Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice location but room smells

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: moonraker restaurant brunch is good eat. Service is excellent and food is nice with seafood included in the brunch. Nice view of ocean while eating.
good location walking distance near ocean and restaurant. Room smells bad. Smooking pit area near elevator so elevator smells cigarete smoke often. Place not good for those with health problem. Seems like comforter not being laundried. Not working hair dryer. Should have paid more for the best western hotel nearby if there was vacancy. Paid 179 for ocean front. Not worth it :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The room was outdated and smelled like stale ..too expensive and you can not even here the waves of the ocean...your best bet is best western lighthouse beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Better than staying downtown San Francisco if you

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: l;ocation
Cons: more pillows, warmer climate
Location: 45 minutes south, the beach at Santa Cruz was awesome. We also visited LA, Holywood, ect. Also went to Yosemite, and Sequoia parks... both awesome.
15 minutes from downtown, so it was close. Parking in SF is expensive though, as is anything else downtown. I hoped being by the beach would be nice, but it is always too cold to enjoy as a normal beach... too cold to lay out, water too cold to swim, always windy, and usually foggy. The hotel itself was OK. The staff were nice enough. My only complaint was a queen size bed with only 2 little pillows. I called and asked for two more, and they were confused, and asked if there were more people in the room... I tried to explain we need 2 pillows each. I never got two extra pillows. The trip itself was nice, and with a rental car, traveled a lot, and got to see a lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

OK Hotel near beach

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Close to beach and restaurants
Cons: Serious upgrades needed
Location: Fantastic breakfast kitty corner to hotel. Others too expensive and too fancy for the area.
Staff very nice but not enough to overcome the shabbiness of this hotel. Nice area with short walk to beach. Terrible continental breakfast. Overpriced big time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from Lodi

For our anniversary

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Great view of the ocean
Cons: Breakfast was a bit lacking, but we didn't stay there for the breakfast.
Location: Beach, ocean, hiking, several nice restaurants nearby. It's a quiet area to relax and enjoy for the most part.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The view was excellent and we slept fitfully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rhea from Phoenix Area

Pacifica

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The view was stunning!
Location: Besides the incredible access to the beach, it was very close to a couple of nice restaurants and shopping.
After checking in and taking our things to our room, we were so pleased. It was a very nice, comfortable and clean room with an absolutely perfect view of the ocean. We were so excited. Unfortunately, we had an emergency at home and couldn't even spend the night. But with the little bit of time we spent there, we are already planning our return trip.
1 out of 5
by Tracy from Reno, NV

Never Again

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: near the ocean
Cons: rooms updated, more electric plugs, windows updated
Location: ocean access, shopping, Starbuck's
Hairdryer did not work, no electric plugs near the desk, barely any plugs in the room, no window screens, Wi-Fi did not work, staff was not interested in hearing about our suggestions for improvement.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy street

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Convenience to travel route
Cons: Noise,
Lots of noise with trucks, etc. at early hours. Maids cleaning carts rumbling along walkways also very noisy. Perhaps the rooms could use more sound proofing insulation or something, but seems the noise factor was amplified.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Stay

Posted May 12, 2014
I enjoyed my stay there. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It's right by the Ocean and very convenient to everything I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Great view, close to beach and only 25 minutes to UCSF.
Great view, close to beach and only 25 minutes to UCSF.