Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely view

Posted Oct 4, 2010
We picked Astro sul Mare for its location in Cefalu - across the road from the beach and with the rest of the town easily accessible and were not disappointed. The apartment was comfortable, and well furnished and we particularly enjoyed the rooftop terrace. We found Cefalu to be a charming town, and for us, a preferable alternative to Taormina for our stay in Sicily, as we appreciated the fact it was a bit less touristy (but yet still with a decent beach, and a few sites to explore such as the Temple of Diana and the cathedral) and provided a base from which we could explore amongst other places, Palermo and Monreale.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ireland

rip off

Posted Sep 30, 2009 on Hotels.com
firstly, this is not a hotel. it is a very odd appartment with a platform bed up a ladder and 3ft from the ceiling. Secondly it is impossible to find. despite a map, no one had heard of it and I had to ask a policeman to help. The water was cold in the morning and after complaint it came through brown. The coffee maker was disgusting inside and unusable. Need I go on? On a positive note, the location when you find it is great, no don,t bother, it is truly awful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torino

scelta quasi obbligata

Posted Jul 3, 2008 on Hotels.com
Spiaggia e parcheggio inclusi nella tariffa compensano una struttura davvero mediocre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

ok for the price

Posted Jun 17, 2008
The hotel was clean and the reception staff were very cheerful and helpful. This hotel is in need of renovation and there were no frills but this was exactly what I'd expected from looking at websites. I would stay there again if looking for a cheapish place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly staff

Posted Apr 20, 2008
Don't be put off by the lack luster facade. This is a nice clean well run hotel. The staff speak good English, are very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by William from London

No frills, but an ideal base

Posted Apr 3, 2008
The hotel is nicely situated, easy to find as you drive in to Cefalu from Palermo and the staff were extremely helpful. It is not the sort of place you would want to sit around in, but as a base from which to tour it is perfect - has its own off street parking. The breakfast was adequate - some cheese and salami would have been nice, but I was there in March off season and it was very quiet and I suspect we were not getting high season treatment. But no matter. I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Home from Home....!!!!will definately return to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2007
What a great place, the minute you enter the door you are aware of the homely ambience of this place, and just a 10 minute walk from everything...!!! Extremely helpful,friendly receptionist's who do all possible to help with anything they can, smart decor with marble floors and stairs which sweep you upstairs to a comfortable seating/lounge area, and then on to your bedroom. Smart, clean and cool,with marble floor, great en-suite and powerful shower, the place is spotlessly clean and a pleasure to return to after a long hot day 'sightseeing' or on the beach a 10 minute stroll away. Breakfast in the mornings was a treat.....in a basement dining area,very cosy and nice and relaxed, tables laden with all sorts of goodies to suit everyone,and super staff to assist, breakfast was one of the best parts of the day. On checking out ,we were able to leave our luggage in an ante-room for the day and have our last day on the beach...!! and were welcome to spend an hour or so in the lobby lounge while waiting for train departure. I cant wait to visit again, and recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area who wants,very smart accommodation at a very reasonable price. Many Thanks to The Hotel Astro...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Location & Perfect No-thrills hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2007
Stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed. Offers excellent value for money, with comfort and excellent service. Offers an excellent location with 2 minutes walk to the beach and a good location to get into town without being inside the hassle and bussle of the main streets. Also easy for access to the train station. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Pretty Town

Posted May 18, 2007
Nice hotel but just too noisy to go back. Shame as the staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

would go back again

Posted Feb 7, 2007
this hotel was basic but clean; friendly staff who spoke English very well. Although beach was seperate from hotel it was excellent