Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from England

Good central hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Very helpful and available staff; great location for all major sights
Cons: room heating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Di from Norfolk, England

Very nice hotel with a great central location

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: It was a grand old building with nice rooms and the location is perfect for exploring the city
Cons: Nothing of any significance - more coat hangers would be useful
Location: The hotel is situated fairly centrally close to Plaza Politeama but almost all of the interesting sites ware within walkable distance
The hotel is within very easy walking distance of the airport bus drop off at Plaza Politeama. The room we had was extremely spacious with a sitting area and everything we needed including a kettle, which is quite unusual for European hotels. It had a really nice en suite with a great shower. The reception staff were friendly and helpful Breakfasts were typical continental style but again staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has free wifi but this wasn't accessible in our room, it wasn't much of a problem as there was a sitting area just outside it where we could receive it. This is a great place to base yourself for a city break as pretty much everything to see is within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SC from St Louis

Great Value for Money

Posted Aug 27, 2013
The hotel was right in the heart of the historical city center with easy access to the sights, eateries and transportation. Previous reviewers have complained about the hardness of the bed and I can understand why. However I use futon beds at home and find most American hotels to have uncomfortably soft beds. So I liked the hard bed they offered. The price included a pretty decent breakfast as well. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from Redhill, UK

Would definitely stay here again!

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Very conveniently situated.
Cons: Would be better if there was a help-yourself coffee machine at breakfast, rather than having to ask for coffee.
Location: Central station a 10-15 min walk away. Here catch bus or train to Solunto, Aggricento, Monreale. Many restaurants nearby. Can walk to most sites.
We travelled in August, so very hot. Air-conditioning a must and it worked very well in our room and was not too noisy. Room well sound-proofed with blackout. Room was clean with en suite bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful - they were quick to change the light bulb in the bathroom and happy to look after our suitcase when we checked out (we had an evening flight back). Get a return ticket on arrival at airport kiosk by the bus stop which which get you into centre of Palermo. Just work out where you need to get off and ask the driver. Beware, for some buses you buy ticket on board, but for others you must buy in advance. Public transport very cheap compared to UK and buses/ trains were reliable. Many sites tend to close for lunch, 13.00 - 15.00, so plan accordingly. Buffet breakfast was good, though coffee was not self-service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ms S West

Great location!

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed for one week in late Jan 2013. They allow you to use the PC/internet for free...just ask. The hotel is close to the Teatro Garibaldi, shopping, tour buses, and airport bus pickup/drop off location, yet far enough away so it is not so noisy. Very clean, extra large bedrooms with sufficiently sized bathrooms. At night, if you like your room very dark, just shut all of the metal shutters and it will be pitch black! (Just the way I like it!) The desk clerks speak English and have a sign on the front desk every day to tell you what the weather will be like...very helpful in January. The breakfast is typical European...no hot food, but what is presented is very good and includes cereal, fruit, cheese and meat, along with a selection of yummy pastries. The only downside is that the lift is 5 steps up from each floor level and you need to click on the hallway lights to get to your room door. All in all, if you want a reasonably priced hotel with a great location, this is the one I'd recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nice for the money. Great location and walking distance to most sights.. Hotel is somewhat old and dated but was clean and our room was spacious. We would be willing to stay there again based upon our experience. The staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alberto from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

Great hotel. Great location.

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Location: Close to everything
Vey well located. Nice staff. Good breakfast, great capuccino. Wifi that works very fast. What more?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by walter

Nice little hotel, but ....

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Location, location, location. Nice little hotel right in the middle of the nicest part of Palermo near many key sights and restaurants with a staff that tries sooo hard, not always effectively, but from their heart. The rooms, recently redone, suffer of lack of maintenance and investment. For example three rooms had showers with side jets. None worked. Still the shower was actually great with a wonderful top shower head. Also a LARGE superior room suffered from a lack of furniture (for eight days we lived out of suitcases). A daybed in our first room was broken and could not be refolded to a couch. Parking is available but not as convenient as one would like. Nevertheless this hotel is a good value because of the location, staff, and room size and recent update.
3 out of 5
by Patricia from London, United Kingdom

Great location but quite disappointing

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Excessive mould in the bathroom and generally rundown
Location: Within walking distance of main sights, good cafes and restaurants
Great location but desperately in need of some TLC. Room was small and dark and would benefit from a lick of paint. Bed was comfortable although it didn't look it. Bathroom was very basic and there was a lot of mould on the upper walls and ceiling. Everything else was perfectly clean. With the exception of one man on reception, staff weren't overly friendly or helpful but always polite. Breakfast was basic and disappointing given the selection available in nearby cafes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Tonic

Posted May 15, 2012
Pros: Staff
Cons: Converted building not built as a hotel
Location: Great location
The staff wanted to please us in every way. Barista makes a Great capucchino for breakfast!