Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Great place

Posted Aug 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
Nice room, great location, directly in the center of the beautiful Paia. BBQ available, cheap for what you"ve got. Bed not firm at all so I hope you prefer that (not me!). Nice garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A cool funky place

Posted Feb 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
While it's very funky, I like that there was no tv! I also liked the location even though there was limited parking. I'll stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Will book for our third trip to Maui!

Posted Feb 7, 2011
See trip experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LaGrange, GA

The worst place I have ever stayed

Posted Jan 22, 2011
I stayed here for four nights. If I did not have to prepay the entire four night with Expedia, I would have moved. The room was not cleaned or made up ever. They did not even empty the waste paper basket. The toilet is in the bedroom, is separated only by a curtain. There is no privicy. The only chair in the room was needed to put the suitcase on. The lighting was dim at best. There is no air conditioning or telephones. There is almost no parking at the lodge. You have to park on the busy Hana Road (the Road to Hana)., My last night at the lodger, I had to park a quarter mail away next to a bar filled with drunks. To top it off, when I got to my room this last night, I found a note saying that I should have checked out that day, and that I owed for another night. We finally straighten it out, but it was not thanks to the management. Oh, the one thing they do have is noise. Most of it comes from the bars on Hana Road. The walls are so thin that you can hear every thing going on. Let me tell you about the love life of the couple upstairs. Never again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better and cheaper hotels in Lihue

Posted Nov 24, 2010
This is right in the center of Paia. It is only couple hundred feet away from Paia Inn. For the price of the lodge, I would have rather have stayed in Lihue for over 1/2 the price. (It is only six miles away.) Or I would have spent a little more money to stay next to Mama's Fish House. This place reminded of a lodge in the middle of nowhere, but in the middle of the city. I really don't want to write any more because writing about this place makes me more upset about paying so much for this place. If it were half the price that I paid then I probably would have no problem with this place.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

If you like youth hostels this is your place.

Posted Jul 21, 2010
If you're traveling on a budget and don't care about the room then this is the place for you. There are only two hotels in Paia anyway! BUT if you are looking for a cozy bed, comfort, and a bathroom with a door on it this is definitely not the place for you. The price was extremely affordable and probably perfect for young travellers. Although we didn't plan on spending alot of time in our room, it would have been nice to lie down in a bed that was actually long enough to accomodate a 5'8" person at the end of the night. This is pretty much self serve, although I will say the staff is super nice and responsive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Somewhere

okay

Posted Feb 3, 2010
Before we chose this hotel we did review the posted comments made by previous guests. Whoever mentioned that the walls are paper thin - well let's just say, their comment was 'bang on', so to speak. There was no TV in our room, and there certainly is no need to subscribe to adult channels. There are no secrets in this place. As a hotel, it was quite acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom san deigo, ca

perfect litte getaway spot

Posted Dec 1, 2009
we absolutely loved this place. it's tucked away, private, quiet and beautiful. the room was perfectly charming- just what we needed. and it allowed us to enjoy paia without a car. can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Jackson Hole, WY

Perfect Room

Posted Oct 29, 2009
This adorable little place was so well kept and clearly well loved by it's owners and possibly the staff. The room was lovely and super clean. The bathroom tile was my favorite part actually...little comfortable pebble stones on the bathroom floor & the floor of the shower. There was handmade soap & a very nice little refrigerator to keep things cool. Even after I checked out, the laundry girls kept an eye on my luggage so I could shop in town before meeting up with my party... now that's the aloha spirit ! Mahalo !
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good overall

Posted Jun 10, 2009
bedding is pretty bad, it gets noisy at night aside from the above, it was fine.