Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Improved

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Staff
Location: Right in the middle of Abingdon with a car park so location is very good.
I think the hotel has improved since my last stay about 2 years ago. I had a small single room but it was clean and comfortable .Pleasant staff on reception and Sarah ,bless her ,gave me a coffee and some fruit even tho I was very late for breakfast and offered toast and croissants too. Location with a secure car park next to the river and in the middle of town is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by lina

Great Location

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is the third time we have stayed at the Upper Reaches so we must like it! Overall the service we have experienced has been good. The hotel does need a refurbish has it its looking very tired, needs complete redecoration and carpets throughout. We usually book a suite as we sometimes take our daughter with us and these rooms can easily fit three people in, the only thing i would say about the extra bed is PLEASE!! get rid of the horrible brown blankets that you use, they make our daughter want to bolt the minute we open the door!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Oxford

Posted Sep 18, 2013
We stayed for one night after travelling back form Cornwall on route to Norfolk so we could spend the day on Oxford. Full English breakfast was very good but we felt that the hotel was looking tired and needs a refurbishment.
2 out of 5
by Nick from Warrington, UK

Tired hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Great location on the river and the edge of the town centre, but a dated hotel in need of a revamp. Room small & not particularly clean. Breakfast food was good, although service wasn't great, despite plenty of staff and an empty restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Okay for the price, but not as nice as depicted

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice location in Abingdon that was about 10 minutes drive from Oxford, but the hotel wasn't as nice as depicted online. The hotel itself is a bit faded, but certainly adequate as a place to stay overnight. In sum, okay for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Alizone from London

Beautiful location

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Upper Reaches as part of a walking holiday along the Thames Path. It was perfect for this. The hotel is in an old mill house so the rooms are simple but comfortable. The restaurant serves a good selection of hearty fare and a great cooked breakfast in what looks like the old granary where you can see the mill wheel in action. Our only criticism would be the responsiveness of the restaurant staff on Sunday morning - most of whom seemed to be teenagers more interested in chatting to each other or staring into space than serving the guests.
3 out of 5
by Jc from California, USA

Overpriced, but have had little experience with ho

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: People
Cons: Mattresss
Location: Ok
Mattress was uncomfortable. Dinner was ok, butbwouldn't want to eat there 2 times. Limited choices. People were very helpful, breakfast was great, room was clean! Road was closed. Couldn't get to the hotel. Someone told us where we could park and escorted us to the hotel by foot. Had to get up to move the car in am. I think the road was only closed for one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DebbieS from Warwickshire

Lovely hotel with great service and customer care

Posted Mar 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great hotel. The room was clean and modern with all the amenities you would expect. We had asked for a travel cot and there was one in the room made up with lovely bedding which was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a great location, right next to the river and it would be lovely to sit outside in the summer. We ate in the hotel as this was part of the package and this was a mixed experience. The river runs under the restaurant but you couldn't see this at night which is a shame as it's a great feature. They should light it up. My husband had the parsnip pudding with shallot gravy and it was amazing , so tasty and beautifully presented. It is so nice to have such an imaginative vegetarian option. I had the tuna salad as I wasn't very hungry which is a good job as the salad was very poor. It was some lettuce, tinned tuna and ONE cherry tomato served on a side plate!!! Quite a let down. It was no more than a starter portion though it was not described as this and I had to quickly order some fries. The restaurant was lovely so don't let this put you off, just don't order the tuna salad!! It was great value for money and Abingdon was nice for a little stroll around though there weren't many shops, it's pretty. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JR

Visit to Abingdon

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel - it was raining when we were there but I can see it would be wonderful in the summer - right beside the Thames. We seemed to have missed the fact we had dinner included. It would have been nice if the check in person has said - you have dinner and breakfast included. We went out for a curry which was nice anyway. We had a nice room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2013 on Hotels.com