Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Location , peaceful. Food excellent , very rich.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Bug's bugging. It is a jungle. Pool beautiful and entertaining. The graceful, peaceful ground lounging cats tell the story of relaxation. Do not think that phone or internet use will be easy. Overall pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NDC from Washington DC

Retreat Center, Not a Hotel, Per Se

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The food. Meals were a highlight! The setting is beautiful. Everything is very informal. The black sand beach a mile down the road is gorgeous.
Cons: Kalani is expanding. Make sure you're away from the construction, if that will bother you. Don't expect consistently reliable phone service or WiFi.
Location: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, about an hour away by car. Kehena Black Sand Beach, walkable from Kalani. Kapoho tide pools about 10 miles down.
Kalani is a unique place. It's a nonprofit retreat center. You can go there as part of a group or an event, as most do, or just by yourself, as I did. I loved the fact there were no phones or TV's. There is no heat or AC, but you don't need them. Nights can be utterly silent - or not, depending on whether one or more of the ubiquitous coqui frogs, an invasive species, is right outside your screened window. They can be very loud. Bothers some people; others see it as part of the jungle environment. It's dark at night and the stars are beautiful. The food is fantastic, if you like fresh, wholesome fare, heavy on the vegetarian and gluten-free options. The fruit bar in the mornings and salad bar at lunch and dinner are awesome. Staff (mostly volunteers and interns) are unformly friendly, pleasant and helpful. Classes are offered in Hawaiian culture, music, art, dance, massage, self-improvement, meditation, and lots and lots of yoga (they supply the mats if you don't have one). Classes are either free/voluntary donation or $15 a la carte. They also offer many excursions to sites in the area. The Ecstatic Dance session every Sunday morning is an incredible experience. The pool and hot tubs are clothing-optional and available 24/7. Kalani is not for everyone, but if you are seeking an alternative experience or seeking to get outside your normal box, it can be very rewarding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a from y

Beautiful landscaping and rustic flare

Posted Nov 26, 2013
I rented the Bungolows which was pretty basic rooms just screens without windows. Beatles and little creatures were able to get inside as long as you have the lights on at night but they don't bite just a bit annoying. Just have to mind yourself that you are there for the nature and not at a 5 star resort. The food was good and healthy with lots of variety but it is a bit expensive. All in all I will return again but definitely at least stay in the Bungalows or a bamboo cottages.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2013
This was not the hotel I was expecting, but rather seems like an established community that runs a hotel on the side. The two do not fit well together. When using the pool or at meals it felt like the majority of the other people there were residents. The Puna area is very beautiful and off the beaten path, and this is a great location to explore it from but for what we paid we expected higher quality. The rooms are very basic and don't feel quite like a real hotel, for example our bathroom was painted all over (including floor) with swirls and other hand painted embellishments. We enjoyed being out in nature and hearing the frogs and birds in the evenings and mornings. There is no AC but the nights get cool so the fan was enough (barely). The pool was nice and big, be prepared for nudity. The food was good but dinner seemed overpriced. It was a little disturbing to see a dog eating out of a human bowl at breakfast one morning, hopefully they sanitize their dishes well. We enjoyed the area, but would expect to pay more like half of the rates charged for the quality of the room and facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by kansas traveler from kansas

close to volcano

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place is in the jungle- so expect noise and critters.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nadia from moscow

Nice hotel in the jungle

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The atmosphere is absolutely awesome. The room had a stunning view on the ocean. The food was superb
Cons: Add less chlorine to the pool
Location: It is a remote place. You can visit a volcano park. Go snorkeling
I stayed in the hotel for one week. I had a sea view room with a kitchen, balcony and a lounge. You can find a lot of activities there: yoga, hula, dances. The food was delicious
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but meant for a longer stay.

Posted Aug 15, 2013
We stayed here only one night because we came specifically to do the Lava Ocean boat tour the next morning (leaving at 4:30am). This hotel was the closest to the departure point. However, it is definitely a place for a yoga retreat or longer experience to enjoy their various classes. I found it too expensive for our needs (an overnight trip with nothing related to yoga or meditation, etc.). The food was vegetarian, organic and VERY good. We enjoyed the heated pool and jacuzzi at night. The photos made it seem like our room/hut would be pretty big, but in fact the photos show the common area shared between a few rooms. The actual room we had was small. The coqui frogs are unbelievably loud. Need earplugs...and I mean the wax kind!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Nina from Florida

Nice place

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We didn't have any idea what kind of place it was. We were staying to go out on the lava boat. We realized it was a yoga retreat and lots of people from gay pride week. I thought it was fun to be around all of the interesting people. Best breakfast ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kris from Santa Fe

Love the peacefulness

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great place for a romantic getaway and a place to find your inner peacefulness