Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Most enjoyable

Posted Oct 4, 2014
We have stayed here about 3 times now and love the location. It's not easy to find a place in the bay area right on the beach. The restaraunt is so convenient and allows for almost all seating to have a beautiful ocean view. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys an ocean view. Oh, we had booked a bit late and was unable to get an full ocean view, but when we arrived, they upgraded us to a full oceanview room at no extra charge due to a cancellation. Additionally, we were blessed with beautiful weather and an awesome sunset. We will definitely continue to make this our stay when we come to the bay area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close the the beach but....

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The facilities, staff and restaurant were great but the outside condition of hotel needs re-furbishing. Also, our room was described as having a balcony but did not. Although we had partial view of the beach, which was described and fine, most of the view out our slider window was of the rooftop equipment. Not much you can do about that except build a covering which would be to pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2014 by Marty, Hotel Management
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We're disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations and I would appreciate letting us know where you saw our rooms having balconies so that I can correct it. We hope to have you back so that you can enjoy one of our comfortable ocean front rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding, Calif.

No Day at the Beach!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff, and the view.
Cons: Improved cleaning of rug and floors. Addition of air conditioners. Inspection of plumbing problems. Add more packages of coffee, and tea. More soap.
Location: Beautiful location. Incredible site with a lot of places to visit near by.
The Hotel staff is very nice, both at the time of arrival and when I contacted them a month ago. The condition of the Hotel, well needs some work. There is not Air conditioning and the room is very stuffy. When opening the window it was very noisy. The toilet became plugged, but was taken care of quickly by the staff. More bath soap should have been supplied, only one small bar for the bathroom sink was available. The rug was very dirty and stained, and the bathroom floor had some sticky substance on the floor. So the room was too hot, more effort should have been made to shampoo the rug, and clean the bathroom floor. We stayed at this hotel 12 yrs. ago, and their was issues with the plumbing at that time, too. But again the staff was very nice and attentive. Only enough coffee for one person in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles

2-DAY GETAWAY

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Fabulous dining that you can walk to, dancing at night and the wonderful surf right out our room.
Cons: a balcony to sit out on. plan a longer stay.
Location: Location is fabulous. On the beach and great resturants.Golf, surfing, & hiking everywhere!
My husband and I live in Paso Robles and decided we needed a getaway and love the ocean. Your hotel looked perfect on line. The front desk lady was very friendly and gave us lots of information about the area. We took advantage of golf on Saturday which was a beautiful place and not far from the hotel. Stopped at roadside stand for fresh produce. Great time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverbank, CA

Check-in issues

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The location is fabulous the room was nice the only small glitch we had was during check-in. We requested 2 beds and was given one king size. We had our kids with us so that was not going to work. They were apologetic and reassigned us another room, however; the keys did not work. They had us stand and wait in the hallway for about 20 minutes until they brought us a new key. Normally it wouldn't have been a big deal but it was 10:00 at night and I'm sure no matter how quite we tried to be we were disturbing someone. It took us close to 11/2 to get settled in our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N.Cal

Great view

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Great customer service and a good view of the ocean
Cons: The beds and better soundproofing. Remove the wooden barriers on the balconies.
Location: Breakers restaurant next door had good breakfast and okay service.
This trip was for a romantic weekend. The hotel was pretty typical Best Western franchise. The customer service was great, the room was updated and had nice furniture. The bed was lumpy and extremely uncomfortable. The walls and doors are so thin that forget about sleeping in (even if you could with your back hurting), you're going to wake up to your neighbors alarm, and the shower, and all the foot traffic down the hall. I had also called ahead about their ocean view rooms and was told they all had sliding glass door balconies, which you could step out on. After arriving to the room, we found that all you can do is open the sliding glass door, not step outside, because there is a barricade right outside. That was a major disappointment since we had planned on sharing a bottle of champagne on the balcony while we enjoyed the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Vacation in Pacifica

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: location
Location: Excellent restaurant next door called Breakers. Food is amazing and yet reasonable.
I had requested an oceanview room and unfortunately was placed in a poolside room. VERY disappointing. Hotel staff was not very accommodating or apologetic. They were booked so could not accommodate us but could have at least apologized and acted like they cared.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Marty, Hotel Management
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We're disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations and I will share your comments with our staff. We hope to have you back so that you can enjoy one of our comfortable ocean front rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: We liked the easy access into San Francisco.
Cons: We had a few noise issues. I was wondering if the doors between connected room could be sound proofed more?
Location: The location is great. Grocery stores near by. Easy to travel from without being surrounded by noise and bustle.
We stayed 5 nights while we explored the bay area. The room was very clean and all the amenities good. I enjoyed the walk along the coast path.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Enjoyable 8 Night Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!
Location: We enjoyed exploring the Linda Mar Beach just down the road. Nicks across the street from the hotel REALLY does have the BEST crab sandwich!!
We had zero problems with this hotel. Everything was smooth from check-in to check-out. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms were big enough for us and our two children. We really enjoyed the view of the ocean from our room. We slept with the door open every night and were lulled to sleep by the crashing waves. The pool and hot tub were clean and we enjoyed them both. The Sunday brunch at the Moonraker had an amazing view and great food. We were really glad we stayed here vs. in San Francisco. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing location; good food

Posted Jul 31, 2014
I had partial view over the beach which was very nice. The rooms are clean though slightly shabby. There is good food available in the hotel restaurant and in the seafood restaurant over the road. 30 mins drive from the city. Unless that distance is a problem the hotel is highly recommended