Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

This hotel is adequate for a short stay.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Location: The hotel was situated on the outskirts of Palermo and (expensive) taxis were the only available transport.
Reception staff were very professional and helpful. The chamber maids did an excellent job. Black marks for the hot fridge, the hard beds and the non-operational plug in the washbasin.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Large hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Sea bass on the dinner menu was superb. Free parking essential in this busy part of Palermo.
Cons: Provide non-smoking rooms and upgrade the decor - other 4 star hotels we stayed at were much better.
Location: On sea front, but road outside is very busy. 15 minute walk along narrow pavements to city centre.
Disappointing - we emailed to say we would arrive a day later than planned, but they had not read this and we had to wait for our room. Room smelled strongly of smoke - when we asked for a move staff said all their rooms allowed smoking. Twin bed provided rather than double and decor very 'tired' and in need of refurbishment. Air condition worked OK but window would not shut properly, so not efficient. We decided to stay only one night, and forego the second night we had paid for
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton

Review of San Paolo Palace Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: I would stay nearer to my location
Location: nothing to do near by at all. Beach filthy so could not go on it.
This hotel is far away from the centre of Palermo about a 35 mins walk, although you are able to catch a bus if you know which bus to catch. Hotel staff not very helpful, I feel they could do more to help the clients, they tended to rush a conversation with you. Very untidy and messy outside the hotel in the surrounding area, I would not stay here again. I really wished I had stayed in the NH Palermo down the road that looked lovely. All in all very dissappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for the price

Posted Aug 27, 2014
We had a good time there, and the place was what expected given the price. The area the hotel is in looks dodgy but its fine....so dont worry about it... Hotel staff was nice and helpful, and the room was what we needed considering we spent most of the time out in town or at the beach.... I would recommend it to anyone traveling there on a budget or that wants to not be in the middle of town. Highly recommend the Mondello Beach service the hotel provides.... ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Diamondhead, MS

Nice hotel but out of the way.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Views, staff were friendly and helpful and room was ok.
Cons: Needed better pillows, but that maybe a European thing. Front desk needs more tourist info on tours etc. Needs to have snack bar or cheaper restauran
Location: Not much nearby to do, area is not that clean apart from hotel. Has a nice pool and sitting area on roof.
Really nice hotel with great view of the sea but not in a very good location if you don't have a car. It is a little ways out of the city center but views make up for that. A little noisy in room, with traffic and some other noise I which I did not know what is was. (maybe plumming).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ilyafrom Russia

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pool Polite English speaking staff Good breakfast Good parking Good restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bailuafrom Cambridge

Huge hotel with great view

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cannot fault the hotel or view. About 30 mins walk into town centre. Nice breakfast. Staff were ok. Pool rooftop was too cold to swim in and it was really windy. No problems with car park although hotel was not full.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by mike

good overall

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
good overall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kalamfrom London

Really nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Excellent facilities and close to the beach. I sat on the roof most nights enjoying the view and using the free wifi talking to my other half in London via FaceTime. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Danielfrom Newport, South Wales

Nice looking hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Admiring it from the road.
Location: Palermo is a nice place to visit, with the marina and docks. Plenty of decent restaurants and gelatarias within walking distance.
Having book this stay 7 months ago, we were looking forward to treating ourselves to a luxurious night before flying home after our holiday in Sicily. Unfortunately, two days into our holiday I received an email to say the booking had not been accepted! Apparently, less than a week before our stay they had decided they were closing for the winter and could not honour our booking. So our booking was moved to the very nice NH hotel up the road, which I can whole heartedly recommend. Both Expedia and the Sao Paolo Palace Hotel booking staff were helpful and did ensure we had alternative accommodation. However, it was a lot of unnecessary stress during out holiday, not to mention the data-roaming costs to repeatedly check emails on my phone whilst in Sicily.