Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Location and roominess of the 2nd story suite. We loved the ability to make food in the kitchen and use the common areas outside and inside.
Cons: Clean the rooms better and have a means to communicate with the staff when there are needs or questions.
Location: Road to Hana, great churches in the little towns, Paia has wonderful restaurants, Pacific Whale watch tour is great, miles of Maui beaches amazing
We LOVED the location of the Blue Tile Beach House! We stayed in the second story suite and it had a 2 sided deck that has the most beautiful view of the ocean and small beach to the right. The suite was large and could accommodate a family well. The bed was great and you could watch the ocean while in bed which was amazing. We saw sea turtles from our deck and surfers. There was a small kitchen area with a sink, fridge, microwave and toaster oven. This is an older house but upkeep is pretty good. There is a shared kitchen, dining room and living area that can accommodate a lot of people. There is fresh fruit set out and eggs, bread, milk and juice and yogurt in the fridge. There is cereal on top of the fridge and coffees and teas. It is run more like a hostel than a bed and breakfast. Nothing is in individual serving sizes so if you want yogurt, then you scoop it out of the same big container that everyone else did. There is shared fridge for guests. Communication with the staff is difficult. I called three times the day we arrived before connecting with someone. She told us, "We did not know you were coming." Our bathroom counter and toothbrush container were dirty with "toothpaste spit" so I cleaned the bathroom. The towels were "sour" so requested new ones and got some towels but had to call three times and leave messages to get some wash clothes. Some bulbs in the bathroom were burned out the whole time. The carpets and bed were clean and neat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Noisy neighbors, non-existent innkeepers

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Close enough to town to be convenient but far enough away to avoid most of the crowds.
Cons: Patrol the beach next door to keep the noise down at midnight. Local foods for breakfast; pick the fruit from the trees on the property!
Location: Just outside Paia town. Local beach right next door; a mixed blessing. On the road to Hana if that's your thing; convenient to roads going upcountry.
Loud music at midnight from the beach next door; woke us up from a peaceful sleep. This began Friday night & continued over the weekend; "Hawaiian rap" music blaring from radios so loud it literally shook the entire house, and this was right outside our windows. No local foods for breakfast; stale fruit like apples, grapefruit, unripe blood orange, & over ripe (non-local) bananas, despite the many fruit trees on the property (like the banana tree right outside our lanai). No owners to be found; complaints went unaddressed, phone calls & e-mails unanswered. Saw one of the owners for 5 minutes when she came to retrieve an iPhone charger; never saw her or her husband the entire time except for that. Maid brought clean towels on second day, but didn't clean room & left the trash behind. Spoke to another couple staying at the B&B (they left early to relocate to another B&B further from town) who thought the owners were running an unlicensed inn, which was why they were nowhere to be seen; apparently this is quite a problem on Maui & the authorities are cracking down on these types of operations, but not soon enough to prevent us from spending a ton of money on a second-rate B&B.
2 out of 5
by anthony from Bossier City

Waterfall Room

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Room barely large enough to fit a double bed. No a/c and it is very hot/humid even in Feb. Nice views of ocean and in Paia which is away from the touristy feel. Not a bad deal if you are OK roughing it a little. Never saw any staff members.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Balakumar from Folsom, CA

Beautiful hotel right near the neach

Posted Feb 18, 2014
This hotel was perfectly located in the quaint little town of Paia. Unlike the Paia inn (which was one of my inn choices to stay) which is located right in the middle of all the shops, blue tile was located just a few blocks away which made it more calm and hence, no traffic noise. We stayed in the plumeria room that had an excellent view. The innkeeper Penelope was really sweet and made sure we stayed there comfortably. They provided towels, umbrellas, snorkel gear, boogie boards, and books which were quite a surprise. On top of all, since we stayed there in the peak of the whale season, we were able to view whales right from the lawn. Overall, a very nice place to sit back and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lithuania, Europe

oceanftront

Posted Feb 12, 2014
atmosfere like at home and wery beautiful place. breakfast good.
3 out of 5
by Caren from Palmer, Alaska

