Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hanover, South Africa

The Barley Mow

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Location: Hever Castle is a muct see if you are in the area! Chartwell house and gardens also worth a visit. Brooklands motor museum an hours drive away.
Quaint comfortable accommodation, which resembled a B&B rather than a hotel.The staff were friendly and helpful. We were served a very generous English breakfast every morning, including in our fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet area, pleasant surroundings

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Couldn't find a fault for the price.
Cons: Will probably need a lick of paint before long and could do with a bit more of a dust!
Location: Only stayed one night but near enough away to get to Caterham for an evening out.
Nice welcome from staff, convenient for where we needed to get to, rooms were pleasant although not sure how the shared bathroom would have worked if you didn't know the people in the adjoining room. Very good, well cooked breakfast, wish we could have tried the dinner. Good value.
3 out of 5
by bev from channel islands

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms especially need a refurb.
Arrived late as car broke down so kitchen was closed. Offered help and advice as to where to eat and arrange taxi to get us to restaurant . Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Room reasonably comfortable but time for a bit of an update! Bar and dining areas clean and comfortable and great choice for breakfast which was excellent. Nice setting and great staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from Cheltenham, UK

Country pub with restaurant.

Posted May 3, 2014
That's exactly what it is! Good pub style food. The ale is excellent, well looked after. Good wine also available. All staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts! But, the accommodation is in serious need of updating. Paint peeling from shower tiles doesn't give a good impression. Mattress and bedding really need to be replaced. There was obviously a lack of 'housekeeping' in the bedrooms too. Would I stay again? Yes, if down that way on business, because I enjoyed the evenings in the bar and the food. But, my wife wouldn't without some reasonable upgrading to the bedroom(s). A few hundred pounds spent on the room would also allow a higher price to be charged. Would I recommend to a friend? As a pub, yes. As a place to stay, possibly not.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Manchester

Really just a room!

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
When it says "restaurant with rooms" it is taken quite literally here, it was just a room and very little else... The bed was small so I couldn't lie straight, the duvet cheap and thin with covers that didn't match and were of dubious cleanliness. Tired decor (if I could even call it decor), no bedside lights just the main light switch by the door. Two hand towels were provided and nothing else for two of us, no bath towels. We were attending a wedding so didn't see anyone other than someone that gave me the key to the room on arrival. We arrived back before midnight and were woken several times by adjacent rooms noisy cisterns for staff toilet visits, I don't think anyone else was staying. No heating evident throughout time in room. We couldn't wait to get out in the morning and didn't see anyone around, just left our key on the bar. So service review is non existent as there wasn't any. Not worth the £70 paid, in fact is struggle with half of that!.. Nice area, probably alright pub, but not worth a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from West Sussex, UK

Nice friendly old pub

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: Food and service
Cons: shower slightly erratic
Location: lovely location in the countryside
Nice old pub, clean and comfortable. Lovely food and friendly staff. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay, will return.
3 out of 5
by Musician from Herts

Think twice before booking a room here

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Cons: Unavoidably having to listen to someone else on the lavatory
I paid £80 for this room and, as a seasoned hotel user, I feel a more appropriate price would have been around £55-£60. The décor was unsophisticated and the towels, although clean, were the sort you would keep at the back of your own airing cupboard; the TV aerial cable went out the window preventing the window from being properly secured; the TV sound did not work and, by the time I discovered this, I was in my nightwear; the wifi connection lacked consistency; the shower temperature was difficult to adjust; I was not asked what time I needed breakfast and the cleaner had to get the breakfast cook out of bed; and, for £80, I do not expect to have to listen to the next door person performing on the lavatory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maggie from Canada

Hidden Gem, excellent food and atmosphere.

Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Repeat visit, just as good as the first time. A welcoming family atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by gloriamundi

Old fashioned pub with rooms

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
The pub has a restaurant which sells standard pub food. The rooms could do with a little smartening up, it is an old pub in a lovely location and if they upgraded the rooms and food a little it could be a stunning destination for east Surrey. We stayed here whilst exhibiting at Biggin Hill Airport and it was about a 15 minute drive, exhibitors who stayed at Bromley, which was much closer to the airport took at least 50 minutes to get there. Room was fairly quiet despite being above the bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

barley mow a warm welcome

Posted Apr 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
staff were very welcoming and helpful,room quite niceand good size .Unfortunately Mattress neeeded replacing on our bed. Breakfast great but standard of food at dinner was not good and certaimly not value for money - disappointing.