Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service and welcome

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Very poor, no-one there to meet us despite website stating "24 hour reception" and when a passer-by called the phone number for us the owner was not happy to have to come and let us in. Paid for full breakfast, which wasn't possible so the owner sent us to a cafe - that didn't open until 2pm! No response to emails about this. Basically the worse type of Airbnb experience at hotel prices. Avoid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Salvo, Hotel Management
We are specialized in apartment. Check in start at 12,30 and finish at 24,00. This customer arrived at 1AM in morning, as rule we should leave him out, instead in the middle of the night we received him. By the way ALL our customers must communicate arrival time and any delay, to be sure we will receive them without any waiting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

it was an apartment

Posted Jul 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
well,very inside in palermo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No water?

Posted May 13, 2012
We very much enjoyed our stay in Palermo, a fascinating city with an extraordinary range of architecture, friendly people, great food and nearby beaches, however, our accomodation was not what we expected. Two days before departure we emailed the manager/owner with our expected time of arrival and received a return email with instructions on how to find the apartment. When we arrived we were met at the entrance by the manager/owner who told us that due to a recent adjacent building collapse there was a problem with the water and we would have to stay at another of his apartments nearby in a narrow alley off Via Giovanni Meli. Although we didn't have a chance to see the original apartment we would guess from your website photographs that this alternative was a good deal inferior. It had the feel of student hostel accomodation - very basic matresses, a coffee pot with a broken handle, cracked mugs, very little cooking equipment etc. We were determined that this wouldn't affect our holiday and managed with what was available and would probably not have bothered to write this review if my daughter, an Italian speaker, had not discovered that the 'recent' building collapse had been in February this year. This can be confirmed on Google with the search term 'edificio crollo palermo via savona'. If there really is a problem with water why were we not informed in the return email, also, why is the property still advertised on your website?
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Salvo, Hotel Management
Hello, we regrets for the problem if this customers, the area is now perfectly repaired by the local administrations and this problem will never occurs anymore
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Location - Nice Amenties - Poor Condition

Posted Oct 4, 2011
We booked this apt as the hotel we wanted was booked. However, the apt access, location, and neighborhood provides an interesting slice of Palermo life that you probably would not get at a hotel location. Definitely liked the location - great low cost restaurants with seafood caught that day. The street life is dynamic and changing. Easy access to botanic garden and other Palermo landmarks. The apt is located OVER a business location that operates from 7am to 1am -- in the AM it is a quiet fruit market and street snack shop. In the evening all this closes and it turns into a busy outdoor restaurant with more wiggly fish and shellfish choices than other street spaces we have seen in Palermo. Great ambiance. The apt room (there are 2 or 3 in this building rented by the same person) had a clothes washer to our amazement. However, the shower head did work and to the manager's credit he replaced it with one that did. However, we had one day with no shower water. The kitchen was nice but roaches roamed all night over the cabinets. We mentioned this to the maid and she dismissed it as nonsense. We also rented it because it claimed to have FREE WIFI. When asked, the manager gave us the code, but the WIFI was not working (no IP given out - probably needed a reboot) and he was not responsive about fixing it. That was a bummer as WIFI is harder to find in Palermo than the travel sites suggest. We had just landed from the USA and needed to tell family we were ok & couldn't.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Casa Giuditta - In the Ghetto

Posted Feb 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
First off, the address listed is NOT where this hotel is. We got to the address, called the hotel, and the owner offered to come pick us up from the address listed and drive us to the actual hotel. Upon arrival, its clear that this is not a hotel, its simply a small apartment this guy rents out on a nightly basis. This isn't a bad thing, except that there is no front desk to ask for info/directions/recommendations. Furthermore, being an apartment, there is no maid service or possibility of getting linens/sheets changed. Overall the room is nice, with a very quaint private courtyard type area. There is full kitchen with fridge, washer, pots, pans, glasses, plates, etc. These were nice to have. The beds weren't super comfy, but they did the job. The weirdest thing was the lack of any form of shower curtain. After showering, the floor was soaked with water! Towels provided, but no washcloths. Theres a TV with satellite (including hundreds of porno channels), and a radio. Overall I was happy with the actualy apartment. The neighborhood, however, was terrible. Indeed it is close to the Mediterranean, but thats about the only positive of the location. It's central enough to get to the main tourist attractions, but for the most part this neighborhood is DANGEROUS. About 300 m down the road is a plaza with run down abandoned buildings that fills with hoodlums from about 11 pm until god knows when. We passed through once and saw people openly doing hard drugs like cocaine, and heroin. After that, the people smoking weed and drinking were of little significance. No police presence whatsoever. If I were female I would avoid this hotel entirely. Even as 3 males staying together, we were scared to speak English in this part of town because we would immediately be a target for a mugging. Summary: Pros: Decent room, close to ocean, ok for sightseeing Cons: no shower curtain, no front desk for info, maps, suggestions. VERY dangerous neighborhood. Do not walk alone at night. Do not speak any language other than Italian. Do not become intoxicated. You WILL be attacked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

The Casa Giuditta Palermo Hotel Central

Posted Sep 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
Room with a washing machine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London UK

Well appointed room in perfect location for seeing Palermo.

Posted Jul 9, 2010
Casa Giuditta provided me with a comfortable room with a balcony overlooking Piazza Kalsa. I had everything I needed including cooking facilities, refrigerator, air conditioning, a really good shower with instant hot water, TV, hair dryer..... there was also free wi-fi if I had wanted it. The room was spotless and I was very happy there. Casa Giuditta is ideally situated for seeing the most interesting sights of Palermo, most within walking distance. It is a short walk from the Central Station where most of the buses both local & long distance stop. The man on a scooter who handed over the keys to the apartment gave me the address of the nearest supermarket which I doubt whether I would have found by myself as it was well tucked away in a corner of Piazza Marina. Needless to say, this was very useful !
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Good, but not excellent

Posted Apr 29, 2010 on Hotels.com
The room is modern and clean, but there is a lack of some common things (like something to hang the clothes on, maybe on the back on the front door, and also some hangings at the bathroom door). We've been in March so in the night we stayed with the air conditioner turned on heat, because in the first night we felt a little bit of cold. Because the floor is tiled, you have to have some shoes to stay with, inside, or some solid socks, because the tiled floor is quite cold. Overall, I recommend this for everyone, it's modern, there is a (mini) kitchen inside so you can cook inside, having the fantastic fresh food from Palermo markets (great fish, excellent vegetables, etc). With more attention for some important details, this could be a 5 star location, but for the moment is just 4 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

A true Palermo stay!

Posted Jan 14, 2010 on Hotels.com
This place is a must for those looking for a real old world stay. Apartment is beautiful and clean inside. Area around is a bit messy - but that is Palermo! You must call 3 hours in advance of arrival, otherwise you will wait! Easiest way to explain how to find it is look for Piazza Kalsa - it is right in the piazza. A lovely stay really, would definetely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Garbage Strike!

Posted Jun 27, 2009 on Hotels.com
If you insist on staying in Palermo just make sure there isn't an ongoing garbage strike! Hotel is actually more like private apartments and the location gives you a real feel for Sicily... Amazing rice balls down the street and really great restaurants. About 15-20 minute walking distance of train station.