Nice Setting

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Beautiful setting, very clean and comfortable. Paia is a nice little town also
Cons: Hot water and air conditioning would be essential and both were lacking.
Location: Some interesting shops about 1/2 mile away in Paia. There were a couple of restaurants in the town and a small grocery store.
This is a small bed and breakfast. It has a lovely setting right on a small beach. But not the best beach for swimming. I really only had one problem and that is that they didn't have hot water. I need to be able to take a shower. After several days with no hot water, I canceled the rest of my stay there and moved elsewhere. You make your own breakfast and there were not a lot of options. Mainly some fruit and cereal. After 3 days the fruit was gone and the milk was bad, so it was really more of a 'bring your own breakfast' place. But you could shop in the small town and buy groceries and cook whatever you wanted in the community kitchen. They did refund my prepaid reservation when I left because of lack of hot water. There was also no air conditioning and only small slats that opened in the single window, so it got pretty hot in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seasoned Travel from L.

Nice location - a step above camping

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Beautiful quiet tranquil until the locals threw a pizza party with their toddlers on the property. No hot water for the shower or the jacuzzi tub and the sliding doors had a problem locking. A contractor who was doing a great job sprucing up the place was the only person we could find to help out with things as there was no host to explain anything. Another guest explained the kitchen rules. The place was nice other than those minor nuisances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from Basking Ridge, NJ

Honeymoon in Paradise!

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Everything was fantastic!
Cons: Mosquitoes were the only downfall, but nothing that the hotel can do about them.
Location: The location is close to downtown Paia, many restaurants there. We went ziplining, did a dinner cruise with Ali Nui, we drove the West unpaved road.
Out of our two week stay in various location in Hawaii, for our Honeymoon, this was by far our favorite place to stay. The second floor suite was beautiful. The view, the sound of the ocean and breeze was second to none. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room is beautiful and loved that they offer a fully stock fridge that you can prepare meals at your own leisure. The staff is very friendly and were able to work with friends from back home to surprise us with a sunset dinner cruise. Can't wait to stay here again...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from CA

Good location, but not really a B and B

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: location, courtyard, price, hosts were nice
Cons: the front of the house could look nicer for a better first impression. Clean up the bathrooms a little.
Location: Mama's Fish House, Hookipa Beach, town of Paia, near upcountry and road to Hana
We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Blue Tile Beach House. It is in a wonderful location right next to the beach in Paia. When we pulled up to the House, we thought they were closed! There was a big sign saying they were waiting to be approved for B and B. There were parts (ceiling fan, etc) in the front. Inside the house was nice and there is a beautiful courtyard with a fountain. We were in the sunset room and it was nice with a lanai and ensuite bathroom, but the shower/tub did have rust. There was a clicking noise all night long, so we opened the slider to try and have the ocean drown out the noise. You could buy your own groceries and store them in the frig and cook, so I wouldn't technically say this is a B and B. I think they are working on fixing up the place, so it has good bones and should be amazing once cleaned and fixed up. The price is right and location is right, so keep that in mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Great local feel, beware of Expedia Pictures

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: Atmosphere- local Hawaiian feel. Read that as rustic, friendly, easy going, the sound of ocean waves and gekos, fresh tropical fruit and no frills.
Cons: Well, if your are looking for frills, sparkling cleanliness, or air conditioning, this is not the place for you.
Location: Paia is a neat little town with good access to north shore beaches and activities.
We really loved our stay at the Blue Tile Beach House, but many of the pictures posted on Expedia and Tripadvisor are not labled correctly. Nicely stocked fridge and kitchen. We made use of the juicer, rice maker, gas grill, all the extras needed for cooking your own food like spices, olive oil, fresh garlic butter, milk, etc. Enjoyable courtyard, instant beach access, sand toys for the kids, beach towels provided, reserved parking. Staff was helpful and enjoyable. I really felt like I was staying at a friends house. We stayed in the Plumeria room, which would be okay for a couple, but it was too small for us with our 5-year old. Some pictures on the internet led me to believe that the Plumeria Room was one of the front 2 rooms that are right on the water. That was not the case so we were very disappointed when first directed to our room. The staff was apologetic but powerless to do anything about it other than offer a refund if we wanted it (we stayed anyway). So here is the room low-down: Upper and lower Suites are the ONLY big rooms and the only rooms we would stay in if going back. Both are equally nice. Lower has Queen bed and Futon with a Sauna. Upper has King bed and the blue tile bath. Plumeria and Sunset Rooms are much smaller but the next choices on the list. They are in the Back of the house but each have private decks with courtyard and ocean views. The other rooms are smaller still and lack ocean views.