Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comments for Hotel for purpose of stay in Oxford

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: there was a good car park which was flexible.
Cons: Staff were reasonably friendly but accomodation was very basic and I did not think came up to standard
Location: the Hotel was central to the town which was convenient
i would say the hotel was only 'adequate' and I would not stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Run down hotel in built up noisy area

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Most expensive poor quality hotel I have ever stayed. Expected a nice, quaint 17th Century Coaching House, ended up in hotel not fit to be used as a Stable !! Booked in for 2 nights, checked out after 1. Manager / Owner couldn't have cared less. Take my advice, avoid at all costs !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fine but nothing special

Posted Jul 17, 2014
This place is a mixed bag. Location is great - minutes walk from other pubs, cafes and restaurants. I went to a Thai restaurant nearby that was fantastic. The building itself is lovely - a very old one complete with original beams, low ceiling etc. The staff were pleasant and helpful. My room was fine - a few things missing like the sink plug but overall it was decorated to a high standard. The bed was comfy. The hallway to the rooms is in need of redecoration, and there was lots of paint pots and building materials left in random corners. To me that didn't matter much, but it doesn't give a great impression. Wifi was strong in my room and this was provided free of charge. The cooked breakfast wasn't very nice - sausages and bacon cooked rare and the whole thing was a little tasteless. Like other reviews have said, it's in a slightly noisy location next to a busy road - fine for me as I can sleep through anything, but others may want to take that into consideration. The pub downstairs seemed OK - a number of regulars were in there. Overall I thought it was OK for a night's stay but the main reason for 3 stars is that I felt it was overpriced - for £125 I would just expect a better overall standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel convenient to central Oxford

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Staff very helpful. An electrical problem caused some of the bedroom lights not to work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful atmosphere and fascinating old building

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Friendly, relaxed community atmosphere set by the host (and frequently the locals downstairs!) Many of the things listed by other reviewers as drawbacks (low ceilings, narrow twisting stairs and split levels) are essential to the character - and indeed the charm - of the building, and after spending all day admiring old buildings around Oxford it makes perfect sense to enjoy this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lancaster from Dorset

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I were welcomed on our arrval by Peter, taken to our room and made to feel at home. We enjoyed a comfortable stay and visited many of Oxford's colleges and universities. The Bus services were excellent and the combined tour of bus and boat were very good. We would recommend this Inn/hotel to anyone wishing to visit Oxford it has lots of OldeWorlde charm.
2 out of 5
by Richard

Cheap and dirty

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Price and location and the free parking
Cons: Clean the place.
The Hotel is in the downtown area and has a secure car park that is free for guests, but I found it to be a bit rundown and dirty. The rooms are over a pub and at night it is like bar with many customers drinking and smoking and the noise can be heard in the room. The carpet in the stairway is very dirty and needs to be replaced. It gave me an uneasy feeling. I would not stay there again. The food for breakfast was ok, but not exceptional the sended day we went out for breakfast. Concerns about the cleanliness of the place made me uneasy about the eating there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David from USA

Historic charm

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Old Black Horse Inn is a great example of a historic English inn - bar on first floor, lodging above. The inn dates back to 1680. Although the age of the inn means that doorways are low and quarters are small, the rooms have been modernized to include up-to-date bathrooms, lighting, and fixtures and were well-appointed. The proprietor was very helpful, and the traditional English breakfast included some of the best bacon I've ever had!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
NOT NICE..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RPC from Staffs

Adequately comfortable

Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was just right for my needs, and reasonable value for money.