Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from England

Good central hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Very helpful and available staff; great location for all major sights
Cons: room heating
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Di from Norfolk, England

Very nice hotel with a great central location

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: It was a grand old building with nice rooms and the location is perfect for exploring the city
Cons: Nothing of any significance - more coat hangers would be useful
Location: The hotel is situated fairly centrally close to Plaza Politeama but almost all of the interesting sites ware within walkable distance
The hotel is within very easy walking distance of the airport bus drop off at Plaza Politeama. The room we had was extremely spacious with a sitting area and everything we needed including a kettle, which is quite unusual for European hotels. It had a really nice en suite with a great shower. The reception staff were friendly and helpful Breakfasts were typical continental style but again staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has free wifi but this wasn't accessible in our room, it wasn't much of a problem as there was a sitting area just outside it where we could receive it. This is a great place to base yourself for a city break as pretty much everything to see is within walking distance.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joyce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SC from St Louis

Great Value for Money

Posted Aug 27, 2013
The hotel was right in the heart of the historical city center with easy access to the sights, eateries and transportation. Previous reviewers have complained about the hardness of the bed and I can understand why. However I use futon beds at home and find most American hotels to have uncomfortably soft beds. So I liked the hard bed they offered. The price included a pretty decent breakfast as well. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from Redhill, UK

Would definitely stay here again!

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Very conveniently situated.
Cons: Would be better if there was a help-yourself coffee machine at breakfast, rather than having to ask for coffee.
Location: Central station a 10-15 min walk away. Here catch bus or train to Solunto, Aggricento, Monreale. Many restaurants nearby. Can walk to most sites.
We travelled in August, so very hot. Air-conditioning a must and it worked very well in our room and was not too noisy. Room well sound-proofed with blackout. Room was clean with en suite bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful - they were quick to change the light bulb in the bathroom and happy to look after our suitcase when we checked out (we had an evening flight back). Get a return ticket on arrival at airport kiosk by the bus stop which which get you into centre of Palermo. Just work out where you need to get off and ask the driver. Beware, for some buses you buy ticket on board, but for others you must buy in advance. Public transport very cheap compared to UK and buses/ trains were reliable. Many sites tend to close for lunch, 13.00 - 15.00, so plan accordingly. Buffet breakfast was good, though coffee was not self-service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Florida

Great hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would recommend this hotel. We had a good stay overall. No complaints except that the area can be confusing and timing of stores is important since stores close and open during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by FC from New York

gracious, comfortable, close to center

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff very proper (nicely old-fashioned) yet friendly and helpful. Room spacious and nice. Breakfast lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tamara from Ireland

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay in Tonic hotel, rooms were clean enough, very good central location, breakfast was simple and staf fluently spoke English and were very helpful. At night could be loud because of bins cleaned every other night. Good value for money. I would recomend.