Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel could not honour our booking

Posted Jul 13, 2014
My poor review of this hotel is informed by what happened yesterday evening when we tried to check in. We arrived at approx. 5.45pm to be told that the Royal Oxford could not honour our booking as there had been a flood. No attempt had been made by the hotel to phone or email me regarding this matter. The staff had rebooked us into a nearby hotel for £100, but did not explain that it was in fact a budget hotel of a much lower standard than the Royal Oxford. I understand that Saturday in Oxford in July is very busy but I feel the Royal Oxford should have attempted to find us an alternative room with a hotel at an equivalent or higher standard and have offered to pay any price difference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Close proximity to central Oxford and rail.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel was clean and tidy and service was lovely. Only thing of note was the view from our ion was over an airconditioning u it and the door to the room crashed into the bed and wouldn't fully open.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for Oxford

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Not the most glamorous hotel, but really clean, nice staff, decent bed. Plus you get not only free wifi, but also biscuits, fruit, and a chocolate on the pillow (as well as the usual tea tray stuff). Parking is easy and only five pounds overnight. We know Oxford well, and thought this was good value. Some people might find it just a little a bit noisy from outside, but it wasn't bad for a Saturday night.
3 out of 5
by Citybreakers

Good location near station.

Posted May 4, 2014
Nice and very helpful staff. Hotel could do with a lift. Basically just a room for the night and no other facilities eg a lounge/bar to relax. Room was fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dave

Good location

Posted May 2, 2014
Great location, very helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast was pricey but nice. Downside was my took was on the first floor and over looking the busy junction do traffic noise was a bit of an issue. So request a room on a higher floor at the back. I got an unrequested alarm call at 7.00 so make sure you check no alarm call is booked if you don't want one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: So close to the centre of Oxford so everything is available!
Excellent location being a two minute walk to the train station and seven minute walk to the bus depot. The hotel is not fancy but staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was moderately sized but large enough to accommodate an extra bed. The bathroom was large and shower excellent. The hotel is situated between three busyish roads with a nightclub up the road, but we found the room quiet enough with earplugs. There is no elevator but help is available to manage bags; however, the stairs might be a problem for those with physical limitations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Business trip to Oxford

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Location was good, staff friendly. Hotel is very handy for a quick business trip to Oxford.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TOO EXPENSIVE FOR WHAT IT'S

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: staff service
Cons: It must be cheaper
Location: Location is convinient as it's just 5 minutes to the centre
Not value for money. I can pay 144 pounds per night for something much much better than this Hotel. The building and the rooms are not as good as we thought; it's old. However, the service is very good from the recepcionists. Thanks they have an agreement with a car park nearby, and we pay just 10 pounds for two days.
2 out of 5
by Pete from Upstate New York

Royal Oxford Hotel (close to Oxford rail station)

Posted Mar 16, 2014
My room was clean and comfortable, but the hotel is much too expensive for what it offers. The neighborhood is not very appealing, Breakfast was not included in the cost of the room. It was expensive and it was not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not much choice in Oxford

Posted Mar 8, 2014
feels like in the 70-ies, clean, basic, v small rooms but they really do care