Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Would return again and recommend hotel

Posted May 31, 2009 on Hotels.com
Hotel was everything you would expect for a 4 star. Staff very helpful. English at times was limited but always referred to other staff members if they did not have the answer to any queries. One disappointment was that the pool which is heavily advertised is only operational from June to Sept. Therefore we were disappointed that we were not able to use it in our stay at the end of May 09 particularly with temperatures in the high 20 degress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Great hotel.... but!

Posted Apr 30, 2009
Hotel is great, with excellent service and excellent food and wines in the restaurant. More than adequate choice of meals on the half-board tariff. Breakfast had a greater selection of hot and cold food than is normal on the continent and all of it was very fresh. Rooms are adequate and reasonably comfortable. Downside - not in a great location, surroundings are drab and 'run-down' - including the beach area, plus it's a half-hour hike to the centre of Palermo. The courtesy bus service to the centre is limited. Hotel is large and caters mainly for conferences, so it is busy during the week. Upside of that is at mealtimes, non-conference guests get almost personal service in a separate area of the dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Hotel good, location not so much

Posted Sep 29, 2008
We had a great sea view and the room was clean and comfortable. The pool is lovely, with a very helpful lifeguard! The hotel is quite walk from Palermo centre and the last shuttle bus back is at 8pm, which is not ideal. Although by the sea this is not a beachfront area - more a port. Reasonable breakfast and friendly helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

certainly not 3 stars

Posted Jun 1, 2008
The front office staff were nice and friendly. The hotel itself, however, was less than comfortable. The beds were quite hard and the pillows were as thin as cardboard. The hotel was quite old and the carpet and furnishing had not been updated in a long time. Hence, it was difficult to tell if it were dirty or simply worn and old. I would recommend spending a little more and staying at a nicer place. The internet service did not work - although they bill themselves as a hotel for business travelers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not Impressed

Posted Sep 7, 2007
The only thing that was nice about the hotel, was the swimming pool on the roof overlooking the mountains and the sea. Apart from that, the staff are rude to English people, they dont have any manners and was located in a rough area. The taxis there are soooooo expensive so most of our money was spent on that going to the town center and back. The staff only told us that there was a free shuttle bus that took was there and back from the hotel on our last two nights!!! our bedroom door looked like someone was trying to get in as the door was wedged out a little. very disappointed with that so i dont recommend this hotel at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Peterborough UK

Reasonable option for a few days in Palermo

Posted Aug 31, 2007
Not a bad place to stay if spending a few days in Palermo. Rooms were clean and tidy. The concierge was very accomodating. The restaurant was fine though the menu was limited. Nothing in English so remember your phrasebook. The pool area was OK but very few loungers to relax on. Cheesy singer entertains in the bar everynight if you are into that kind of thing. Only downside is that its a bit of a walk (15-20 mins) to get into the hustle and bustle of the historic centre and is far from a scenic walk
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Bad Location, Bad Condition, Bad Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2007
This hotel is awful and I would strongly advise people NOT to stay here. First of all the hotel is in a terrible location with dirty sewers and a few run down high rise flats close by. Secondly the condition of the hotel is awful and should be a 2, 3 star at a push and definately not a 4 star. The hotel has NO non smoking rooms and upon check in our hotel room STANK of smoke, the curtains, carpet and the bed sheets all stank of smoke. The walls had tea/coffee stains down them, stains on the carpet and dirty water in the bath (due to it not draining properly). We complained and the staff were very understanding and helpful and changed our room and although the new one didn't smell of smoke, it was still dirty and a poor condition.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Not in a good location

Posted Aug 11, 2007
Although the hotel is by the ocean, it is not in a nice area. The hotel does have a security guard and the hotel gate is locked at night. There is a shuttle service provided to and from a downtown location, which was convenient. There are only a couple restuarants within reasonable walking distance, but the hotel restaurant is fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2007
Great hotel,and not too much of a problem with location. We got a great deal on half board at San Paolo Palace and decided to risk the location. It was well worth the risk. There is a courtesy bus runs to/from the hotel and city centre. Although this only runs every hour or so it was very handy and if you don't want to use it, there is a frequent normal bus which stops outside the hotel. As i said before we got a great deal for half board and decided to try them for our dinners, and we have no complaints at all over the food. For about 5 GBP each per night we had a 4 course meal which came from a set menu with about four choices on it. The food was excellent. If you get the choice near the end of the booking process to take half board for a similar price, take it. A couple of other reviews say it is in an industrial area, its not! It is away from the centre, but in a housing area and about 10 minutes walk to the nearest bar you would probably be interested in at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Witham, Essex

Would definately stay again if in Palermo

Posted Jul 20, 2007
The hotel was very competively priced. The only obvious reason was the location about 25 minutes walk from the city centre. However the rooftop pool and terrace more than made up for this with spectacular views over the bay. The food was good and rooms comfortable. Well worth a look.