Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diamondhead, MS

Nice hotel but out of the way.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Views, staff were friendly and helpful and room was ok.
Cons: Needed better pillows, but that maybe a European thing. Front desk needs more tourist info on tours etc. Needs to have snack bar or cheaper restauran
Location: Not much nearby to do, area is not that clean apart from hotel. Has a nice pool and sitting area on roof.
Really nice hotel with great view of the sea but not in a very good location if you don't have a car. It is a little ways out of the city center but views make up for that. A little noisy in room, with traffic and some other noise I which I did not know what is was. (maybe plumming).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kalam from London

Really nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Excellent facilities and close to the beach. I sat on the roof most nights enjoying the view and using the free wifi talking to my other half in London via FaceTime. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Daniel from Newport, South Wales

Nice looking hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Admiring it from the road.
Location: Palermo is a nice place to visit, with the marina and docks. Plenty of decent restaurants and gelatarias within walking distance.
Having book this stay 7 months ago, we were looking forward to treating ourselves to a luxurious night before flying home after our holiday in Sicily. Unfortunately, two days into our holiday I received an email to say the booking had not been accepted! Apparently, less than a week before our stay they had decided they were closing for the winter and could not honour our booking. So our booking was moved to the very nice NH hotel up the road, which I can whole heartedly recommend. Both Expedia and the Sao Paolo Palace Hotel booking staff were helpful and did ensure we had alternative accommodation. However, it was a lot of unnecessary stress during out holiday, not to mention the data-roaming costs to repeatedly check emails on my phone whilst in Sicily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deenie from england

Lovely hotel near to the shops

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: The food was great especially the breakfast, lunch and dinner was great, staff polite and helpful.
Cons: The swimming pool should not be so deep. The cleaner was very polite and friendly but the cleaning was not up to standard.More choice on the menu.
Location: The beach was near by but very dirty according to the people who lived there. The shops were great and staff very friendly, bus to the shops were free
My daughter and i stayed at San Paolo Hotel for four nights I had breakfast which was great, lunch and dinner was good, but don't eat the fish pasta even though it tastes fantastico I got food poisoning. Bed linen and towels were changed daily except for the bed covers which were dirty full of hairs had not been changed, also the floor was dirty it had not been hoovered at all, the bath and sink were not cleaned properly. I did not like the idea of wearing a swimming cap to go into the pool also the pool was so deep and I'm only 5'1. as I can't swim I did not go into the pool. All in all I ate a good time. Beautiful buildings and sites, very old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by amy from portsmouth, uk

Well priced hotel, not sure about 4*

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The pool
Cons: The mini bar fridge was disgusting, and not functioning very well The air conditioning did switch off automatically in the morning
Had a 4 day stay at the San Paolo. I Was a little anxious after reading some negative reviews on trip advisor. The hotel is located not too far from Town on a main bus route, but due my lack of Italian I couldn't work out how to get tickets and when the buses were. A taxi to Palermo centre ranges from 11Euros to20Euros. We walked into town a few days and it wasn't too far. I would always get a taxi from/to theatre massing and walk from There. Not poleteama as it can increase taxi price by 5-10 euros a trip. We walked into town a few days down the sea front which was nice and not too far. The pool was located on the roof which was great, but as in Italy you have to wear a swim cap which cAn be bought from the lifeguard but take it with you if possible. The room was clean aside from the mini bar fridge which was disgusting. The cans and water were covered in a grimey film which put me off. A 5 minute walk to the supermarket For drinks which we kept in the fridge worked well. As the mini bar was overpriced compared the local shops. (2 euros for water in mini bar but 2 water and 2 soft drinks cans for 3 Euros at the local time) There is also a local fruit stall next door to the supermarket which is so cheap and the fruit is amazing. The breakfast was pretty good too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hungary

Not 4 star hotel , maybe 2.

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Cons: Everything needs to be improved.
Location: Far from center, nothing to do around, public transportation was poor.
Asked for room to watch on see, but despite free rooms it was not given. Furniture was from the 90's. Staff was not helpful at all. Linens were not changed during 5 day stay. Poor breakfast, f.e. the only available fruit was apple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet and Joe from Connecticut, USA

Great hotel outside of center

Posted Jul 13, 2013
We learned how to easily access center of town with passing buses........every evening we walked half a mile to right along the sea and had the best meal in a great restaurant on the water (not expensive), and then the ABSOLUTELY BEST CANNOLIS ever at DA JOSE, which also has Cassata ice cream, tons of flavors of gelato.....each cannolo is hand made, is almost a foot long, the tastiest ricotta ever, and only 2 euros. We came to like the out of the way location of this hotel-area, and even took the bus back there even though we had transferred to a different hotel for the second part of our journey (had made previous reservations before leaving home). Hotel very nice, wifi in lobby, pool great upstairs with incredible view of Palermo.....busy nightclub right across the street till wee hours ......definitely recommend this, especially if you have a car, if you dont, take number 252 bus or several others coming by....ask desk for specifics.....nice breakfast buffet
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Povl from Copenhagen

close to the sea

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good hotel, very nive breakfast. Spacy rooms, very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joan

Excellent value for money.

Posted Aug 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were very happy with our stay at San Paulo Palace hotel. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful including reception staff, bar staff and housecleaning personnel. Room was spacious and clean and had a fabulous view of the Gulf of Palermo.Unlike a lot of hotels the AC was silent and effective. Breakfast was excellent and and had a great variety of food to choose from.We also ate at the restaurant which we also enjoyed. The hotel swimming pool has an incredible view and is maintained well. This hotel is excellent value for money!!