Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's more fun in coron Palawan

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Peaceful accommodating people gorgeous place and warm weather and pacific water. If you are looking for a relaxing uncrowded place this is the place to be. Try it out you won't regret it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sherelle from melbourne, australia

Hidden gem for those who like to be on their own

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Wifi signal and access to the Coron town
Location: It is on its own island
First thing to note about this hotel is that it is on its own island so if you like the hustle and bustle of streets then this is not the place for you. The town is a 25 minute boat ride and 1 hour drive and if you ask to go they can take you for PHP7,000! The resort has a nice pool and the beach is part of where the river meets the ocean so it is not the cleanest or safest either. There are jelly fish and we even saw a sea snake which are the most venomous kind. The water however is really clear and you can feed the fish at the pier with rice. They provide free paddle board, kayak and rowing boat which is really fun. All the staff here are really accommodating Sam boy accompanied us on the hike up to the mountain and then took us on a Kayak tour through the mangroves around the island, the staff offer to play volley ball and there a table tennis and pool tables as well as a DVD list you can choose from. Glen the head waiter is also really accommodating, he lets you change the menu to suit and it is nice that he remembers certain preferences each day so you don't have to repeat yourself. Each night there are 2 singers that are really good, they go around to individual tables and sing your song of choice. These 2 also sing you a welcome song when you arrive and when you are leaving. Alex and Charmaine are also very friendly and efficient. We stayed in the cedar cabana which was really beautiful and clean. We booked our room with expedia and were not aware there were packages
3 out of 5
by Cheifiekins from Western Australia

OK, but no real WOW factor.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Staff were brilliant. Fish under the end of the pier were amazing.
Cons: New air cons. In house entertainment.(no TV in rooms). Pool was a bit on the small side and exposed to the hot afternoon sun.
Location: Trip to Coron Town was a bit underwhelming. Needs to be more trips to islands nearby.
Staff were great, food was okay, just expected more bang for my buck. We stayed a week and it became quite expensive, thought the Philippines was supposed to be cheap. Air con kept us both awake at night and the sooner they replace them with split systems the better. Not good enough for a place pretending to be 4 and a halve, 5 star Resort. What's a holiday when you cant get a good nights sleep?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by SG from Hong Kong

Very remote and expensive to go on trips

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel although overpriced. Did not realise how remote it was as you can only get to it by boat despite being on main island. Hotel wanted 150 American dollars just for a ride into coron town. After some hard bargaining they agreed to get me there for 2 dollars ! Had to stay night in town once got there as last transport back was at 4 pm so only go to this hotel if you want to remain in the resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Romy from Quezon city

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was good.! Very quite, great surrounding and beautiful scenery.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but not sure about a repeat trip

Posted Mar 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was surprised to find that a hotel charging these prices does not provide free pick up. There really is no alternative way of getting to the hotel other than by the arranged transportation. The best thing about the hotel are its staff - really friendly and helpful. Always smiling. Food choices on the menu were limited (particularly for me, a vegetarian). Since there is no way for you to go elsewhere to eat, you were basically stuck with that menu for the entire stay. Rooms were clean, but had no TV, phone or wifi. No TV or wifi I can live with, but it was inconvenient not to have a phone to contact front desk when there was something wrong. You have to walk to the reception area (we stayed in one of the furthest huts) and then back again if you wanted something. Should also think about providing free shuttle service to the neighbouring sister resort. As there is limited things to do at El Rio itself, then a trip to Club Paradise was a good way to kill some time. Waters would have been fantastic for snorkelling, if only there weren't so many jelly fish around. Apparently good for diving though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed for 3 days & 2 nights, including new years eve. From the Busuanga airport, had to travel 20 mins by land and more or less 20 mins by boat. It was exciting. The whole place is one perfect romantic getaway. Not crowded. Hotel people are so nice and friendly. We were welcomed with their very own El Rio song upon arrival. Food was great but quite pricey (for people with small apetite, just go with their ala carte menu). Had so much fun snorkling. Their Coron tour package was a bit pricey as well but it was worth it. Thanks to our guide, Ronnie, we had enjoyed the whole trip. Overall, I would recommend this place to those who plans to visit coron.
2 out of 5
by Virginie from France, Australia and Brunei.

Room with a view and rats.

Posted Dec 29, 2011
Pros: The beautiful surroundings.
Cons: Rats in the native cottages.
This hotel is located in beautiful surroundings. The charming bungalows are situated on the water edge with lovely views of the bay. However, the maintenance leaves a lot to be desired. We had rats in our native cottage and we were told that they were part of nature and that they lived in the roof. We insisted to move into another room, but we found a rat there as well. Finally, they moved us into a concrete bungalow where there were no rats (except on the verandah, which was fine as long as they didn't get in). I believe it's unacceptable to sleep with rats in a 4* hotel. I have stayed in many eco-friendly bungalows (many of them cheaper and more basic than those at El Rio Y Mar) in the tropics but I had never seen seen a rat in my room before. The service leaves a lot to be desired too. The staff is overall friendly but, with some exceptions, ineffective and not knowledgeable. However,they did a great show, dancing and singing, on Christmas eve; they also played pool very well. Besides, the tours are overpriced (about 3 times the price you would pay in a resort around Coron, like Discovery Island Resort, or Balinsasayaw resort, where we stayed after) and not well organized (we came back from Calauit island at night on a rough sea because the boat had left the resort too late; no one on board enjoyed the experience...).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

the place to relax

Posted Sep 27, 2011
The resort have very good service to us.There so many service that we like in that resort like when we eat on the restaurant one man is playing a guitar and there are singers.The resort is nice also because it is quite and nice place to relax.The resort is nice because its near on mountains.they make my birthday very memorable in my life because there made a presentation in my birthday cake and my cake is delicious little bit sweet but it taste good.There so many plants and flowers it is colourful and nice in our sight.in our island hopping we see some corals on the sand and the water in the sea is clear.Also our bedroom is attractive to sleep. And thats all that i like the resort in coron,palawan thank you and good day.