Ratings based on 557 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Classic Palm Springs

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: restaurant and bathroom amenities. Huge spacious bath. Lovely court/garden/pool.
Cons: Small work desk in room to do email, etc.
Really nicely updated and maintained. Staff very friendly, helpful. Erin in the restaurant was fantastic. Food is very good, creative. Drinks are generous as were wine pours. Got a great deal from Expedia. Great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Freezing dining room in large part due to staff Room noisy Overpriced for overall condition
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom new york city

Tranquil... if You Are Away From The Pool

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Beautiful. Charming. Peaceful.... If you aren't given a room around the very loud pool area.
Cons: lose the music. Stop trying to compete with Hard Rock Hotel. Stop trying to be hipper than you actually are. Trust the peace and quiet of Palm Springs
Location: If you like shopping for Knicks-knacks and furniture, then there is tons to do nearby. If you like peace and quiet, don't get a room by the pool.
Looking at the photos online of Colony Palms actually does no justice to the beauty and tranquility of this hotel. They need a professional photographer to come in and capture the magic of this wonderful space. CP is a beautiful estate lined with romantic corners, fine service and great little nooks of privacy scattered throughtout. Upon arrival, My girlfriend and I could not believe the sheer beauty of the place and of course, the fantastic room we stayed in. Clean, spacious and refined. Sure, the tiny refrigerator didn't provide enough space and the $85 price tag to simply use one of the two plush robes hanging in the bathroom was beyond ridiculous. Still, the experience was a good one. HOWEVER, the big problem with this hotel is that is suffers from wanting to be way too trendy. I doubt very much that the original owners back in 1936, ever wanted a booming sound system to be emanating around the pool area from 11am to 11pm, even on Sunday. I was shocked to find that, while trying to relax on a plush lawn chair at the pool, the music was so loud that I couldn't hear my own headphones. To add insult to injury, the music being played was music I already own. I didn't fly 3000 miles from the bass pounding streets of New York City to arrive at a spa hotel, only to be listening to music I bought ten years ago: Bjork, The Chillout Album, Mazy Star and a few other throwbacks really killed the experience. I came for the peace of the desert, not the sounds and beats of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newport Beach, Ca

Definitely worth it

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Very comfortable, quiet, convenient. Very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Go for the restaurant ambience

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Had a wonderful dinner at the outside bar of Purple Palm restaurant our first night: Food, wine, ambience, and William our bartender made it memorable. The Purple Palm restaurant is the best asset of the hotel - the streamed music is very cool as is the ambience outside. Scott at the front desk was welcoming and very attentive, great people skills. Valets were kind and cheerful. Location is good for walking around downtown. But the rooms do not match the website pictures. Disappointing. The rooms are tired and need updating. Also, on our second day a couple of the staff had attitudes which is always a bummer in the service industry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Amazing hotel can't wait to go back...best hotel I have stayed at in Palm Springs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Quick trip for business, would return for fun

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: The location; the pool area, and the ambiance.
Cons: Rooms need to have full length mirrors; towels are a bit on the older side, as are the robes. The shower head needed to be replaced.
A lovely hotel that is walking distance to Palm Springs. Pool area looks amazing. There is free coffee service in the mornings, but no one monitoring it. When I got there the coffee urn was empty; had to go looking for staff; ended up yelling into kitchen, and the person there yelled back and asked what I wanted. Looked put out that he had to go get coffee. Really not the right response! So, I think they need some customer service training...... Bathroom window did not open. I think the rooms really need a bit more of a review before renting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Desert, Ca

Great location, excellent community courtyard

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We loved this hotel! Friendly staff, food was exceptional, courtyard area was very nice with lots of friendly guests and a great atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dublin

Paradise

Posted Sep 19, 2014
We only booked 3 hours previous to our arrival, and didn't know what to expect. Definitely didn't expect the amazing room, beautiful grounds, and delicious food that we got. If I lived in America this hotel would definitely be 1st choice for a luxury break.