Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heatherfrom Calgary, AB

Spyglass Rentals - Bicycle Inn.

Posted Jan 23, 2012
Pros: The kitchen and the lanai.
Cons: The main bathroom, and sharing the place with a family with 2 children who kept us awake much of the night.
Location: The highway is very busy, and the house is a long way from the main part of Paia, on the east side which is Kuau.
It's an older property and the main bathroom needs work, also needs a new fridge. It's nice to have a full kitchen and the rooms were clean, but the bathroom has some mold around the tub. Also there was an ongoing problem with the wireless connection, making it difficult to look after my business while I was there. To her credit, Poni did her best to deal with any problems that arose as soon as she was aware of them. The area is quite scenic, but Paia does not really have a lot of the more basic services. If you want to buy high priced designer jewelry or a tattoo or a yoga class, Paia's the right place to be, but if you want to pick up a cheap pair of flip flops, or a new watch strap, or a spare memory card for your camera, you'll have to drive into Kahului (4 miles) and go to KMart or Walmart. It's a good place for a budget holiday, and if you're a surfer, this is the place for you, as it's very close to the shoreline. It's also very handy to the Hana highway and to Haleakala and the upcountry region. The lanai at the back is a nice place to unwind, and there's a barbecue as well. If you have heavy suitcases, you'll have to haul them up a narrow set of stairs to get to the 3-bedroom apartment upstairs, which can be very difficult and also dangerous.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

This is not a B&B

Posted Dec 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
The listing said: B&B, however, there was no complimentary continental breakfast. It had a kitchen. We had to buy our own food. Coffee grounds were provided. The kitchen was clean. We had to share a bathroom with other "tenants." The photo you provided does not look like the actual property. The bathroom had moldy caulking and the lights in every room needed replacing. The owner's son came in once while we were there to check on things, but he didn't even know where the light bulbs were. Overall, this was like an apartment with roommates. I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Definitly would stay here again

Posted Nov 16, 2011
The Spyglass House Rental is not a classic hotel, but a regular house turned into a hotel. Thus you won't find stuff like room service, but in addition to your room, you also get a shared (by 3 rooms) living room, kitchen and a deck outside. The house is only 3 min by foot away from a beach. I had a great time here and definitly will look for this place again, when I return to Maui.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spyglass hotel - Pa'ia Maui

Posted Nov 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the bicycle room. Shared kitchen and living room space. It was all covered in a layer of dust ostensibly from the sugar cane harvesting. We cleaned the kitchen and bedroom space we used with the available cleaner in the unit. Had the unit been inspected and cleaned our experience would have been much different.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, Ohio

We loved this place

Posted May 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is the perfect place if you do not want the sterile environment of a resort. Poni is a gracious host and the house is warm and cozy, funky and fun. I am kind of a clean freak and although not a brand new place we found the house to meet our needs just fine. We would absolutely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

There was fecal matter on the toilet seat

Posted Apr 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
I really wanted to like this place. It was a cool, funky (in a good way) older beach house with charming stained glass windows and a nicely weathered hard wood floor. Right on the water. The cons: 1) There was literally left over poop on the surface of the toilet seat. It had clearly not been cleaned. Although this is listed as a B&B it most definitley is not. No breakfast is served. There are bagels and jam and butter in the fridge. That's it. You are left to forage for yourself with no direction from the owner. We never saw the owner. We only stayed one night and arrived at 8pm. We called the owner who was upstairs who told us the key to our room was in the door and that it was too late for her to come down (no problem). She told us to help ourselves to coffee in the morning. We never saw her the next orning (we left at noon). When I book a B&B I do so for a little charm and a welcoming atmosphere and breakfast in the morning. This place had neither. However, if you're looking for a room only in a cool, funky beach house then your expectations will likely be met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Laid back, peaceful and right on the surf beach.

Posted Mar 27, 2011
Nice large house over looking and close to surf beach. Basically a B&B set-up. Quiet, close to Paia village, not sign on road, so look for mail box number. Breakfast was not really available on an organized fashion, but coffee, jams, bagels were available. Host was very pleasant. Laid back, 60's atmosphere, with 2 cats in the yard. There is a sand beach 100 yards up the private road. Lots of places to get a bite in Paia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crow's Nest at the Spyglass House

Posted Feb 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Crow's Nest consists of a double bed jammed into a narrow room converted from a porch. The bed is only accessible from the foot end. Two walls are totally windows with an insufficient amount of drapes to afford you privacy. We found lodging the second night of our reservation and gave up our deposit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we were expecting.

Posted Jan 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
Our party of 4 stayed one night at the Gingerbread House in Jan 2011. All I have to say is that we were so happy we only had to spend a single night there. We arrived in the evening after a long flight into Maui. Although everything was in place as described by the owner we were very disappointed with the conditions of the house. The Gingerbread House is in a residential area in Paia that was not easy to find in the dark. Upon entering the house we quickly found out that the house is in need of some major TLC. There were rather larger spiders throughout the bathroom and there were dead flies in the jacuzzi tub and bathroom sink. We had to leave an extra $40 as a cleaning fee since we only spent one night. To be honest I'm really not sure what this was for as this place did not appear to have been cleaned in a while. There were spiderwebs in the medicine cabinet, the showerhead was competely crusted over with lime rust and the jacuzzi tub was stained badly. Also the light fixtures had spiderwebs and dust all over them. One more thing. don't look up when you're in the bathroom; although the vaulted ceiling is nice the cleanliness up there is way below par. I'm not that picky about staying in nice places, especially when it's only for one night. All I ask is for cleanliness and I have to say that my entire group of 4 was very disappointed with this. Also if you will be staying here with a group of people please note that the shower is located directly in front of the bathroom door. Normally this would not be a problem expect the curtain on the bathroom door is completely see-through and is located in a place where anyone sitting on the couch watching tv will be looking directly at the door.. Talk about awkward. The location is fine however based on the cleanliness and condition of the house in general I would not recommend this to anyone that asked for my opinion.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Great location..no breakfast

Posted Oct 14, 2010
We stayed only one night and enjoyed our stay a lot. The location on the bluff above the ocean and the property were spectacular. Very private and quiet. It was also a wonderful surprise to discover Paia town..we loved it. Several improvements would made our experience even better: (1) there was NO breakfast. A few stale bagels in the frig, packets of cream cheese and a bowl of old oranges; (2) they changed the room we selected without telling us, did not e-mail us directions until WE called (it is a little tricky to find) and did not tell us about the $35 one night charge until WE called. Being a little more proactive and better customer service would be appreciated. They did waive the one night fee and our room was a slight upgrade. (3) Our room, the Master Bedroom, was beautiful but HOT...windows on only one side and a ceiling fan that would only run on LOW. Suggest a better ceiling fan.(4) Some of the light bulbs in the room were burned out and you really had to crank on the hot water faucet to turn it on..I thought it was broken at first. Looks like maintenance could be improved. Our hosts were delighful the one time we saw them, but then they disappeared and we never saw them again. Never saw them in the morning. One of the joys of a B&B is to have a prepared breakfast by your hosts, get some local tips and visit with your fellow guests...None of this happened but we ended up at Charlies and had a great breakfast.