Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Good hotel in a central location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast was poor
Location: One the edge of the city central area, close to places of interest. Tour bus stop is next to the hotel
No lift but Good 3-star hotel. Excellent staff, breakfast could be better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel could not honour our booking

Posted Jul 13, 2014
My poor review of this hotel is informed by what happened yesterday evening when we tried to check in. We arrived at approx. 5.45pm to be told that the Royal Oxford could not honour our booking as there had been a flood. No attempt had been made by the hotel to phone or email me regarding this matter. The staff had rebooked us into a nearby hotel for £100, but did not explain that it was in fact a budget hotel of a much lower standard than the Royal Oxford. I understand that Saturday in Oxford in July is very busy but I feel the Royal Oxford should have attempted to find us an alternative room with a hotel at an equivalent or higher standard and have offered to pay any price difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Close proximity to central Oxford and rail.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel was clean and tidy and service was lovely. Only thing of note was the view from our ion was over an airconditioning u it and the door to the room crashed into the bed and wouldn't fully open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for Oxford

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Not the most glamorous hotel, but really clean, nice staff, decent bed. Plus you get not only free wifi, but also biscuits, fruit, and a chocolate on the pillow (as well as the usual tea tray stuff). Parking is easy and only five pounds overnight. We know Oxford well, and thought this was good value. Some people might find it just a little a bit noisy from outside, but it wasn't bad for a Saturday night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Functional and close enough

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfectly nice room, location and price. Very close to train.
3 out of 5
by Citybreakers

Good location near station.

Posted May 4, 2014
Nice and very helpful staff. Hotel could do with a lift. Basically just a room for the night and no other facilities eg a lounge/bar to relax. Room was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dave

Good location

Posted May 2, 2014
Great location, very helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast was pricey but nice. Downside was my took was on the first floor and over looking the busy junction do traffic noise was a bit of an issue. So request a room on a higher floor at the back. I got an unrequested alarm call at 7.00 so make sure you check no alarm call is booked if you don't want one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: So close to the centre of Oxford so everything is available!
Excellent location being a two minute walk to the train station and seven minute walk to the bus depot. The hotel is not fancy but staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was moderately sized but large enough to accommodate an extra bed. The bathroom was large and shower excellent. The hotel is situated between three busyish roads with a nightclub up the road, but we found the room quiet enough with earplugs. There is no elevator but help is available to manage bags; however, the stairs might be a problem for those with physical limitations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pete from Arizona, USA

Close to rail station and city

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient. Able to walk to Oxford city center. Noisy at night due to its location. Walking distance from train station and bus station. Not surrounded by good shops. Limited restaurant around. Clean rooms. Excellent service. Room size little small. Kept hitting corner of table while going to bathroom because the space between table and bed was so tight.