Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands

Attractive hotel close to Oxford

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Character of the building, clean and tastefully decorated
Cons: A few little extras in the room that make the price more justifiable
Location: Just outside the city centre. Would recommendations to a park and ride. Canal close by and a lovely little pub by a lock behind the hotel
Clean and pleasant standard room. Rather pricey if you choose not to use the pool, gym etc Room was more basic than expected with limited 'extras'. Excellent buffet breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Herts

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Enjoyed a nice stay here on Valentines Day. Accomodation and surroundings excellent. Restaurant very classy with good service. Plan to go back in the summer when the grounds can be fully utilised. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

好评!

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
环境很好的乡村式酒店,停车也很方便,服务人性化
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent as expected

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
Having stayed here numerous times in the past, our latest two night break did not disappoint......a joy and a pleasure as always!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholafrom Colchester

Very comfortable

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable lounge area great spa facilities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexandrafrom Gloucestershire

Pleasant hotel, frustrating service

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having booked the room for two people, we got in there to find that it was set up for one. We arrived around 2130 and phoned for another couple of pillows. After something over 20 minutes housekeeping arrived with one pillow. So we had to stay up and wait for him to come back with another. When I discovered there was only one set of towels I really couldn't face trying to get any more. The receptionist was chewing gum on duty, which was not great for customer facing staff. Other than that, the hotel was very pleasant from what we saw on our very brief stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charlesfrom Macclesfield UK

great rooms average food poor bar service

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is very good for accommodation. Room large , well appointed and excellent Clarin toiletries . The spa facilities are good but on the small side ie pool is small and only one person provides the facials massages etc. This means as a couple we would have had to wait until one person was finished before the other could start. Really expected to be treated at the same time. The hotel is let down on two fronts. The bar which tends not to be manned so you have to wait a while for someone to notice your presence. Bar prices are very high too , more than many 4 star London hotels. The River Restaurant food is a little disappointing, lack of variation and average quality. Expect better for the price. Chefs need some inspiration as the menu only changes every 3 months. Please note that as a base and nice surroundings , less than an hours walk along the river into Oxford it is very good. Just suggest drinking and eating elsewhere. The Catherine Wheel pub is at the end of the drive to the right and the Kings Arms on the river side with good food a few 100 metres past the church, easy walking distance. The manager did take time to discuss my comments and hopefully some of my advice may help improve the bar service in particular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peterfrom Bourne End

Brilliant Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked the Four Pillars at quite short notice but were extremely pleased with the levels of service, food and room quality. And the hotel is by the Thames too. Over all one of the best 4*hotels that we have booked with for quite some time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Junefrom Aberdeen

Great hotel treat - RUINED by road closure!

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were trapped in the hotel grounds by unplanned and un-pre-notified road closure due to the local marathon race! Could not leave to reach the airport - missed our flights, had to rebook at GREAT expense. NOT the hotel's fault, but it spoiled our "treat" weekend....thank you OXFORD CITY COUNCIL!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johannesfrom Stockholm

Lantlig lyx

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Jättefint lantligt lyx-hotell en bra bit utanför Oxford. För en hundralapp tar en taxi dig till de centrala delarna. på hotellet har de en proper engelsk restaurang med utsikt över en fantastisk trädgård. Här serveras en utsökt frukost. Missa inte deras spa-del. Även om den är aningen sliten har den en rejäl pol och två sorter bastu. Rummen är små men väl inredda och rena.