Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Geordie5from Newcastle upon Tyne

Great for access to colleges

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Went to stay for college open days and was perfect. We arrived late from a long drive from Newcastle upon Tyne and key was left for us. Great having a parking place and being able to walk to colleges. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jimfrom vancouver

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff. Breakfast was good. Location is perfect if you have a car because there is parking at the hotel and you can easily walk into the center of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Helenafrom Zurich

You get what you paid for

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cute and charming but very noisy due to old windows.Good value for money but be sure to bring earplugs (also breakfast only from 7:30 to 8:30 which is a bit annoying)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel convenient to central Oxford

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Staff very helpful. An electrical problem caused some of the bedroom lights not to work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful atmosphere and fascinating old building

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Friendly, relaxed community atmosphere set by the host (and frequently the locals downstairs!) Many of the things listed by other reviewers as drawbacks (low ceilings, narrow twisting stairs and split levels) are essential to the character - and indeed the charm - of the building, and after spending all day admiring old buildings around Oxford it makes perfect sense to enjoy this.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Helenfrom Phoenix az

Old Black Horse Inn oxford England

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pictures of hotel posted on line were very deceiving and taken when the Inn was in great shape. There is a bar on the bottom floor that can get very noisy! Ask for room on back, street side is also noisy
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Benfrom Preston

The last resort

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked here as usuall choices were full. Paid a similar price as normally do for a decent 3 or 4 star hotel. Much as the landlord is a friendly chap, the place is a dump. Rooms tucked away up in the attic down a corridor designed for hunchbacks, with a final staircase you have to contort your body round - not really suitable for anybody over 4 feet tall. And the room smelt of old dog. I would recommend avoiding this at all costs - I'd rather sleep in my car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lancasterfrom Dorset

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I were welcomed on our arrval by Peter, taken to our room and made to feel at home. We enjoyed a comfortable stay and visited many of Oxford's colleges and universities. The Bus services were excellent and the combined tour of bus and boat were very good. We would recommend this Inn/hotel to anyone wishing to visit Oxford it has lots of OldeWorlde charm.
2 out of 5
by Richard

Cheap and dirty

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Price and location and the free parking
Cons: Clean the place.
The Hotel is in the downtown area and has a secure car park that is free for guests, but I found it to be a bit rundown and dirty. The rooms are over a pub and at night it is like bar with many customers drinking and smoking and the noise can be heard in the room. The carpet in the stairway is very dirty and needs to be replaced. It gave me an uneasy feeling. I would not stay there again. The food for breakfast was ok, but not exceptional the sended day we went out for breakfast. Concerns about the cleanliness of the place made me uneasy about the eating there.