Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ocean Isle Beach, NC

Very poor experience - TIME SHARE SOLICITATION

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Our experience at Oyster Bay was very poor. Expedia represented to us that we were reserving 2 duplex room with 2 separate bedrooms and baths. The "duplex" was a loft style room with 1 bedroom. It took 3 hours to check in and in the end we had to pay $800 more dollars to get 2 extra rooms. On top of that we were constantly bombarded by heavy sales pitches to buy a time share. It was extremely noisy with loud music for water aerobics starting at 7:00 a.m. Don't go there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Dawn Beach.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
The staff is very helpful and there are plenty of activities to enjoy. Restaurants on the property have delicious meals. Pool area is lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel, great service, onsite dining, low key

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Great bedding. Nice onsite dining. Very clean. Staff super friendly.
Cons: More music/energy at the pool area, even if it's during the afternoon and the morning stays more relaxed.
Location: Canoa is a great restaurant just a short walk away.
Overall, my friend and I had a great stay. The beds were HEAVENLY. Holy lovely sleep! I would say though that this hotel isn't for young clientele. We felt the guests during our stay were a bit older than we expected. We felt very young for the resort and just wish that we had a much younger crowd so there was a bit more socialization. Not that we needed it to be a party by any means, but just more music by the pool, younger people hanging out all day, some more dancing/night social events. We were a bit removed for the nightlife on the island. So while it was great during the day to be by the pool and beach, it just wasn't that close to Simpson Bay and Maho on Dutch side, or Grand Case and Marigot on the French side. We were able to take cabs frequently and easily and ventured around the island, just if you want to be closer to the "action" I would suggest staying in another area of the island. If you're good with venturing out and want a nice place to relax and unwind, this place is perfect. There are restaurants right in the vicinity that were great as well. Head down to the marina, which was less than a 3 min walk, for a great meal. I would definitely recommend this to people looking for a great place to stay in St. Maarten who don't mind being away from the action.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom delaware

Nothing like the pictures!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Hotel is dated. Staff is very nice. Does not look like anything you see on the pictures. Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

This is a timeshare property and we stayed 2 days

Posted Jan 14, 2015
The location is magnificent on the east coast of St. Maarten at oyster pond the property gives you both a Marina Vista and Atlantic Ocean Vista. We stayed at this property as we could not get the entire vacation booked on Orient bay.we stayed on this property for two days in the hotel rooms, and had a hard sell to become members of the oyster pond beach resort timeshare, Which we declined. The primary residence on this property are either owners or timeshare owners. I would recommend this resort highly however I would not recommend the hotel rooms as they have a foul odor of mustiness or mildew. If you are considering timeshare I would say this would be the place for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford. United Kingdom

Good resort excellent hospitality.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Stayed here for 4 days, on shopping trip with wife. Found the resort to be very clean and tidy, the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Had an amazing taxi driver whom we used on a regular basis to get to Phillipsburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Pearl of Oyster Bay

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: tranquility
Cons: waiting in line at the bar between the courtyard and pool can get congested. If you can't wait for the waitress and need that drink
Location: Orient Beach is close by. Bars and restaurants for dinner.
Had an amazing two night stay pre time share week stay at another resort. But this is very pleasing to your sense's. the views are amazing from the infinity pool. They had free samples of wine and champagne. There are a few bars and restaurant's within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Camillafrom São Paulo / Brasil

Bom hotel, mas poderia estar melhor conservado

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Este é um hotel prático, tem tudo que você precisa para curtir as praias de St Martin. O público do hotel é mais velho, na casa dos 60, 70, 80 anos! e toda a diversão é voltada para este público, as músicas, festas do hotel, enfim, é um hotel preparado para este fim! Os drinks e o restaurante do hotel são muito bons e a localização é ótima.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta,ga

relaxing visit to oyster bay resort

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: clean, quiet and relaxing, great fun staff make you feel at home.
Cons: they have one front end loader trying to keep up with the seaweed on the beach, but dont know how it could be solved, too shallow over reefs to skim.
Location: great location on the water, away from ph'burg, orient beach 15 mins, grand case for gastro food 25 mins away.
visited OBR 2 summers before with timeshare owners and had a very nice vacation.went back this time last minute on expedia and the rate was reasonable for 4 day 3 night in st.maarten. love the location and how quiet it is there compared to simpson bay and its clutter. had a rental to go to orient beach instead of using dawn beach and glad i did because seaweed is a problem there. room was recently renovated so it was very nice and clean and had a balcony with a good partial view of the beach