Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Allentown, PA

Second time was even better than the first!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The location is awesome and the accommodations are fine.
Location: The town of Paia is within walking distance. Plenty of restaurants, shops and local organic grocery store.
This was my second time staying at the Blue Tile Beach House. I have the great privilege of visiting Maui every year for a business conference. The first time we had the ground floor suite and this time we had the upstairs suite -- both are excellent. Dave and Jency were great hosts and we met several really nice guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice B & B next to the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location, use of facilities.
Cons: The owner is currently making improvements to the property.
Location: It is located just outside the town of Paia. Stores and restaurants are located in the town. It is at the start of the "road to Hana."
Not a traditional B & B, the refrigerator is stocked with breakfast items that we make ourselves, on our schedule. We also have the use of the kitchen and BBQ grill to make meals from groceries we buy if we want to. It is next to a small Bach, and you can see the Honu (green turtles) playing in the sand. The owner is friendly and very knowledgeable about the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Canada

Very quaint property, nice retreat on Maui!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The rooms were very spacious and quaint, lots of character! A beautiful place to relax!
Cons: Wifi was a bit spotty while in our room, no problem though as we headed to the kitchen to get a better signal.
Location: Paia is a very quaint town with lots of neat restaurants and boutique shops to check out. We always love spending a few days here while in Maui!
We were only able to spend one night at this property Feb 2015, very lovely location located right on the beach. David was very friendly and helpful in ensuring we were well looked after and made some recommendations for things to do nearby and restaurants to check out. This was a perfect getaway location in Paia, very happy we booked here! We stayed on the ground level which looks right onto the ocean, there is a small beach right out front.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Off the beaten path with amazing views

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Great little getaway spot away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to all the shops and resteraunts...amazing views of the ocean and turtles!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Place was located close to airport & right on the beach. Good location to everything we wanted to do. Price was great. Staff friendly. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view and waterfront property.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
David, our host was very nice . He supplied us with everything we needed to have a nice breakfast and even brought fresh fruit and veggies from his local farm for us . We definately will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Japan

目の前のビーチでサーフィンもできる

Posted Nov 27, 2014
パイアの街に近く便利なエリアです。 目の前にビーチがあり、波がある日であるばサーフィンも可能。 サーフボードもマネージャーがレンタルしています。 宿のマネージャーさんには、2人の息子さんがおり、とても可愛く、私たちの子供とも仲良く遊んでくれました。 建物を内は靴を脱ぐので、日本人には慣れた環境ですね。 朝食も自炊ですが、材料は用意されています。 自分たちで、好きな物を食べることができますので、満足できるでしょう。 総合的に良い宿だと思います。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Edward Mannfrom Blue Tile Beach House

RIGHT ON the beach!

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a very memorable stay! I took advantage of the easy beach access and enjoyed swimming in the ocean under the stars one night. It was nice not to have to deal with an overly rocky shore. The owners did a great job of making me feel comfortable while respecting my privacy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob McAleerfrom Nova Scotia

close to beach

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location and area was great. The cleanliness was not as good as expected. Example : wanted to cook something in oven but when I opened the oven the bottom was black with food that had spilled over while being cooked and never been cleaned. Was supposed to be free wifi but the password had been changed and it took me nearly 24 hours to track the caretakers down to get the new password. Was no service there just some food in fridge that you could use to make your own breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Location and roominess of the 2nd story suite. We loved the ability to make food in the kitchen and use the common areas outside and inside.
Cons: Clean the rooms better and have a means to communicate with the staff when there are needs or questions.
Location: Road to Hana, great churches in the little towns, Paia has wonderful restaurants, Pacific Whale watch tour is great, miles of Maui beaches amazing
We LOVED the location of the Blue Tile Beach House! We stayed in the second story suite and it had a 2 sided deck that has the most beautiful view of the ocean and small beach to the right. The suite was large and could accommodate a family well. The bed was great and you could watch the ocean while in bed which was amazing. We saw sea turtles from our deck and surfers. There was a small kitchen area with a sink, fridge, microwave and toaster oven. This is an older house but upkeep is pretty good. There is a shared kitchen, dining room and living area that can accommodate a lot of people. There is fresh fruit set out and eggs, bread, milk and juice and yogurt in the fridge. There is cereal on top of the fridge and coffees and teas. It is run more like a hostel than a bed and breakfast. Nothing is in individual serving sizes so if you want yogurt, then you scoop it out of the same big container that everyone else did. There is shared fridge for guests. Communication with the staff is difficult. I called three times the day we arrived before connecting with someone. She told us, "We did not know you were coming." Our bathroom counter and toothbrush container were dirty with "toothpaste spit" so I cleaned the bathroom. The towels were "sour" so requested new ones and got some towels but had to call three times and leave messages to get some wash clothes. Some bulbs in the bathroom were burned out the whole time. The carpets and bed were clean and neat.