things to do with Oxford. Backs on to the river
Went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary so we wanted something a little special. What we got was an excellent hotel set in some 30 acres of its own grounds with its own jetty from which you can catch river cruise boats. The food was fine dining and excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel facilities were not extensively used by us but were available for our use should we have required it. Easy access to the centre of Oxford via the T2 bus route which stops at the end of the hotel's approach road. The only small niggles were the communal ladies' changing room for the swimming pool, an excessively noisy bathroom extractor fan and slightly noisy bed ! We'll definitely be returning for another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen

Lovely hotel in a quiet location

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The grounds are beautiful and the decor, furnishings, fittings and food are excellent.
Cons: We occasionally struggled to understand a couple of the staff as although their vocabulary was excellent their accent was quite heavy.
Location: 10 minutes away from Oxford by car.
We stayed for a weekend intending to visit Oxford and Blenheim. The hotel is well placed for visiting Oxford especially if you want to retreat from the bustle of the city at the end of the day. There is ample, free parking and the hotel is well signposted from the dual carriageway. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking part of the grounds. It was large and furnished in a contemporary, comfortable style with a king size bed. In general the room was very clean, however there were unpleasant white stains on the carpet outside the bathroom and on the seat of the armchair. The bathroom was a good size and there was a nice range of complimentary good quality toiletries. The room was dark enough to sleep well due to the quality of the curtains and despite two weddings in the hotel we never heard any noise outside the room, even though we are both light sleepers who go to bed early. The breakfast buffet was varied: cereals, breads, pastries, cold meats, traditional cooked breakfast and all of the items were fresh. The conservatory where breakfast is served was also bright and airy which was welcome in the morning. The food in the restaurant in the evening was also excellent and the service was attentive without being intrusive. There is a real sense of personal service here and we would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dean from oh

On the Thames near Oxford

Posted May 27, 2014
Nice hotel, with beautiful grounds. The program wants more but they do a good job, so there is not much to add.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by neilc from Wiltshire

A great overnight stay

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only thing to mention is that breakfast was not included, and was expensive .... so just beware of that one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com