Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom W.Isles

Not premium

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Handy for getting into Oxford by bus
Cons: Decor was tired, chairs in dining room (yellow ones) were really dirty and grubby looking. Extras should be provided if advertised. More tea bags.
Location: City of Oxford was beautiful, enjoyed tour of Bodleian Library, various colleges and Blenheim Palace. Ate out at a Lebanese Restaurant, Al Salam, VG
We booked a premium room, it was a lovely large room, but the decor and fittings were all tired and worn looking. We were supposed to have lots of extras such as gowns, water, but all we got were 2 tea bags! It just felt like it was run down. When we reported the fact the safe wouldn't work, we were told it was because they were being upgraded, the weirdest excuse ever! Nothing to set the premium room apart or make it special. However the staff were all very pleasant and polite. The bus was handy for getting into the city centre. I don't even feel like it was value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Comfortable hotel in convenient location

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Short bus ride into the city centre.
Cons: The pool was quite small.
Location: Ashmolean Museum, Pitt Rivers Museum, Oxford University and parks.
The Oxford Hotel was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. The gym and spa area are a descent size and the food was good too.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom birmingham

Not worth the price

Posted Feb 16, 2015
On arrival I was told I had room only, for £106.50 I thought breakfast was included, and a £50 deposit on a card just incase of charges applies, after finding my room through the crystal maze, it was freezing when I walked in, and the TV had four channels Wasn't the worst hotel I've stopped in, but far from the best
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: 1) The Staff 2) the location
Cons: 1) The room needed complete refurbishment. . 2) Standard of breakfast very poor
I can only comment on the room and breakfast as I didn't use the leisure facilities. The hotel was generally tired. I had a standard double room. It was small, in need of a refurb and the sink was cracked. My friends who were in the room next to mine said that their sink was very badly cracked. Breakfast was basic and dissapointing, For example, the scrambled egg was obviously powdered egg and completely tasteless. Having said that, the staff were helpful and courteous and did offer us an alternative room. For the sake of one night we did not bother. If you do not intend to use the leisure facilities the standard double room is not worth £100-150 per night. However, someone who makes full use of the facilities may have a diferent oppinion
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

드물게 보증금 제도가 난감하게 하였다

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: 객실이 다른 곳에 비해 깨끗하고 좋았다. 와이파이도 불편 없이 사용했다.
Cons: 직원들의 친절한 응대와 노화된 커피포트 완비 그리고 보증금 환불에 대해 안내 그리고 엘리베이터 설치 또는 안내 솔직히 옥스퍼드에 다른 적절한 호텔이 있었다면 다른 곳으로 이동하겠음
Location: 주위에 주택가에다가 편의점 시설이 없어서 아쉬임
직원들이 너무 불친절했다. 엘레베이터가 없고 만약 있었다면 안내도 없었다. 2층인데 힘들게 짐을 들고 올라갔다. 그리고 여행기간동안 여러 곳에 머물었는데 보증금 제도가 있었다. 그리고 체크 아웃할때 영수증 주면 환불해 준다고 해서 체크 아웃하면서 환불에 대해 물어봤는데 이상한 남자직원이 무표정 얼굴로 답변을 잘 안해줬다. 그리고 커피포트는 열선에 녹이 슬어 교체해달라고 내려갔더니 뭐가 문제냐고 대답했다. 황당하게 쳐다봤더니 옆에 있는 다른 직원이 교체해줬다. 새것으로 해줘서 만족했지만 처음 대응한 여직원이 화가 난다. 그리고 보증금을 카드로 지불했을때 승인이 되었는데 환불에 대한 카드 승인은 없었습니다. 보증불 환불 여부 확인 부탁드립니다.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BEDFORD

CLOSE TO OXFORD

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: THE QUILITY OF THE PICTURE ON THE TELEVISION. ( ONLY NEEDED TO CATCH UP ON THE NEWS )
Location: ALTHOUGH OUR STAY WAS NOT FOR VISITING OXFORD THE LOCATION OF THE HOTEL IS PERFECT
WE DID READ A COUPLE OF BAD REVIEWS ABOUT THE HOTEL, ie STAFF NOT VERY FRIENDLY, SMALL ROOMS etc. THIS COULD NOT BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH, EVERY MEMBER OF STAFF GREETED US WHEN ENTERING OR LEAVING THE HOTEL, THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD AND COVERED THE NEEDS OF EVERYBODY. THE GENTLEMAN ON RECEPTION WAS VERY HELPFUL, WHEN HE SAW THAT I WALKED WITH A STICK HE CHANGED THE ROOM No TO ONE ON THE GROUND FLOOR NOT FAR FROM THE ENTRANCE. THERE WAS EVERYTHING IN THE LARGE BEDROOM THAT YOU COULD NEED FOR A MOST PLEASANT STAY. IT JUST GOES TO SHOW THAT YOU WILL NEVER PLEASE EVERYONE. !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Excellent hotel, easy to get a bus into Oxford town centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Lovely service however not 4 star

Posted Feb 3, 2015
If you like budget old style hotels then it's perfect, If you like clean update modern hotels then not. Breakfast ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near to Oxford town centre

Posted Feb 2, 2015
We arrived at the hotel on Saturday 31st January were our room was ready around 12 noon. Unpacked our luggage then got the bus into town on our return we had a drink in the bar were we found the service ok but alot of empty plates, glasses etc on the table. We booked a meal but found no hot water in the room after 40 mins was told we could use a room up another flight of stairs & we could move into the room but was now late for our meal and it was suggested we moved on our return which was around 10:30pm which we didn't do. Again in the morning we had to go upstairs to reuse the bathroom to shower really not ideal especially when reception didn't check if we had moved rooms so we kept getting people entrying the room!! Overall the stay was ok but I definitely wouldn't go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient for my son's school

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Promised much more than it delivered. Hotel staff couldn't get the Internet to work on either computer in the Business Centre. Room a LONG walk from the reception. No lift. Breakfast average.